We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Content 3rd Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vil-la Romana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vil-la Romana to your Saves list
Hotel Vil-la Romana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Mid Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Content 3rd Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Hotel Vil-la Romana.
Having a 2 year gap we were so happy to find nothing has changed.
Same staff & nice to be remembered too.
This year our rooms overlooked the pool. Fabulous sunny side. It is noisier than the back as you are above the outside bar area & music is played but it's a happy hotel & it finishes at 12 sharp.
Spent hours in both pools, jacuzzi & sauna.
We discovered a sports store called Decathlon up the road past Portaventura at Villa Seca that sold a stretchy fabric swimming cap 2€ that was easier to wear.
We walked there to the Mercado supermarket (closed Sunday) along the road that passes Portaventura train station. Amazing long walk with a bench every 8' - we counted over 100 benches.
Nice to see same staff in Restaurant. Hi Henri.
Food was excellent. Different steaks, roasts, fish, stews, pizzas, pastas, fruit, desserts etc every night. Fresh juice in the morning with omelettes & cinnamon pancakes. This year we took a travel kettle & teabags as we miss a cuppa, kept fresh milk in the fridge provided.
Our rooms were kept clean & spotless. Beds extremely comfortable.
We had 7 day passes to Portaventura & spent happy hours there getting drenched on the wet rides. Watched the Bubblebou show this year - well impressed.
Caught the catamaran to Cambrils from Port Salou (12€ return) on a very hot day. Unfortunately we timed it wrong (sailed 12.35) as the shops all shut at 2pm. If you are doing this I recommend you catch the 10.30 sailing to be able to shop in their individual unique stores. We did have the biggest & tastiest ice creams from Come Come.
We will definitely return to this faultless hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    428
    157
    66
    36
See reviews for
700
317
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were recommended Vil-la Romana by friends who had stayed several times. A group of 4 we were looking for somewhere out of season with walks and nearby beaches. The hotel met all requirements. The hotel came out cheapest via Travel Republic at £279 half board for 7 days
Travelled via Ryan Air from Birmingham, sensible timed flights out and back for a measly £82 per couple.
Arrived mid Friday afternoon and the hotel was dead. Very few people in evidence because we found out it was the first day of the 2013 season and the doors were opened that morning. Plenty of staff about, reception took minutes and up to room 4023. Friends in 4201. The rooms were on the front of the Hotel looking out of Port Aventura. We should have asked then for a room change.
Meals available breakfast 8am 11am Lunch 1pm 3pm Dinner 6.30pm to 9pm. Greeted at dining room door and taken to table. About 50 people in a room for hundreds.
At about 7am the next day the hoards started to arrive. Coaches stopped every half hour and by midday the place was humming. May day holiday in France which is a couple of hours up the motorway. Hoards of kids from toddlers to teens. All well behaved, none of the usual stupidity we Brits seem to tolerate.
Meals became a matter of queuing for a table but nothing too bad. Food was plentiful and a fantastic choice for every meal. Plenty of staff to clear tables but at breakfast there was always a line of people waiting for the hot drinks machines. There are three sets of machines, one for hot and one for cold. The middle set was always broken for hot drinks. Needs to be sorted.
Room had a problem with sink tap that was reported and fixed within an hour.
If you are allocated a room make sure its not in the range 1021 to 1209 2021 to 2029 3021 to 3029 4021 to 4029 and 5021 to 5029 (although we didn't see the 5th floor rooms). They are all facing the front on top of the entrance. Lorries coaches vans start using the parking area from about 6am. There is also a very noisy forklift truck that moves rubbish containers three times a week from about 7pm out onto the road. its very very busy.
Great hotel apart from the noise early morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the second time with my husband and 15 year old daughter last August/Sept for 2 weeks we had an amazing time. When we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready as we arrived at 11 am but we booked in at the reception and were shown to a room downstairs which had a shower and a changing area and we were able to change and leave our bags in a secure adjoining room. We went off to get some food and picked up our keys to our room later on. Our room was situated at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor with a balcony which had open views to the Portaventura Theme Park. It was spacious and spotless clean and the maids came every day and made up the room and changed the bedding and towels regularly. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was lovely which even the fussiest eaters would not go hungry with some things being show cooked at every meal by the wonderful chefs who always seem to be smiling although they work very hard. The themed evenings were excellent and the entertainment team worked hard to get everybody involved in their activities especially the children. We hired a fridge for our room and also paid for a key for the safe. Towards the middle of our first week we discovered that you could hire out towels from the reception desk for 10 euros deposit each which you got back when you returned them. There were always plenty of sunbeds available although it is advisable to get up early and put your towels out if you want a particular spot. The outdoor pool is lovely but sometimes cold and the indoor pool,sauna and jacuzzi are fab. You must purchase swim caps which cost about 2euros each from reception to wear in the indoor pool. The entertainment was good on the occasions when we watched it. This hotel is certainly worth its 4stars and I would recommend it to anyone. If you report any problems to the reception staff they make sure they are rectified as quickly as possible. The location is excellent only about 10 minutes to the Portaventura Theme Park which is fun for people of all ages even little ones as it has a childrens area called Sesame Land which is based on Sesame Street adults love these rides more than the children. They also have Costa Caribe Water Park which is next door. You can purchase tickets from Attraction Tickets Direct before you p only about 10 minutes walk in the other direction to the beach. Can,t wait to go back for 2 weeks in August 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here in November 2012 as went to Salou for the World Rally Championship.Originally I too was booked into Belvidere but it was closed (without any notice from Travel Republic). Like the other reviews this is more like 3.5 star. The location though is great as looks out to Portaventura. What tips it is you can ask for food cooked to order at night. The hotel closed for the winter the day I left but the standards were still great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Great clean hotel, nice pool area. Good choice of food, themed menu every night. Don't reckon much to entertainment. First time we took the children, not to far from beach, bus ride to theme park and water park. Returned as a couple following year. Disappointed how food wasn't as good this time but still nice . We had a room on the side of hotel and young Spanish teens outside most nights screaming laughing and noisy, but hotel staff excellent in going out and moving them on if you complain. Would definately be booking to go here again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. I hope you will think of us when booking your next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is our first time we have ever been abroad, we took our 2 children, which are teenagers. We were very nervous about the whole travel situation, but we found with Thomson it went very smoothly.
We arrived at the hotel, and the hotel seemed better than our expectations. Our room was very modern and also very clean. The room was cleaned every day, with fresh towels and to a high standard. There was a lots of variety of food, but we are very boring eaters, and we thought the food was very greasy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the animation team were a good laugh. The beach was lovely, as we spent most of our time there, but it was a bit of a walk.
The only downside to this holiday was that we all got some sort of bug, it took 48 hours for my daughter to get over it, and 24 hours for myself to get over it. That put a bit of a downer on the holiday as my wife and son were so worried about getting it on the way home. Other than that, we would return again, and we highly recommend villa romana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed in October as this hotel is within walking distance of portaventura.

It is a nice hotel, our room was a little tired but clean. The aircon switch was broken as was he extractor in the bathroom neither really posed a problem however this was October. The restaurant was good the waiting staff and chefs were very friendly.

We spent much of the time at the theme park so didn't really see the entertainment.

The weather was ok late teens but cold on a night.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Gerente at Hotel Vil-la Romana, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for dedicating the time to write your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us so that we can improve every day. Just remind you that we will be pleased having you in our hotel in you next visit to Salou.
Sincerely,
Raül Chamorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vil-la Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vil-la Romana

Address: Avda Paisos Catalans 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Salou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vil-la Romana 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vil-la Romana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vil La Romana
Vil La Romana Hotel
Romana Villa Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vil-la Romana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.