We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Nice area, would go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vil-la Romana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vil-la Romana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vil-la Romana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 98 hotels in Salou
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, Nice area, would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A long review but I have tried to cover a lot of info.

I went on holiday with my partner for one week in Sept 2013 and we loved it.

The hotel was very nice and very clean.
We were given a room with a poor view at first, the other hotel facing us was so close but we went straight to reception and asked to be moved to a Pool view.
The receptionist Emma was lovely and said she would try to accommodate us.
Two days later we had our pool view like they said. We were very happy with this room.
Lovely view of the pool and entertainment area.
We loved to come home in the evening and be able to relax on the balcony, watching the evening entertainment.

The staff were all lovely, well apart from the restaurant staff. They were very moody and just pointed to an area to find a seat. This sometimes meant you had to walk around for 5 minutes trying to guess which tables were free.They slowly grow on you towards the end of the week but their unfriendly attitude did ruin the hotel atmosphere a bit.
Other than this the staff were great. Reception, very friendly, Thompson reps very friendly and the animation team were amazing. Made the holiday one to remember. Really fun and would go back just to see them.

We went half board and found we never queued up for more than a few minutes to get in to the restaurant.
The food was ok. Typical buffet for abroad to be honest.
They had theme nights so there was always something new to try and it was all at a decent standard.

The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the town, beach and theme park.
It was in a nice quiet area but very close to all you need.
The noisiest part was the H10 hotel next door but not a big issue as most entertainment finished by about 11.45pm.

One thing to comment on is the Salou fountain at the beach. It was said the light and music show comes on every night at 9pm but we waited 45mins plus for this It seems it comes on whenever and you are lucky to catch it. We did see it one night when we least expected it.

We did a day trip to Barcelona. The magic fountains are a must. They were amazing.]We booked the excursion with Thompson, the coach was about 40mins late from pick up time which was quite annoying as this meant less time in Barcelona. Also the drop offs were silly on the way back. It was late and they went past our hotel a few times to drop off at hotels further away first. Would have been quicker to walk.
This was annoying when we were all tired and fed up but what can you do.

The hotel is only 20mins from the Reus airport so a really quick transfer which is great.

We were a couple but went out of the holiday season so hardly any screaming kids around.

As usual people were reserving sunbeds at silly o'clock and then going off to have breakfast and then going out for the day.
This was annoying and seemed to be the Russians and Germans mainly.
There was a sign saying no reserving towels but nothing was done about the reserving so a little annoying.
In the end we had to start getting up to reserve our sunbeds before breakfast to make sure we got a space.
I can imagine in high season this would be really annoying and you would be up very early getting a bed.

One thing to watch out for are the cleaners They do a good job but the do not disturb light , seems to be ignored as they just knock and come in the room anyway.
They came quite late in the day but not a bad thing as they then didn't wake you up.

The safe in the room was 23 Euros for the week which is expensive but air-con is free.
You also have to pay a local tax but that is at every hotel.
The room walls are very thin and if people were loud next door or in the corridor you had no sleep. We had this on our last night and was awful.

I would definitely recommend the villa Romana hotel to anyone, couples and families.
Clean hotel, great location, great staff ( minus restaurant staff )

Room Tip: Pool side for entertainment and sun in the afternoon/evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves.

We will be glad having you back son.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    373
    137
    59
    34
See reviews for
591
267
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in September with our two kids 10 & 9 our 10 year when we arrived it was around 9.30 pm, checking in was a little slow but they got to you. When getting to our room very tired and hungry we were disappointed with the size of room for a family of 4, we hurried so we could get dinner and there was no disappointment in that area at all as my 10 year old has autism and a very fussy eater, the whole stay he never once grumped about the food there was a wide range of food, we then went to reception to ask for a bigger room and was told no, we caught every evening show the entertainment people where FANTASTIC !!! All day they entertained you and your kids brilliant, from inflatable slides to foam party's to speaking to you brill would Defo go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves.

We will be glad having you back son.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at Vil-la Romana for 11 nights from 10th September 2013. Reception check-in was very slow, however all of the reception Staff were pleasant with the exception of one young lady who works the late afternoon shift, no names but she needs to learn some simple manners!! The rooms were cleaned every day and were well maintained. Bathrooms were a good size so no complaints on accommodation! Breakfast, plenty of everything and enough choice for every taste. Dinner good and again plenty of choice. Location was handy for a few bars and café's and only 15 mins walk into the centre of Salou. Bus stop outside the hotel front door and stop for the local tourist train. Pool is a good size, but the hotel has the same old Spanish problem of people reserving sun beds by leaving towels on them. On the whole a very good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here as a family of four from 28/09/13 to 05/10/13. I would have given 5 stars but there were a few things I was disappointed with.
The good points
Its very clean
The food was amazing, ive got a very very fussy child and even he was happy because they had pasta and sauce and pizza every night.
Its only 10 minute walk to Portaventura
The staff are brilliant especially the Animation team, they kept us laughing all week (they deserve a raise in their salary).
Theres never a long wait for the lifts and Salou centre and beach is a walkable distance.
The disappointing points
The pool was quite dirty, the water could do with a clean
The evening entertainment probably would have been good if I could actually see it, we sat there every night and never saw a thing because there's too many pillars in the way, I don't know why they just didn't have it on the stage outside because most nights there were more people sitting on the outdoor terrace than in the hall.
The snack bar wasn't open so we had to trail out for lunch, I think this disappointed me the most
The shop is pretty poor, empty shelves and very limited stock
There was no sweets vending machine for kids, every kid wants chocolate around 9pm at night and the nearest shop was a good 10 minute walk away over a very busy road
None of the facilities people raved about on previous reviews were on the week we were there such as the inflatable slide, foam party, fancy displays in dining room, chocolate fountain only open one night
Also we were very disappointed as we spoke to reception to ask if we were entitled to a free lunch or dinner on our last day as we had checked in after 10pm so missed dinner the first night and were leaving the hotel after 7pm on our last night. This meant we had 7 nights accommodation but only 6 meals. We were told no because our tour operator had not advised the hotel of our late arrival even though I specifically told Alpha Rooms to advise them of this.
Although we loved the hotel these points may make me think twice about staying here again.
Also my iPod disappeared from the pool area and I notified reception twice but it hadn't been handed in. Please remember me if it eventually makes an appearance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves. We will do our best working in this points.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here in july only writing review now,everything in this hotel is great & location excellent,cleaners and entertainment staff friendly & even some staff in resturant very friendly to our kids,there is big blow up slides for kids candyfloss making machine chocolate fountain,free champagne at breakfast which i had on my birthday,there is only a few which could be changed, as the food is so good i think it should be kept covered as many flies as could make people sick although we had no problems there and thats not hotels fault on flies but keeping it covered even using tinfoil would prevent this,also pool could be a bit cleaner but apart from that everything was gr8 for breakfast homemade omellettes & pancakes freshly squeezed juice and dinners freshly made pizzas,stir frys,kebabs,good variety,the kids section no nuggets which that is mostly what kids eat although there is chips and pasta,sunbeds are very close and hard to get,i am going to book again and would advise anyone of thinking of booking to book,thats why it gets such good reviews as it listens to peoples reviews and works on what can be changed,hopefully when we go back there will be nuggets,so book book book you will not be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I hope this isn't too long....We've just got back as a family of 4 from a fortnight at Vila Romana.

Staff/Reception/check in

Check in was a bit slow (or just a long process?), we got there about 11:30am but our room wasn't ready and told to come back about 2-3pm, luckily we were prepared for this and packed swimming gear and towels in our hold luggage so the kids had something to do. I can't fault the staff at all, reception ladies all consistently very pleasant and helpful every time we had an issue or query.

Entertainment and Pool.

The pool here is very nice to lie around, gorgeous palm trees all around. Of course the pool is cold, unless it is heated I don't know why it wouldn't be, is is dirty though as someone else mentioned. Daytime entertainment didn't seem to happen when it was supposed to and didn't see the team as much as we would have hoped because the kids LOVED the entertainment team and music, which we're still listening to now (main two songs for dancing are Danza Kudro and Ai Se Eu Te Pego if you end up having to download them like me). Evening entertainment wasn't up to much at all, only 1 act interested the kids and was aimed at the older guests (flamenco, Temptations tribute) and was held inside in the most stupidly set up room ever, only 4 tables get a half decent side view or you had to stand at the bar because of big columns in the room blocking the stage, not sure why they didn't use outside stage because it was far from cold. Entertainment didn't start til 9:45 so we ended up going over to H10, they start a kids disco at 9:15 and have an evening quiz, it's outside and drinks are a fair bit cheaper there as well.

A big bug bear was people reserving beds, management say it's hard for them to enforce the rules, but I don't see why someone can't just go round once an hour and remove towels and actually enforce the rules, some people wouldn't turn up till mid afternoon after going down at 8am to put their towels down.

David the lifeguard was lovely, my elder son ended up sitting with him often and he didn't seem to mind at all and chatted away with him.

Rooms.

Yeah, I suppose it would be nice for them to be bigger, but for the time you spend in the room then it's adequate. The balcony is small though, we liked to have a game of cards before bed, but was a squeeze for the 4 of us out there. They have air con which is ace.
Beds are fairly firm which I liked, but beds are such a personal thing that you can't please everyone. Pillows aren't great, these long daft things, but housekeeping where quick to bring us more when asked.
The maids did a fantastic job of keeping the place clean, however they do completely ignore the do not disturb lights and carried on coming in despite raising this 3 times to the reception.
The power to the room turns off if you take the card out, so renders the fridge almost pointless, we were leaving a loyalty card in as we had to keep medication in the fridge but the maids kept taking it out, the reception ladies sorted it for it to be kept on due to the medicines in there, fab! We had a lot of issues with our room keys stopping working, we made sure they were kept away from mobiles as recommended but still failed a lot, reception were on the ball and got a technician out, who only spoke in Spanish but we got there between us haha.
We were put on the H10 side and previous reviews are correct in how loud it is, and were close to asking to be moved but it does end around midnight. If you like an early night then you're best over the restaurant.


Restaurant.

The food here is fantastic for the quantity it is being produced in, I always found it to be fresh and hot with fresh food coming out frequently, I'm not going to list all the food but it is quite extensive, and as someone with massive food issues, I can say I had no problems finding food each day. The first week of our holiday was great, no waits to get in and not massively busy, the second week however was a different story; every day there was a queue to get in in the evening and seemed very understaffed, half the tables outside and also in the conservatory dining room were not being used despite the queues and I ended up clearing our own plates from the tables or getting our own cutlery/cups/glasses in the morning. You do end up encountering a fair few guests who believe queuing and waiting is beneath them, so be prepared to be pushed and barged out of the way.

The show cooking area was a big niggle for me, there didn't seem to be enough chefs behind the counter so 1 person would be trying to do the grill and the carvery and then the wok area as well at times, but when a queue had formed for the grill, rather than quickly throwing something on to start cooking, they would carry on with the carvery, when they did put meat on they'd walk away and food ended up being over cooked. All other hotels that have done show cooking have always had a couple of items cooked so you can grab one or wait for fresh, this never happened so sometimes had a bit of a wait. My son absolutely loved his fresh pancakes in the morning though, especially his Micky Mouse ones!

Local Area

Location is good, 5 minutes up to Portaventura, about a 10 minute level walk from the front. You can take the walk through the little precinct which is a nice walk, saves you getting mithered by all the local pub owners trying to get you in a well.

I ended up with really swollen ankles from the heat (weather fab by the way, around 30ish every day) and got a taxi back one day thinking it would be cheap, it cost 9E! Quite shocked at this after being told it would only be about 8E to Cap Salou.

The Land train (noddy train) stops right outside, there are 3 different routes and it's 3E for adults and 1.50E for kids, good way to pass an hour even if you just decide to do a full round trip. I can also recommend the "glass bottom" boat trip (it's not a proper glass bottom BTW) to Cambrills which was about 12E per person. On our last day we hired bikes and went for a ride back down into Cambrills which we loved and wish we'd done this sooner. For evening entertainment we ended up at Chaplins a lot of nights.

Everything taking into consideration, I would return but it wouldn't be my first choice, but I think the distance to the front is more of an issue than anything we encountered at the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room over the restaurant if you like an early night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for making some points as we like to hear our guests’ feedback in order to improve ourselves. We will do our best working in this points.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with another couple for 11 nights from 24 Sept-5th Oct.This was our 1st visit to Salou and enjoyed every moment. Our rooms were ready + waiting for us after a very early flight which was a welcome relief. Rooms were spacious + very clean (and they were cleaned every single day after). We were on the 4th floor overlooking waste ground @ the back of hotel which was nice + peaceful and had a lovely view of Portaventura and the surrounding hills but no sun at all which kept room nice + cool. Hotel is very well run with all the staff being very pleasant and helpful with excellent facilities. Food was excellent with lots of choices.The animation team were very funny and kept children + adults entertained all day, my husband,being a very young 53 yr old,thoroughly enjoyed the water polo and other games round the pool. We never once had a problem getting a sunbed even though some Belgium guests reserved several sunbeds dotted around the pool to follow the sun which we found very selfish as they stopped families with small children getting near the baby pool. We found bar prices in hotel reasonable but prices are a lot cheaper in town centre. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at Vil.la Romana and if we ever return would stay here without hesitation. My only gripes about the hotel is in the rooms a couple of drawers would of been nice and tea making facilities for those that like an early morning cuppa would also be nice. Also, if you want anything alcoholic or fizzy with dinner you have to pay which i can understand because its not an all inclusive hotel,but a jug of water would be nice. They are the only things we found would of made our stay 100% enjoyable so im afraid Hotel Vil.la Romana you only get 98% :-)

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vil-la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vil-la Romana

Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Salou
#14 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vil-la Romana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vil-la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vil-la Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.