We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Avenida Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Avenida Suites to your Saves list
Golden Avenida Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great holiday, good food,lovely large rooms,very very clean and no complaints all in all. In the centre to get every where really quickly, transport from airport, theme parks and shopping etc...The first impressions of the hotel are , it look more like a three star hotel not as elegant as other four star hotels we have stayed in, but the staff make this hotel. Been to many hotels all over the world and these staff are excellentfrom the hard working cleaners the pace is spotless, dining area, team at the bar and waiters brilliant,and the thompsons team johnnyrocks was a credit to the thompsons team, he made the holiday fun fun fun for the kids great entertainer. I would not hesitate to return the pools were great also as the kids could dive in and have a great time, very good life guard .Dont listen to the moans on here some times some people have to find fault in everything have a great time...

Room Tip: Room 129 in the corner good room if you have young children do not need to worry about the balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    267
    111
    31
    10
See reviews for
592
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at Golden Avenida suites in August for two weeks. Upon arrival at hotel, we were greeted by the friendly and very helpful reception staff. We were overjoyed that our room was on a high floor overlooking pool as we had requested, because i had previously read about the noisy roadside rooms. Our room was very modern and spacious, we had a separate twin bedroom for the children, bathroom offered you shower gel,soap,combs,flannels etc incase you had forgot any of these. The balcony was big and had 3 mini washing lines to dry your clothes on. Rooms were cleaned every day including fresh towels and beds made daily. Beds and pillows were a little hard, but did not disrupt our sleep.

The hotel offers 3 great pools 1/ babies and toddlers pool with decking area. 2/ pool with young children slides etc. 3/ Larger pool with a shallower section and a deeper section. We always found that we got four sunbeds every day without queuing every morning. Most days we were lucky to be right by the pool and also got a brolly. We also found the poolside area very clean. Yes, there are lots of sunbeds because it was height of the season, but we were still able to walk around them to get to pool, bar or hotel with no problems at all.

We stayed all inclusive and found it met all our needs with a good variety of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. During the day around the pool if you did feel peckish you could have chips, burger, hotdogs, donuts, muffins and soft drinks,water and local beer. Waiters/waitresses in restaurants and bars worked extremely hard and were very friendly and helpful towards guests. The restaurant manager Ana was lovely, she was very friendly and always greeted each guest with a big smile.

The entertainment staff of Jonny, Shaneece and E.J were fantastic. They work extremely hard all day from 11am - 11.30pm approx. They are very friendly and encourage you to join in with daytime activities like water polo, water aerobics and other games without being pushy. They also work very hard during the evening entertainment for the children. Evening entertainment is generally from 8 - 10pm mainly focusing on younger children games etc. At 10pm the hotel either puts on outside acts or Thomson reps put on shows the other nights which were entertaining.

Jonny Bravo at the Thomson desk in reception was very friendly and helpful about the local area and trips.

We found the local town area which was a 5 min walk away was a little dirty and built up.

Its a great clean family hotel, especially for the younger children regarding the entertainment, great friendly and helpful staff, good variety of food and a very large swimming pool area. Its also a great base for you to visit Portaventura, Waterparks and Barcelona.

I would also highly reccomend the downhill bike ride in salou. It was fantastic.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking pool on a high floor. We experienced no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having a new daughter (nearly 2) we decided to go for a Thomson family resort. One of the reasons we chose this resort is the fact that it's less than 2-hour flight and a short transfer time, which was ideal for us with a little one.

Initial impressions were good - we were impressed with the cleanliness and the size of the room. Yes, there was a tourist tax, but that's not the hotel's fault! If my tourist tax helped pay for all the people I saw cleaning up in resort then as far as I'm concerned it's money well spent.

Saying that, I do think that the safe hire fee was a bit high (€30 for 10 days).

Didn't find the sofa bed in the living area too comfortable but I still slept ok.

We were quite pleased with the quality and selection of food in the restaurant. I really cannot understand how people were not satisfied. There were fresh salads, cold cuts, meat, fish, vegetables every day. The grill was the best, there was a different cut of meat every day while we were there, carved in front of you.

The staff on reception were brilliant. Special mention to Ingrid who phoned medical personnel when my daughter was ill on our last night (if anyone from Golden Avenida reads this please, pass our thanks on to her, as we didn't see her before we left).

Thomson staff were also good - especially Jonny (left you a beer behind the desk - hope you got it!) The kids entertainment was amazing - it was just a shame that our girl was slightly too young to get the most out of it.

We had a room on the 6th floor and it was generally quite peaceful once the doors were closed. Between this and the black-out curtain, little one slept brilliantly - even at nap time during the day!

The only issue we had was with the maid service, we only had our room made-up 3 or 4 times over the 10 days but in all fairness it seemed that make-up time coincided with our daughters nap time which was frustrating but unavoidable.

A visit to Barcelona is a must (we took the train from Salou €16.40 return) and we also visited Cambrils on the bus (only €2) and Tarragona (€3.40). The public transport system in Spain puts ours to shame!

End result. We'd go back in a couple of years when our little one is a bit older for all the kids entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel last week in July- first week in August.
As mentioned by lots of other guests the hotel staff couldn't be more helpful especially Sarah and boris in reception, who not only told us abut places to visit and how to get there - t10 bus tickets are a must, were also really helpful when I needed a medical centre during my stay.
The Thomson staff worked incredibly had to entertain guests, they did have trips to sell but we didn't feel there was a hard sell.
We had paid for a 2 bedroom suite which was very spacious modern And clean. Unfortunately the beds were so hard and so we had little proper sleep during our stay. This was also made MUCH worse by the apartment block that faced our rooms - they had regular very noisy parties until the early hours and often kept us awake. Whilst we recognise parties and drinking are a part of holidays for people when it becomes a regular noise nuisance then it begins to impact on other people's holidays and this is not good.
There was the usual bun fight for sun beds in a morning, this was made worse by people who left towels and then not return o the hotel until the afternoon. We didn't actually see staff removing towels from unused beds. It would have made for a more harmonious time, especially if like us you don't want to be round the pool all day but need to be there from first thing in the morning if to get a sunbed at all!!
Food
Good range of food choices, we were half board, and like any holiday by the end of 2 weeks we had sampled a wide range. Although The food could sometimes be warm rather than hot. A big thank you to Ana the restaurant manager she worked so hard and greeted all guests - even those who were sneaking out food for later in the day, with a big smile and friendly welcome.
Salou
The resort was not what we expected. By the end of the first week we were fed up with being accosted by staff from restaurants near the beach - my daughter counted 26 people asking us to go to their restaurant many twice within the same evening. The street sellers were also rather threatening, the local police were present but they just came back when the police moved on.
Trips
Barcelona and camp nou were fab, we also really enjoyed taragonna. Cambrils was a peaceful more Spanish feel resort and would go back there.

Overall a disappointing holiday - the hotel was fine but the resort was not what we expected, would not recommend and definitely not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel was very clean, and was constantly being cleaned. Rooms were lovely and beds very comfortable. Restaurant had a good choice of food, and my husband, 17 year old and 10 year old always found something nice to eat. Hotel staff from reception, bar, restaurant, cleaners were all VERY friendly and helpful. Thompson staff on site were excellent at entertaining and ALWAYS on hand whenever needed, they were the jewel in the crown. The hotel is an excellent base for days out to Barcelona, Cambrils, Port Aventura, Water Parks etc. We all made new friends, as it was such a friendly place, particularly my 10 year old, who was very upset to come home.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, we didn't hear any noise and slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited this hotel for 11 nights in June and had an amazing time. Upon arrival we were helped with our luggage and got seen by the very helpful reception staff. Yes there was a tax charge but hey...it was £15. No biggie.

Our room was facing out on the road but we were on the 3rd floor and did not hear any noise on the evening. In a way i was disappointed that we did not have a pool view as requested but as soon as we unpacked as was grateful for peace and quiet on the balcony - and you get the sun!!

Pool was great. Whether is was early in the season but we did not struggle for a sunbed. We even managed to get one at around 10am and around the sides of the pool were some extras piled up so you could get them yourself and put wherever. The baby pool was quiet and mostly had sunbeds free all day so we sometimes went up there to have a quieter afternoon as the entertainment goes on all day!!! Music, pool activities, games etc. Great for the children and for the adults too even if you just want to watch or listen to the music.

Food.
Breakfast was fine - standard holiday food - sausage egg, bacon etc - with fruit pasteries yoghurt etc. On some mornings they had chorizo sausages - yummy!! Lunch time was nice. Some foods better than others and the salads were always fresh as were the selections of breads. I tended to have soup roll etc and salad. We only ate in the hotel three nights out of the 11 despite being full board (free upgrade) as we love to eat spanish foods ans experience the resort rather than just the hotel. Drinks were very reasonably priced - especially cocktail hour where drinks are all half price!!

Entertainment
This was top marks! Well done to all the thomson staff for making the kids happy!! Our son who is 3 loved Jonny Rocks and loved watching the shows and joining in, playing with the other children. Cant say anything about kids club and we didnt use it for out son.

Resort
Resort it a nice family resort. Yes there are some back streets with grafetti in and some of the bars are your typical irish pub but you need to look past that and go to places on the seafront or recommended to you by the staff at the Golden Avenida (not thomson staff!). So, if you LOVE tapas and typical spanish restuarant then La Petit Bar is the place to go. Location wise is not fantastic as its on the main road by the big island in the centre of the resort. But its full of locals and a few tourists who are clever enough to know where this is! Not a massive menu but the staff are very spanish, food is very spanish - amazing pratatas bravas, squid, gambas pil pil!!! Had to go hear twice and the cava is only 3 euro or similar a glass! Another great place was Cafe khalula where we ate twice - lovely fresh pasta and staff very attentive. Bamboo on the seafront towards the left of the beach was lovely for sangrina and an array of G&T!! Nice at lunch. And loads more places on that stretch too :) Great paella and seafood! We had our three year old son with us and he enjoyed walking along the seafront at nice and going back to the hotel to watch the entertainment.
Beach is nice - if you go dont go on the weekend as it gets soooooo busy!!

Port Aventura is so worth a trip!! The day out we had was fab but very long! We were so tired after as the park is so big you end up doing a lot of walking!! Dont miss the music show in China - very good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

After a short transfer from Reus, getting off the coach we had to avoid a broken wine bottle on the pavement outside the hotel. Graffiti adorns a lot of the walls and pavements around the town and other towns.

Make sure to have a few Euros in hand on arriving at the hotel too, there is a visitors tax you have to pay which Thomson neglected to warn us about!

The hotel reception staff were always very helpful.

The room was very comfortable and modern, though the beds were very hard and the rooms not facing the pool (facing the road) could be very noisy on a night.

The bar staff were always very pleasant and would always offer to bring food and drinks to your sunbed or table if they thought you'd have to wait any length of time.

However, the biggest farce throughout the holiday was the Avenida sunbed dash every morning! Even though they have a Don't bag a sunbed rule, they rarely stick to it and you need to queue from around 7.30am to be near the front of the queue for the pool doors opening at around 8.15am. Then there's the dash (see YouTube for examples) to bag your beds!

The pool and surrounding area were relatively small and not big enough on busy days and were nice and clean...until around 11am by which time plastic drinks cups and straws and paper plates were strewn all over (sometimes even floating in the pool) for the rest of the day.

There is a very nice baby pool on the top decking and a big climbing frame/slide too.

The food left a lot to be desired and was very limited, particularly for the children's options. And on a lunchtime there were no children's options.

We booked all-inclusive - well, we thought that was what we booked...there were supplements you had to pay for all sorts of food and drink and outside of the all-inclusive period you had to pay for everything (11pm cut-off!). The only free snacks during the day were hotdogs, fries, chicken nuggets or a burger (I think) with anything else on the menu costing.

The entertainment was very good and the Thomson team did a very good job from first thing on a morning to almost midnight on some nights! However this did make it difficult to get our little girl to bed before midnight too.

If you hire a car go along to Cambrils - much nicer than Salou, but don't bother try to go on a Sunday evening, it's chaos and you'll never get parked. Also, beware of the insurance extras you pay before collecting a car - we had to pay almost 50euro more to top up the insurance even further!

Room Tip: Ask for a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Avenida Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Avenida Suites

Address: Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Avenida Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Golden Avenida Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Hotel Salou
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Park Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Avenida Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.