We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please i warn you not to eat here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Txoko - CLOSED

Txoko
Saragossa, 15, 43840 Salou, Spain
+34 977385345
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Please i warn you not to eat here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The worst meal i have ever ate. The buffet food was cold, poor selection. No signs to say what the food were. The bill came after we had not eaten anything and they wanted 80 euros for four people. We decided to complain to which we were watched by all the staff. We ended up paying 40 euros for four people.
Please do not eat here.
The food is disgusting!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beware of the hidden tax”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My partner and I decided to try this place on our last evening. At 13.95 euros we thought it was the maximum limit to pay. We asked the worker who was touting for business how much a pint of beer costs. He replied 2 euros. Taking this into price consideration we decided to try it.

Despite both my partner and I having different meats cooked on the wok , the meat was very poor quality,tough, chewy and pretty tasteless. Neither of us enjoyed the meal.

The bill arrived with tax on top and 3.25 euros per pint. When we queried it with the good speaking tout he replied he thought the pints were 2 euros and it was normal for tax on top,,,despite all other restaurants including the tax in the price.

Nothing short of deception in our eyes. Try somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Nice variety of food on offer and will be in heaven if you are a sea food lover. There is a wok section where you choose your raw food and hand it to the chef who cooks it for you fresh. Several varieties and sizes of prawns, lobster, squid, octopus, whole fish, cockles, muscles etc etc. Also good meat selection....even frogs legs!!! Prawns and lobster tail were delicious. Dim sum was lovely, the usual sweet and sour, fried rice etc were also good. Finished off with profiteroles dipped in the chocolate fountain. Bill was around 40 Euro's for full buffet for 2, 2 pints of lager and 2 pints of coke.....great food, great price. Only downside was it was very warm as was a very humid evening but was given a lovely fan to keep.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food - great variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were welcomed by a beautiful young lady from Liverpool and the restaurant lived up to everything she portrayed it to be. The food was fresh, lots of variety and as much as you like. Excellent!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Do not go! Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

I was looking for some where to go in salou, and fancied chinesse, so went for this buffet place, didn't seem to bad price wise had a look before sat and didn't look too amazing, but thought give it a try, tried pretty much everything they had to offer on the hot buffet section only to get back to the table and realise it was actually all Luke warm, if anything it would be in the danger zone and for rice, fish and chicken this is quite dangerous, most of the food look dry and god knows how long it been sitting there for, anyway so go to look at the wok things on offer that the chef cooks freshly for you and most of it was dry fish and brown beef, on the side they had a plate of salami, chorizo and cheese which had been sweating and all it's oil had been seeping out the slices which was quite discusting, when we told the waitress it was cold she told us it was because it was cold outside, which is no excuse, and told us to have the hot wok but at this point we didn't feel hungry no more, so wanted the bill and wanted to leave, they wanted to charge us for 2 full buffets, which we argued, so they took off the service charge, we still were not happy, so we offered 20euros seeing as that was fair for what we drank and ate then they said 30euros so we just paid it and left, 30 euros for 2 small plates of chinesse food and 2 soft drinks was a joke,

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Txoko also viewed

 
Salou, Costa Dorada
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Txoko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.