We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we have mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Calypso to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“we have mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we recently stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from 4 june until 18th june in room 210. firstly the food was very good, entertainment was out of this world what a show they put on each evening. Childrens entertainment was first class with Mafalda one of the entertainers with a first class personality and dedicated to keeping those kids happy.Hotel was very clean but cleaning staff on our floor very very rude. All Receptionists were very helpful while dining room and al fresca staff were pleasant the same could not be said for some of the bar staff.At the end of the day civilty costs nothing. I have emailed the medaplaya group regarding this. Drinks were all cheap spanish moonshine as we were all inclusive. As i said earlier we have mixed feelings about our stay at Calypso

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    456
    254
    106
    143
See reviews for
751
256
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just arrived back from this hotel we went with a crowd of us children aged 1,4,7,8,10,11,13 All Inclusive we had an amazing time, food was excellant, you could get food throughout the day untill 11.30 pm. Ice cream for the kids from 11am - 11pm. The rooms were basic but had everything you would need and you only sleep in them, maid's came everyday. The pool area's are lovely lots of sun loungers. The evening entertainment is amazing the shows that the animation team put on them selfs you would actually pay to go & see. We watched greese, thriller, hollywood lights and thats just to name a few. Entertainment is outside aswell so plenty on seating. Salou is very family orientated lots of shops and the spanish really make a fuss of you. Lots of english & irish bars which welcome the kids & alot of them have entertainment. Best beach i have ever been to very safe for small kids.

Overall a great family holiday had by all we shall definatly return in the near future.

Room Tip: There are two bulidiings to this hotel calypso 1 & calypso 2 we was in 2 overlooking the one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend from 11th-18th june. After reading the reviews I was dreading my stay, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Yes, the pool was cold, but only for the first moment of getting in, and that's what you need in the Salou heat. Everything was clean and tidy, the food was beautiful with excellent theme nights and variety for all.
The rooms were bigger than I expected and spotless. The staff were amazing, especially the entertainment team who put on marvellous shows every night. The kids team, especially Mafalda were really excellent with everybody, getting involved and having fun. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from a massive strip of shops and the beach. Overall, this hotel exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a weeks stay at Hotel Calypso 11-18 June. Party of 5, 64, 58, 36, 34 & 4 year old. We stayed in Calypso 1, room 410 & parents room 450. The rooms were spotless, facing the pool & stage, maids came every day. Problem was the noise, paper thin walls, can hear EVERYTHING!!!! The food was best we have had on AI, theme nights, carvery most nites, proper cooked breakfasts, we loved the bbq area which was open 12-6, burgers, steak, chicken made to order, lovely! Beer was in pint cups, very rare, usually in small plastic cups. The entertainment was excellent, the team are all brilliant singers & dancers & can see they put alot of effort in. The main show starts at 10-11:30, sometimes later, found this to be too late for kids, even if you went to room early, you couldnt sleep as too loud. Overall this is the best AI 3 star we have been to, we wouldnt stat again, simply because we like to try different places, however this was my parents 2nd year visit in
A row, they love it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snettisham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Calypso for 9 nights from 5th June (Was supposed to be 7 nights but our flight got delayed). From the reviews on here we weren't expecting anything spectacular and if anything we were dreading arriving. We booked with Travel Republic as a package deal which worked out around £300 per person and we were half board.

We arrived and the room was decorated well and the balcony was spacious and was looking over the swimming pool and the entertainment terrace. We didn't mind the cleaning standards... Yes there was dust... Yes there was fluff under the beds and in the light fittings but this didn't affect our stay at all and we had no cause for complaint!

The food was great value for the money we paid. At breakfast there were different varieties of the full english breakfast every day, there were cold meats, pastries, cereals, fruit and yoghurts. The evening meal was just as good from curry to pasta dishes to seafood to paella to tex mex night (my favourite it was beautiful)... There was definitely something for everyone.

All of the staff were lovely and friendly, especially the receptionist with the long dark hair (didn't take a name) and the lady in the shop.

I felt really at home at Hotel Calypso everyone was made to feel so welcome and it was obvious that the staff cared, one night the entertainments team played a video on their screen of all of the staff dancing to the hotels theme song which was great! All of the evening shows were brilliant I couldn't fault them and it was good that they had a two week rolling programme as we never saw the same show twice. I would say the best were Grease & Flashdance. Most of the reps danced like zombies and didn't seem to want to be there but Mathalda was absolutely awesome she got all of the kids going and was really entertaining to watch. She even jumped in the pool during the daytime and splashed around with the children. Also the bald man who did most of the comparing is worth a mention.

The swimming pools were freezing but you got used to it and they were perfectly clean. There were loads of sunbeds so we never had to worry about that. The only thing that made me angry about the hotel was the fact that children were not watched properly and they were throwing water on the kids play park and down the slides which made it really dangerous & caused a few children to slip and hurt themselves.

I would definitely go back to Salou & stay in this hotel... If you go definitely go to Port Aventura & the little fun fair just around the corner is perfect for kids. The little train picks up just outside the hotel reception and goes to most of Salou for just 3 euros which is really handy. The beach is so clean and well maintained and the sea is lovely and blue. Avoid Aquapolis like the plague if you have small children as it is extremely pointless we got our money back. The adults aren't allowed on the kids slides and the kids can't go on the adult slides so we just spent the day by the pool at the hotel instead.

One last thing to say... Choosy choosy... Bye bye :)

Room Tip: Do not stay in Calypso 2 as the school trips are given rooms in that block & Do not go to Aquapo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for the first week in June. The hotel is in a brill location (turn left out of the hotel and left again down a little street with a mini supermarket and few pubs/bars and at the end of that your on the strip)! The entertainment was great, michael jackson tribute, dirty dancing, mama mia and the food was nice, they had two themed nights whilst we were there (Chinese & Italian I think), always plenty of choice and the snacks throughout the day were amazing, steaks, chicken, burgers.. none of this just nuts and crisps which alot of 3* hotels do! The rooms were ideal, enough room, nice balcony, tv but we never watched it and the cleaners were in every day, clean towels, bed made. I really cannot fault this hotel and Salou itself is a lovely, clean place. I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this hotel and highly recommend it to any age/group/family. Thank you Hotel Calypso!

Room Tip: Ask for the main buliding (pref swimming pool view) as you can watch entertainment at night and on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went to the Calypso as a party of 8 recently and overall we had a great holiday. The staff were friendly although you did come across the occasional miserable member of bar staff, location wise the hotel is near the top of the main strip of shops and bars and is approximately a 10-15 minute walk from the beach. The all inclusive side is fine the bar is well stocked of local spirits and there are UK drinks such as Magners available at an extra cost. Food wise the breakfast is reasonable it has continental food and a cooked food such as bacon eggs etc although it is Spanish bacon which I think actually nicer than the UK stuff, upstairs there's a BBQ which runs from 11am - 6pm everyday where you can get fresh meat, fish, burgers etc cooked for you also a selection of salads and other food such as chips pizza etc. The main restaurant food was fine although some of our party were fussy eaters and struggled to find something to eat. There was a Tex Mex theme night when we were there which had nachos chilli con con carne etc and was lovely. The two pool areas could have been kept to a better standard and as the weather got hotter they filled up more. The entertainment team were constantly busy and helped keep the kids amused. There were nightly shows by the entertainment team and outside performers at 10pm which were generally pretty good. If you want a good nights sleep I wouldn't want to be staying in the Calypso 2 part of the complex as if you were facing the stage you were faced with constant noise from the entertainment up until around midnight. A massive negative was the poor cleanliness of the rooms which were filthy dirty and not cleaned at all there were massive balls of dust underneath the beds which I would think had been there for a considerable amount of time. The hotel is fairly dated and will soon be in need of refurbishment. The kids play area had some defects which had been "fixed" by riveting boards of wood over the problem the arcade has poor quality games many of which are very old and a lot of electric cables trailing on the floor. The pool area is dirty and has issues with bird excrement on the floors underneath the overhanging trees. The hotel is a 10 minute taxi ride from both Port Aventura theme park and the Aquapolis water park both of which are great days out. There is also a small childrens fair ground 2 minutes away from the hotel which my kids enjoyed. Salou itself is looking tired and fairly dilapidated and you can't walk 50 yards without someone either trying to sell you knock off goods of get you into their bar. Overall we enjoyed our stay but I doubt I'll be visiting Salou again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#16 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.