We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salou - A great resort!!! A lovely hotel to boot...and go to THE FUNKY MONKEY!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Port Salou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Port Salou to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Port Salou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pompeu Fabra 32, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Salou - A great resort!!! A lovely hotel to boot...and go to THE FUNKY MONKEY!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We have just returned from 10 nights staying at the Golden Port Salou and Spa. I myself last stayed in Salou 34 years ago with my parents when I was 6 years old and we stayed at the Hotel Augustus Park, near to Camping Sanguli. I took my husband there to see it. I lost my Dad this year, so I especially wanted to go there as I have many happy memories from that holiday. I couldn't remember anything about Salou itself, so it was like going there for the first time. We were impressed with the hotel except for some aspects of the bar. The drinks are quite pricey and there isn't much choice when it comes to lager/beer, however, they do have Happy Hour on cocktails twice a day (although we never went ourselves), so It's not a complaint, just an observation!! The hotel is very clean and well run. The restaurant was never overly busy and we always got a table without delay. The choice of food is good and the staff work hard. We met other English couples who had varying opinions on the food, but I think that the English sometimes expect everything to be the same as they get at home. Our room was bright, modern and always kept clean. We got fresh towels everyday if we wanted them. We went to Llevant beach most days and swam in the sea. We went on 2 of the Tourist Trains, one around Salou and the other to La Pineda. There is a variety of shops, catering for most tastes, and some boutique shops in the Ponient region of Salou if you want to max out on your credit cards!!The weather was hot and sunny most days, with only 2 days of rain and a terrific thunderstorm on our last night. In the evenings, we went to the FUNKY MONKEY bar which was only a short walk from our hotel. Its a great bar, the couple who run it, Andy & Alison, are really lovely people; welcoming and friendly and they have a free quiz everynight with prizes. The drinks are so cheap that we took some money home that we'd normally spend in the evenings. I don't think you'd find cheaper anywhere!! We loved it and never went anywhere else in the 10 nights we were there!! I hope they get to see this review because I feel that they deserve loads of positive feedback from their customers. They make a lovely cheese & onion sandwich too, with English bread and butter and cheddar. They might remember us - our quiz team name was "The Port Salou 4" but we were too tired to join in on the first night. We met lots of people there and had a great laugh!! We have booked again to go next year to the same hotel. I would recommend Salou to anyone - its got something for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    303
    146
    41
    19
See reviews for
438
244
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This is a 3* not 4* hotel. We just spent 2 weeks there and could not wait to get back home again.
The food was very average, repetitive and mostly lukewarm. Breakfast eggs were hard every morning. The salad buffet never varied except for the weekly gala dinner.
The bedrooms and bathrooms need upgrading badly. The balcony table was a tiny thing like you have around the pool. Towels were changed daily though and it was kept fairly clean.
The morning rush to reserve sun loungers was at 9am. I actually saw one woman running out to reserve her beds. Sad people - but you get it everywhere.
Service in the bar is fine if you are Spanish, but was often surly to the English. The Spanish were served first. The hotel was mainly used by Spanish, French and British. The Spanish were loud and rude, even shouting across the restaurant to each other. When sat outside they were loud and inconsiderate to others who just wanted a bit of peace to read or have a drink etc. They couldn't even play cards quietly. And they were all heavy smokers, so you couldn't escape it.
Then there were the Brits! I have never seen so many acres of flesh on display and most of it was tattooed - heavily, and that was just the women. So many grossly obese people too, piling their plates up with food. They were heavy smokers and drinkers and often sat outside making a lot of noise until 1.30am or later. There was a notice outside the restauarant banning men from wearing shorts and vests for dinner but this was completely ignored and not enforced, even on gala dinner nights. Standards in this hotel are low, very low.
One morning we were woken at 6am with an early morning wake up call-which we had not booked. When I complained to the reception desk later I was told it was there on the system and he just shrugged his shoulders. No apology was forthcoming, and the body language was saying that it is on the system so you must have booked it! I hope someone did not miss their flight home because we got their early call instead of them!
At 2.30am one night an argument woke us up coming from the room next door. They were shouting and hitting each other and banging around the furniture etc.One was locked out on the balcony and then banged away until they were let back in. It was a nightmare. This went on until 3.30am. Try getting to sleep after that! The next day they were all lovey dovey around the pool but we had lost a couple of hours sleep thanks to them.
Salou the town, is like Blackpool with palm trees. We love Spain and Catalonia and come twice a year, but Salou was the biggest disappointment ever. Full of tatt and English and Irish bars, mucky pavements and broken paving. How anyone disabled could get around here I don't know - except for the nicely paved promenade.
We have been to the sister hotel in this Golden hotel group at Tossa de Mar, and it is fab. This is why we tried this hotel. No comparison at all. Do not go unless you are happy to live with all of the above. Tossa de Mar and Cambrils are much nicer, unless you like the Blackpool thing of course. (We even had a hen party group in from England, so it really was like Blackpool.)
We came home feeling weary, desperate for some peace and quiet and relaxation. We have never felt like this before and it is such a shame to have to write this negative review. However, Trip Adviser reviews have helped us before and we wanted to save anyone else having this holiday experience which was negative for us, but could be very positive for some people. As far as we are concerned, and reveiewing the hotel as 'mature' travellers' - if you want class - you won't find it in Salou or this hotel. Do go to Barcelona though, it really is great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Got to room and only just arrived and my granny was sitting on the edge of the bed and the bed collapsed and when we checked the base the leg was broke and it looked kie it has happened before and my granny hurt her hip. At 11pm my granda and I had to carry another base from another room,, went down to reception and were very concerned about what happened. The rooms are small have two beds and settee bed and it was not very comfortable,( not suitable for a adult). The bedroom was are biggest disappointed. Found the staff friendly and helpful plus the thomson rep Sam. The animacion team very good and I enjoyed myself with them. Couldn't find any other fault with this hotel and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We went to the hotel in July and were a bit apprehensive as this was our first package holiday in a while (previously booked self catering). I have to say we should not have worried as all fears of noisy neighbours, lack of sunbeds and music from dawn to dusk did not happen! The hotel have pitched the entertainment just right. Our children are 7, 4 and 5 months old and the elder two thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The entertainment programme starts at a decent time in the morning around 11am and breaks for a few hours in the afternoon. You can join in the games with the kids, or they can do them alone - there is no pressure from the entertainers at all to have to join in. I agree with previous reviewers that the Thomson reps were useless. The only time we used them they refered us to the hotel receptionists, as ' they speak better spanish' ,apalling for a holiday rep to get the hotel staff to help us out with something not related to the hotel at all but I have to say the staff at the hotel were fabulous, courteous and helpful. The daily aqua gym must be done, one of the entertainers - Israel, is hilarious. He had the whole pool in fits of laughter just by his routine and whistle blowing. Dont bother to take large inflatables as they are not permitted in the pool, which works well as they have the safely of everyone in mind with this rule and with 3 pools and one lifeguard I think thats a wise decision. All the childrens entertainers were very friendly and approachable, our two children thought they were all excellent and asked to go the kids club a couple of evenings - which by the way was open from 930 -1130pm free of charge. The rooms were small and we asked before we went to have adjoining rooms which worked out well for us with 3 small children. The rooms had a small fridge in as well which was handy for storage. We did not face the pool but the rooms were quiet. All outside lights were automatically turned off at 12 midnight. The food was superb and catered for all our needs, a few more veg would of been good some nights but then the salads and fruit were always extensive so never short of healthy eating options. My husband and I used the spa for 5euros which was great for a bit of relaxation for 1.5 hours. Overall I would recommend this to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Just got back .This hotel is great.1) rooms:air con , tea+ coffee facs,sky tv with english cannels.2)restaurant : the food is brill a wide choice.carvery everynight,fish,chicken,pork ,salad + lovely desserts.breakfasts:freshly made pancakes were lovely but full buffet breakfast even toasted sandwiches,fruit ,cheese,meat etc also available.3)entertainment:there was something on every night to suit all ages.But if you fancy bingo + quiz theres a bar called the funky monkey just round the corner .The owners are great very friendly and they make great cocktails too.4)swimming pools:two good sized pools + solarium also a spa with indoor pool little extra cost for the spa but for 5 euros we were told it was well worth it.5)general:its about a 8 mins walk to beach but walking past shops + bars on the way.salou`s got lots of shops and bars.The only down side but not for us was on the main shopping avenue it would be really difficult to push a wheelchair or pushchair but would be fine along the beach front + mall.All in all a great hotel + resort .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Travelled to Golden Port Salou with husband and teenage daughter. Checking in was quick and easy, reception staff were lovely and spoke very good english. Emailed ahead and asked for a pool view and not too high a floor and got room 348. As mentioned in the other reviews, don't forget your tesco clubcard for the air conditioning but remember to take out when the room is being cleaned! The room had 3 single beds in, we just put empty suitcases under the bed but in terms of people on here moaning about the room size, how much time really do you spend in your hotel room when there is a pool outside, the sun is shining and it's 36.
As for the amount of beds available, yes there are alot of beds but if you would like to sit in the sun for most of the day, then there are limited spaces to put them as there are alot of trees around the pool. Good for people who want the shade but not if you want a tan. As for umbrellas, there are not alot of them, and as a previous reviewer mentioned, some people put towels on beds then disappear for the best part of the day, so we did see some people taking away umbrellas from other people. We actually bought an umbrella to use on the beach for about 9euros and then used it by the pool, we just tucked it into one of the sunbeds!
The food was really good, lots of choice, go early as it really does get very busy.
We went with Thomson, who after a couple of very small hiccups we found that the hotel staff were nicer to you than they were. On a couple of occasions of trying to talk to the Thomson girls, they looked hungover and we couldn't get anything out of them so we gave in!
We went to Barcelona by train a couple of times for the day which cost us 36 euros return tickets. We visited sagrada familia, the zoo, aquarium (very expensive), walked down the ramblas, went to the fruit market. It was lovely, just take care of your bags ladies.
All in all, the hotel was lovely, would reccomend you go. Yes, you are going to meet some people who are very rude, push in and continually jump in the pool on purpose just to upset you, yes I am talking about adults here. We didn't care the children were splashing us, they were having such a good time but for grown adults to do it then turn round and laugh , well, very petty. Yes there were quite a few of them so look out for them!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We went to this hotel based on the previous reviews. We were definitely not disappointed, we had a fab time. The hotel was approx 10/15 minutes from the beach depending upon which side you wanted to go to. The beach was extremely busy though due to the time of year. However, we did walk to Cap Salou - about 20 minutes walk and this beach was much quieter. The hotel had loads of sunbeds available but there was the typical mentality of saving beds and not going down to them for hours! There was a fantastic choice of food available - definitely something for everybody and there were also themed evenings - good waitress service too - we found it good to just try and say a few words in spanish to them they really appreciate you trying. There were always plenty of tables - it was never overcrowded. The service from the receptionists was excellent - very helpful and they spoke good English. There were lots of bars and restaurants which did small bites for lunch - the hotel also did some reasonable food at lunch time. We tried the funky monkey which did certain deals on drinks etc. Only critism I would have about the hotel would be the room service. Not sure if we got a dodgy maid but beds were not really made, towels were not moved - the bin was emptied, but dont think the floors were swept? Bedding was changed once which was fine. We went to Barcelona on the Plana Buses and went to the Zoo too. Good trip - could have done with staying in the zoo for longer though and not spliting it with Barcelone. This cost us 32 Euro each - the same trip with Thomson was 49 Euro! As a family of 6 this was a big saving for us. We could have done it cheaper if we had gone by train, doing it this way you could choose to do Barcelona or the zoo. We also went on a Jeep Safari trip - this was exellent. Not cheap mind but well worth it. It cost 44 Euro each but they take you to see some breath taking views, go swimming in a lake, try a bit of wine tasting and some good information about the area. Great fun definitely worth it the kids loved it! There was an indoor pool with jacuzzi and two outside pools plus outside jacuzzis. You could also go to the spa for 5 Euros - was a bit too hot for us to go on this occasion but would definitely do this soe other tine and recommend this hotel - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Port Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Port Salou

Address: Pompeu Fabra 32, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Salou
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#8 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#8 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Port Salou 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Golden Port Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Port Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Port Salou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.