We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, great holiday.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added PortAventura Hotel El Paso to your Saves list
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla del Parc s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Second stay, great holiday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Returned to this hotel last week in August, following an enjoyable stay last summer. Stayed with my 14 year old daughter and 11 year old son and would be happy to recommend this as a good family hotel, especially if you have children who are thrill seekers and like to keep busy!
We checked in early, so our room was not available, but our cases were stored safely and we were given our all inclusive bands, so we could get free food and drink immediately, so this was not a problem. Check in took a while, but this is due to the receptionists giving each family a lot of relevant information. We had packed swimwear in hand luggage, so we could head straight to the pool. Our room, in the main building, was available, from 3pm and cases were brought up to us. The rooms are basic, but very clean. When we requested extra pillows and towels they were delivered quickly.
The location is ideal if you want to spend a lot of time in the theme park, it is literally a 5 minute walk to the main gates. We tended to go for opening, return to the hotel for lunch and afternoon swim, then visit again later in the day. I bought the express pass bands for the children (49 Euro's for duration of stay) which meant no long waits in lines. Food was available at 3 outlets in the park as part of the all inclusive deal. We only used this option on one occasion as we all preferred the food on offer at the hotel.
Food at the hotel is plentiful. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served buffet style or evening meals can be booked at the waiter served El Coyote Mexican restaurant. Hot and cold snacks, ice cream and slush are served at the pool bars throughout the day, so no one should ever be hungry. I have a fussy eater, but there was always chips. pasta, burgers, pizza etc on offer for the unadventurous. For those who like more variety there are themed evenings with Chinese, Italian and Mediterranean foods on offer. The Mexican food in El Coyote was our favourite, and it was nice to relax and be waited on. A couple of evenings there were large queues for the hot buffet, but on the whole we did not have to wait long for food.
There was a good range of all inclusive drinks available and we never had to wait long to be served at the bars during our stay.
The hotel grounds are very well maintained, with pretty plants and flowers. We enjoyed time around the pool, and always managed to get some sunbeds together there. Last year the hotel took a deposit for pool towels, which could then be changed as often as required and were always in plentiful supply. For those returning to the hotel it is worth noting this has changed. Pool towels can be obtained from reception at no cost if available, but a couple of times during the week we stayed they had run out. I would therefore advise travellers to El Paso to take some of their own, just in case! The pool was always clean, as was the area around it. Water is very cold on first getting in, so prepare to be shocked. You do soon warm up though and it is a very large pool for swimming or games. There is also a shallow children's pool.
If, like me, you have teens who need internet access on hols, there is free wifi available in the reception area, so they can have their fix. All public areas are clean and well maintained.
There is a train station immediately opposite the front of the hotel and trains serve all the local towns and run direct as far as Barcelona. We found the staff at guest services (who all speak very good English) were very helpful helping plan any trips, printing out train timetables and providing maps. This meant we could do trips independently and cheaply rather than booking expensive outings via holiday reps. We went to the old Roman city of Tarragona, just a 10 minutes, 8 euros for 3 people, journey away, and would recommend this to anyone who likes history.
We also spent a day at the newly refurbished Costa Caribe aquatic park Unfortunately this is not included in the holiday price, but there is 30% off admission if tickets are purchased at the hotel rather than the park gates. Even the 11 year old required an adult ticket, so this cost 60 euro's, but it was a good day out, with lots of turns on the big slides, and we could have lunch there for free with our dine around card.
My daughter cut her side quite badly at the water park. Lifeguards on duty at the El Paso, were happy to clean wound and change dressings for her. They appeared to have good grasp of first aid.
If we were returning to the Salou area again we would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in main building, room 1309. This overlooked main bar and so could be noisy until midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    365
    184
    67
    45
See reviews for
736
68
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Returned here again after last year and enjoyed the experience just as much as last time

Hotel is clean staff were pleasant and helpful

Great location for the theme park and entertainment great for the kids

Food good choice and good quality

My only suggestion for improvement would be to get plastic or paper cups for children rather than giving them glass ones - an accident waiting to happen and for one of my children it did when he tripped carrying one leading to stitches

Get used to the Spanish pushing in and not queuing by the end of the week we were holding our own

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel was clean. Food was good. Ideal location for the theme park. Entertainment good for the children. Got pool towels at the hotel.

Free bus to beach.

Little tip to goto the theme park after 1600 and there were no queues. Fireworks and water show in the park is a must see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel and it was great. The rooms are basic but clean and well maintained. The pools are really nice with plenty of beds, ensure that you collect some pool towels at reception. We regularly turned up late at the pool (11 - 12 oclock) and still had no problems getting beds for four of us. The entertainment each night is good but repetitious. All staff were very friendly. Having the themepark next to the hotel is brilliant, i would advise getting the express ride band (54 euros) as the queues can be huge, with the bands we never waited longer than 15 minutes for a ride. The food is OK and there is plenty of it.
The only downside was that we were given a room with two double beds even though i had specifically asked for a double and twin beds for the four of us, i asked to be moved but was informed that these were the only rooms available. As it was no huge concern i accepted this. After speaking to other families at the hotel i discovered that if you insist on a move due to the two double beds (if you have teens that cannot share etc) they will move you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Returned from a 10 day holiday at the El Paso on the 3rd of Sept, after reading some reviews we were slightly worried.
Some of the moans are justified,but we felt the positives by far outweighed the negatives.
Positives -
The staff are very hard working and friendly
The location for the park/water park
The food.Always plenty of choice - fresh fish/salads/meat dishes/desserts.
The pool - just brilliant
The drinks - Beer was ice cold and lovely,and we never had a bad glass of wine all hol.
The cleanliness. This is a very large and busy hotel, but was always kept nice and clean.

Negatives -
The wasps - we saw quite a few people get stung, eating outside was virtually impossible.Maybe the Hotel should seek professional help to eradicate the pests.
The queues in the restaurant and bars at peak times ( it's a very large hotel and it was UK kids school holidays) - but the staff work very hard to make sure everyone is served as quickly as possible.
Only one drinks machine available early in the morning.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at The El Paso.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms with a decent pool view due to all the trees, and most of the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is not a 4* hotel but very good service. check in only at 15h but we arrived at the hotel at 12h and they made a check in without giving us the room, get a bracelet and we could get to the swimming pool bar to enjoy the all inclusive. Check out at 11h, we had to leave the room, but we could still enjoy the hotel facilities, drink and eat, and before we get the transfer to the airport we had a courtesy room (booked in the morning) to take a shower and change! this was really great because our flight was late at night!

Room Tip: try to get away from the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I booked my family holiday in the El Paso, the only one of 4 hotels linked to the Port Aventura Theme Park with All Inclusive facilities I was concerned that massive queues etc would be a problem. This had happened in the past in a Russian owned hotel in Cyprus when it was impossible to get served at the bar.
My concerns were unfounded. True, there were queues but, as most of the residents were British everyone formed orderly queues that were swiftly dealt with. Beer glasses were small but there were no objections when I asked for 2 each time!
The rooms were small but clean and tidy, if a little in need of updating. I was suprised that there was no fridge in the room, something I would have expected in a 4* hotel and there was no shaver point in the bathroom, rather just a standard plug socket.
The reception area itself is very off-putting. Bleak and with a way too small reception desk, this caused the only huge queues. I am not blaming the staff; there just weren't enough of them!
The staff generally were very friendly and helpful. No complaints there. The food (buffet of course) was fine providing you managed to get to your choice whilst it was still hot. Cold french fries every time! The evening meal in the mexican-style restaurant was fine.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the theme park (free admission throughout). Three designated cafes in the park are available to residents at all inclusive, but check times of availability. If you have to pay for meals on the park it will appear expensive due to the poor exchange rate (roughly £1-e1, with a burger and fries costing e11.
The resort of Salou is 15 mins walk away, with the usual seaside attractions, loads of bars/cafes etc. Buses are available. Recommend the Jack Daniels pub as you walk into town..superb food at reasonable rates and Worthington Beer on tap! (4 euros tho).
Must see: The fountain display at 10pm every night on the seafront.

Downside: Last time we went to this resort we were allowed to go to a luxurious beach club, part of the Port Aventurer complex. This was no longer open to us...pity.

All in all, a good resort for families and people who like kids!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room in blocks 4 or 5; close to the pool and nicely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PortAventura Hotel El Paso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel El Paso

Address: Rambla del Parc s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#20 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel El Paso 4*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, El Paso offers a "All Inclusive" designed for families, from which you can enjoy both the hotel and the park PortAventura. The hotel recreates a traditional Mexican hacienda with authentic Aztec decor. The spectacular gardens and the friendly treatment of its people will make you leave behind the stress of everyday life and delve into the beauty of colonial Mexico, just a few minutes from the gates of PortAventura Park.Túmbate really huge pool and relax in comfortable chairs while you impregnate all the excitement of the exotic and extreme comfort of Hotel El Paso. Your children will have fun playing in their pools.And nothing better for fun swimming around a sunken galleon in full pool! Structured in different buildings around a central gardens and crystal blue pools. In our restaurants, savor the best Mexican cuisine and will have espectáculos.Las colorful colonial-style rooms are ideal for a family stay, surrounded by gardens create an atmosphere of serenity and relaxation. Ideal for after hours fun dive into adventure at PortAventura Park break, as tickets are included in the price of your stay! A highlight in 2014 the new attraction called Angkor and Cirque du Soleil this summer representing the world of Kooza and the origins of the circus. Cirque du Soleil will be installed outside the PortAventura theme park, right next to Hotel Gold River. This entry does not include access to PortAventura Park. Also the entry of PortAventura Park does not include admission to the show Kooza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PortAventura Hotel El Paso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso At Portaventura Hotel
Hotel El Paso

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PortAventura Hotel El Paso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.