We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Holiday - Heading Back next Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Calypso to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Family Holiday - Heading Back next Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Great holiday, hotel well located short walk beach and Salou centre. Cleanliness, facilities, rooms, restaurant, staff and entertainment all top draw...... heading back next year!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    445
    240
    104
    143
See reviews for
741
246
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
netherton, dudley, west mids
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

Firstly I was apprehenisive with my booking after reading the reviews and was cautious when we arrived. After travelling by coach for 27hours all I wanted to do was shower! Unfortunately our room was not ready but reception gave us our wrist bands so we could eat etc whilst we waited. We went back on hour later to find we were in calypso 2. Oh no was my first thought backed up when room was not clean. However the cleaners were 4 doors down, stopped doing that room and got ours ready whilst we waited. Now the room, yes it was small however you don't holiday in your room. It's a base!

The food is wide and varies everyday. My fiancé is a picky eater and he always found something.

The entertainment staff work very hard and we went out and came back to watch all the shows.

Calypso 2 looks like it's being refurbished and remember that the hotel cannot close whilst this is done

Don't believe the negativity and make the holiday what you want.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We have just returned from a week all inclusive at Calypso. Myself, husband and two daughters aged 12 and 9. We had a fantastic time. Hotel staff were really great, cleaners always pleasant and bar staff loved my girls because they made an effort to talk in Spanish. The entertainment staff work really hard, not all shows to suit everyone, but they try really hard. ( my one tiny critisisim would be, the rooms especially the bathrooms could do with a bit of up-dating ) as a family we loved it. You never go hungry or thirsty as there is plenty of choice for all. Would recommend going to anybody.x

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

We just got back and loved it so much to do entertainment team was great two restaurants to choose from great food great choices they cater for all the staff are so friendly and it was really safe rooms cleaned and beds changed every day it was my anniversary and they put champagne in our room we went all inclusive and was so impressed already,booked to go back next year

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Me and my family arrived on the 16th of august for a week and we absolutly loved it and will denfo be going back. The only downside is the enterainment i found that it was not as goood as others were saying but over alll the hotel was great
hope this helps xxxx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

Myself & my partner with our 11 year old son & 21 month old daughter arrived on the 12th August for 11 nights. Like most people I had been reading all the reviews & was absolutely dreading it, worried we were about to embark on a holiday from hell & a few times considered cancelling on just reading the reviews on here. We booked half board & after the first day decided to upgrade to all inclusive which is 20 euro a day per adult & 10 euro a day for a child. Firstly the accommodation - we had a room in Calypso 2 (again reviews were awful in Calypso 2). The room itself was basic, recently refurbed with dark wood furniture & contrasting decor. At first glance it looked impressive but after a while it was clear that it was a quick makeover & more attention could of been given to finishing touches. But, it served it's purpose. No room apart from under the beds for storing luggage. Room was small & lacked a welcoming feel. Cleaned daily with fresh towels & we had clean sheets once during our stay. We had a ground floor room which had a small terrace outside which lead onto a grassed area which was ideal for our 21 month old to play on. Secondly the restaurant - I have to say there is a huge selection of foods on offer but extremely repetitive every day with a few dishes changing. My son lived on chicken nuggets & chips as there wasn't much else on offer that appealed to a 11 year old! My partner however will eat most things & thought the variety of main meals was great & sampled most things. You won't go hungry but may find it difficult if you are a fussy eater. Thirdly, bar service - no problems. Yes the fact you can only get 2 drinks at a time is a bit naff but kids get their own all inclusive wristband also so our 11 year old was able to go to the bar himself & get his drinks. All inclusive drinks starts at 9.30am & ends at 11.30pm. The pool areas - the pools are really nice but are too small for the amount of people staying at the hotel. The major bug bear of our holiday was the fact that the sun loungers were locked up & not unlocked till 9.30am each morning. This meant that to get a decent 'pitch' for the day you have to go down to the pool area & grab plastic chairs as early as possible (7.30am) & grab an umbrella & put your towels on these just to claim your space until the loungers are unlocked & then it's a free for all to get a lounger. Not a great way to spend the first part of your day! The pools are clean & tidy but again more attention could be paid to keeping them a bit cleaner & tidier. Beaches - ram packed! We ventured to the main beach by the promenade which is around a 20 min walk. The beach is lovely & the water is warm but it is very busy. The main street down to the beach is just round the corner from the hotel & has plenty of great shops on & lots to look at. Lots of guys street selling which is to be expected. Overall I wouldn't go back to Calypso. We had a lovely holiday but Calypso didnt live up to our expectations. Cleanliness was an issue & just the general upkeep of the hotel. We made the most of it & enjoyed our time in Salou. I wouldn't recommend to friends & family but it will suit a lot of people. Just not for us.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom lancashire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

love this hotel got back on monday after 10 days there and already booked 4 next year i must say though if your are goin with out children and just to chill out then this hotel probebly isnt for you it was jam packed with children the pools are way to busy and i didnt agree with footballs being alloweed in the pools you just keep getting hit in the face with them and and wasnt just kids playin with them it was adults to so im hoping by next year they will be banned from the pools.other than that everything else was fantastic the shows are great even though id seen them the year befour but still enjoyed them the food and drink is great more oh less same every day so you do get a bit fed up but always something to eat.all the staff work very hard our room was cleaned every day.you got a few stuck up guest who pulled faces and had a moan abt the kids i did get wet a few times with kids and there water guns but thats kids for you i woudnt go here if i didnt have children myself it was alot busier than last year when we came.the sunbeds are locked up till 9.30 but if you want to be round the pool i sugest u go down abt 7am and put your towels on a chair in the spot you want or you have no chance and wen the beds get unlocked its just a mad rush and ur all like squashed tomotoes sunbathing next to each other hahaha.but all in all we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Address: Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#15 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Calypso Salou
Calypso Hotel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Calypso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.