We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday and Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Avenida Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Avenida Suites to your Saves list
Golden Avenida Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday and Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first proper family holiday with all 3 children we had great expectations. The holiday as a whole was good and the Thomson staff helpful as always.

The hotel is 10mins walk out of the town/beach, but this was ideal as it meant it wasnt in a noisy location. I took the advise from people on Trip Advisor to make sure we got a room over looking the pool, but not near the bar area or the road. The room wasw perfect. A good view of the pool so we could see the older children swimming, but queit enough at night to get our toddler to sleep.

The biggest issue with this hotel was the sunbed. I thought the Germans were bad for reserving beds, but i am sorry to say us brits were the worst. Everyday at 8:15am the doors to the outside pools was opened and the swarm of people running, fighting over beds and brollies was a joke! On the positive side any unused beds that were reserved by 10am the towels were removed by hotel staff to allow others to use them. Much to the dismay of some guests, but very worth while for those of us who dont like to be dictated to by an alarm clock when on holiday.

The entertainment was excellent, our toddler thoroughly enjoyed her time at the creche where Ra Ra Rach was the key person in charge of her care. She was trust worthy and fun and this made our youngest daughters holiday. In the evening i have to say that the disco is a winner for all guests, everyone is encouraged to get involved and Jonny Rocks really does put on a show! He is very hardworking and it shows.

The hotel is extremley clean and also the apartments were newley decorated and furbished. We couldnt ask for more.

An overal enjoyable holiday we would deffinetely go back and for 2 weeks as 2 just wasnt long enough.

Room Tip: If travelling with young children, ask for a room over looking the baby pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    267
    111
    31
    10
See reviews for
592
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at the golden avenida suites 3 times now and have not been disappointed yet.
The lady is very nice and reception and is very helpful
The food is very good and lots of different meat but lots of chips. And a variety of pudding. The lady on the restaurant door Anna is very friendly and always has a chat. But some of the people in the restaurant and very rude and Mardy.
The Thomson. Entertainment team are very good especially shutapp shaneece and johnnie rocks. They are there from 11 In the morning till 11 in the evening entertaining you though the day for all ages. The pools are very nice and suitable for young and older kids with a pool for younger kids and some slides. The rooms are very nice. We had a two story room. The cleaners came in very day and cleaned our room. Would recommend for family with any age kids as they are all entertained and something for every one. One not to be missed

Room Tip: We were on the 6th level and could here nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Seeing some recent poor reviews I do wonder if we were in the same hotel - our stay there for a week (10-17 August) was brilliant. My wife and I are picky, with 2 teenage boys to please (their only gripe was slow internet) so we would not give a rave review easily. We didn't get the poolside rooms requested, but more than made up for this with a family suite comprising double bed in the main room and 2 separate bedrooms, one each for the boys (looks like there are only about 5 rooms of this type in the hotel). And the feared noise from the road didn't materialise, as we made full use of the efficient air conditioning by having the windows shut at night. Only heard revellers in small hours a couple of times, but what else do you expect from Salou? Food was good and varied all week; the hotel staff were friendly and efficient; and the Thomson team were excellent.
Overall couldn't ask for more from a holiday - hoping to return to this one or another of the Golden Hotels brand soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I agree with everything said by sclmalone "fantastic holiday". Special mention for Boris on reception and Ana in restaurant. Thankyou, Colin Scott and family. The only downside was the noise from the road at night, especially the dog barking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week in the Golden Avenida Suites. Had originally booked self catering but paid the extra there to be All Inclusive which was well worth it.

The reception staff especially Sarah and Ingrid were brilliant and very helpful. Ana and her staff in the restaurant are amazing and we were always served with a smile good selection of food for all meals. In the bar the selection of drinks for All Inclusive was wonderful with loads of brand names.
The accommodation was beautiful with a twin bedroom with loads of storage off the main room that had a sofa that converted into a double bed and lovely shower in the bathroom. Our room faced onto the road and as long as the doors were closed the street noise at night didnt disturb us. The Thomson staff were the best I've ever experienced. My son adored Cheeky Charlie and Iced Gem from the Kids Club. The entertainment staff of Shaneece, EJ and Jonny were so enthusiastic at all times keeping everyone entertained. Have to say EJ and Shaneece were the best though. Such a great holiday we are planning on booking it soon for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Avenida this August for a week and was very impressed !! Our apartment was spotless and we got a free upgrade to 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies. We were half board and I cannot fault the food available. There was always something being freshly cooked, and there was plenty of fish, pork, pasta and lots of fresh fruit and salad available. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The kids club entertainment went on quite late but it was amusing to watch and the bar Happy Hour helped. There was a few mornings I was woken by the singing of clubbers going home at 6am which started a dog barking but no real problems. The Thomson reps work hard to keep everyone entertained. We went to Nou Camp, Barcelona which was a great day out and the show at The House of Illusion is a must if you stay in Salou. The Portaventura Theme Park is worth a look but waiting for nearly 3 hours for a ride is a bit extreme. Would def recommend this hotel to familes looking to be near plenty of shops, restaurants and walking distance to the beach.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (6th) and had a huge apartment on 2 levels, with 2 balconies and 2 toilets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were directly above disco with a two year old. That finished at 12. This was then followed by tables scrapping along the floor. We honestly thought we were in Butlins not even Pontins. Please save your money food is very repetitive and of a poor poor standard. My son hit his head on a bathroom sink bracket exposed. Please please please believe this review.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Avenida Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Avenida Suites

Address: Pompeu Fabra, 26, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#2 Family Hotel in Salou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Avenida Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Golden Avenida Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Hotel Salou
Aparthotel Golden Avenida Park Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Avenida Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.