We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked, Overrun, Overrated !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRH Jardin del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TRH Jardin del Mar to your Saves list
TRH Jardin del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Huguet des Far 1, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
hull, east yorkshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overbooked, Overrun, Overrated !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have just returned from the Jardin Del Mar with my family after a 10 day stay. Upon arrival we were informed that our room was not yet ready and would be in 20 minutes, I had paid extra through Travel Republic for a room with a balcony and Sea view, when we were given the room we were overlooking a hotel at the back ??. Upon complaining I was told I would get another room the next day when someone else booked out and was given a complimentary evening meal and breakfast voucher (food not brilliant). I took this and returned the next day to go through the same scenario with someone different who said there wasn't a room available as they were overbooked, this later became apparent that this was a regular scenario !, I stuck to my guns and got a room with a beautiful seaview 45 minutes later. The hotel is full of irish and scottish people but mainly irish (hundreds of kids and quite noisy) next door came in at 03:00 am one morning and I think they were doing Riverdance !. Also worth bearing in mind the ridiculous queing for sunbeds until the glass doors are opened (like the oxford street sales) at 9.00 in the morning, the irish are out in force and the green and white (celtic) towels are out in force !. This apparently isn't allowed but the hotel seemed to encourage this with the ridiculous locking of the doors and no apparent control. Overall our stay was fine, but this hotel and certainly their chaotic booking strategy would mean I wouldn't chance it again. Also the local square with all of the pubs, restaurants and live "entertainment" is not all its cracked up to be. Mainly irish pubs except for the "Crown" good english pub showing the Olympics and cheap drink, but sit in the seats watching the entertainment with a beer from this pub is not allowed, all of the other pubs seemingly subsidise the crappy Take That and Lady Gaga tributes and you buy your drink at inflated prices from them. Our holiday was good, just trying to be honest and put people in the picture regarding this hotel, if you are a couple of adults with no kids, go to the Iberostar hotel next door, seemed superb

Room Tip: Pot Luck, but insist if you have not got what you want, you want a Sea View Room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    278
    190
    88
    82
See reviews for
324
214
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have just returned from Santa Ponsa and was supposed to be staying in this hotel but when we arrived we were told that they had overbooked and that we had to stay in another hotel in a different resort for 2 nights. This other hotel wasn't very clean and was full of groups of young lads and girls so we about turned and I sorted out alternative accommodation myself. While we were in the Jardin del Mar reception there were other families being told the same thing and the taxi driver told us this happens all of the time and it's always fro 2 nights. When we went back the Jardin del Mar after 2 nights we were told the room wasn't ready and to come back in an hour, this happened three times and on the third time my partner told the receptionist to personally go to the room to check if it was ready. When we went to the room the lift mirror had been punched, there was a big dent in our door, the air conditioning was awful and you had to hire a kettle and toaster for 18 euros each if you were self-catering. The beds were also very uncomfortable. The next morning we checked out and went to a hotel up the road as I couldn't stay in this terrible hotel for another night. If you do go to this hotel and actually get to stay there I hope you don't have any issues that require you to speak to the reception staff as they are very rude and couldn't care less if you enjoy your holiday or not!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just back from a week long stay in this hotel, overall ok value for money.
Cons - rude inefficient reception staff. Arrived at 12, didnt get our room till 5, receptionist had bad english and wasn't a bit friendly. Later on during the week bought tickets from same receptionist to the aquarium, asked her where the collection point was and she mentioned the chinese restaurant on the street. I remembered seeing a second restaurant on the main street, and asked if it was this one (it was) and she didnt know, when she checked it out, it was indeed the furthest one. Went for the bus, and the driver wasnt letting us on as she was supposed to inform the bus company that we were coming, but didnt.
the room was fine, quite cramped, but ok, not well equipped but liveable, had a side seaview never again would definitley opt of the full view or the side room. Could do with an upgrade. Towels changed every 3 days and sheets every 5. The maid did a good job on our room but my father in law was next door and theybarely touched his.

Pool area was nice, but at 9 am every morning there was an sprint style run for the sunbeds, i have never see anything like it in my life. Was shocked the first day. The hotel do not have enough sunbeds and should sort something out, maybe allocating one bed to each room and the rest to be distributed on request but not reserved all day. Reception was shabby, the mirror in the lift was dangerous and broken, and the lift was very dodgy, stopping about 4 inches under the floor, and with awful sensors in the doors.
They advertised a kids club, but saw no evidence of it.
They also overbooked a lot of rooms, at least 7 families during my week there, were sent to palma nova for one or two nights as the hotel had no rooms available for them.IT was a joke. no apologies, just shipped off for a few nights. Also spoke to a lot of people who didnt get the views they paid for.
Only ate at the pool bar, and it was good, prices reasonable.
Rooms could do with toasters, microwaves etc. Basic hotel, but great location for the square. Big recommendation for the barbeque restaurant across the road excellent food royal garden, and crocs bistro.

Room Tip: select superior room, with full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

First the good, beautiful sea views, good location if with a family as it is away from the noise but easily accessible to walk. The hotel and the pool area was very clean and well maintained. There is no entertainment in the hotel but the jardin square accross the road is great.
Now the bad, Yes the sunbed stampede not good, rooms need updating and quite small for a family of four, air con very weak, staff not very friendly to the extent that my 11 year old did not want to go tho the bar on his own!. The lateral sea view overlooks car park so be warned. with all this said i would possibly go back but only in a upgraded room. But i have to say that every time we passed reception there was someone there complaining and the reception staff just said nothing we can do sorry, i have never experienced so many over booking problems ever.

Room Tip: Dont book lateral sea view you will be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ss
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just returned from this lovely hotel.firstly i thought it was great for a three star,yes rooms need refurb, new comfy sunloungers and controlled,can't believe the stampede,it was like the grand national lol.iwaited until 3 00 and always got one then,or lay on a towel on a flat rock outside hotel,lovely view. staff all great and polite work very hard.Cleaners ok.but not moped apartment all 10 days apart from bathroom.Have to sweep own floors .clean great on arrival. Had 7th floor sea view and wow never had a view like it made the hols. Santa ponsa lovely friendly place made some nice friends.Mixed nationalities lots of irish,german not many english although more arrived on second week.A big thank you Jardin del mar,making my holiday one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel and facilities were good except for the stampede for sunbeds at 9 o'clock in the morning,one lady put out 8 towels on sunbeds and that day only 4 of them were used until 5.30 that evening .We did not get a sunbed any day for the week we were there.The way I see to sort it out is if a person queues up they get one sunbed and has to use it straight away,the allocation of sunbeds have to be controlled by staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Firstly, we knew we were walking into a bad hotel when one of the mirrors in he lifts had been punched and mashed. Wha they call air conditioning should be sue under the trades description act because it clearly did not condition the air at all. The kitchen door was hanging off its hinges and the bedside drawer was broken. The metal railing on the balcony was loose - you could lift it off (would'nt recommend high floors with young children). We were 2 floors up with a 3 year old. 2 pillows on the bed so requested more pillows but they arrived just as our holiday was about to end. Then there was the sunbed stampede ( check out you tube - TRH jardin del mar) you cannot get to the pool before 9am and the queue starts at 8.30 and earlier in the hotel foyer. Once 9 am comes be prepared to run! I couldn't believe my eyes but stupidly joined in and ran to reserve my sunbeds! If you don't you will lose out very quickly as there is a stampede and no staff members policing. It is dangerous so do not bring young children as they will literally be knocked out of the way. I did complain to reception but was told it is the hotels policy not to open the doors to the pool before 9 am. Whatever you do, do not eat in the Miami restaurant ( there isn't a great choice) and the restaurant that offers the best pizza does not! It's bland and full of cheese which is fine if you're too drunk to notice! On a positive, the view is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Corner rooms looked nice and spacious and have pool and sea view. Side view rooms not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRH Jardin del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Jardin del Mar

Address: C/ Huguet des Far 1, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRH Jardin del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the southwestern part of Mallorca, overlooking Santa Ponca’s bay. We offer apartments with air conditioning and private balcony. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, with a solarium with fantastic views. All apartments have a kitchenette and a fridge. They all are tile-floored and equipped with satellite TV. The Jardín Del Mar Hotel has a bar-cafeteria with big TV screens. There is also a snack bar by the pool. Among the leisure facilities, customers will find a gym and a beach volleyball court, sauna and indoor pool (not available from May to October). Free Wi-Fi (during the first hour) available in all common areas. The hotel is located 10 minutes drive from the lively resort of Magaluf. Customers will find Santa Ponca’s beach in about 5 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TRH Jardin del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Jardin Del Mar Hotel Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Mar Majorca
TRH Jardin Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRH Jardin del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.