We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you just need somewhere to sleep....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alboran

Alboran
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alboran to your Saves list
Alboran
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Josep Carner, 22, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you just need somewhere to sleep....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

this may be ok for you. I have just stayed here in room 605 and as mentioned by other people on here, we also had a huge issue finding where to get the keys from as it is actually an unmanned residential block that rooms are rented from. Thankfully the very kind people who ran the eatery next door told us where to go (depending on the room it can be one of several places) and even looked after our cases whilst we trekked the as yet unknown streets of Salou. We booked our holiday through 'on the beach.com' and after going through the paperwork 3 times there was no mention of where to get the room keys from (you also need a key to actually enter the building).
There was a clean pool which was very quiet (around 6 people a day from my calculations), the aircon didn't work in the apartment, there was no hot water until we realised that there was a mini boiler that had to be turned on and the door was awkward to open and close thanks to a sticky lock. There was, a kitchenette area, fairly comfortable single beds, a living area with tv (but no remote) and a sofa.
All this considered, we only wanted a place to sleep each night as our plan was to eat breakfast in one of the many great restaurants locally, spend all day on the wonderful (slightly crowded) beach, head back and get showered and changed before a night out visiting the many bars and clubs that were literally less than 5 minutes away and for this the accommodation was fine.
There are many, many hotels and apartment blocks in Salou, and we chose this one because it was available when we wanted to holiday and cheap. We spoke to some people over there who had paid less than us and got nicer accommodation a little further away than the centre, but where we were and for what we paid I felt it fine.
I would not really recommend this place for families or couples but for small groups of younger friends out on the lash its fine.
Also noteworthy is the seafront bars have some great food but if you opt for common dishes like pizza or pasta you could be charged around 9 euro for nothing more than spaghetti and tinned bolognese. Tapas however was very good. Please dont let any part of this review put you off visiting Salou as it is a lovely place with great beaches and when we visited over the first week of September 2012 it was lovely weather and around 29 degrees.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    6
    11
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good Points - ZERO

Bad Points -

Reception 10 min walk away
Rooms look like they were designed in 1950
Floors, units, balcony all very dirty
Most electrical equipment (lights, fan etc) did not work
No air con (we were forced to sleep on the balcony for the 2 nights we managed to stay)
Reception staff very dismissive
Very noisy street at night, full of spanish & police riot vans!!! We nicknamed it "The Ghetto"!
Bathroom drains were absolutly stinking of eggs which diffused into the living area
50 Euro deposit per person taken at check-in

The list could go on! We had booked in for a 5 day break, we lasted 2 days in this dump and decided to leave and pay to stay in a nice hotel to experience a holiday rather than a prison sentence for a couple of days. I strongly advise that you do not book this place! The place should be shut down it is that bad!! Words cannot express my shock and dissapointment from staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantwait10121
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We visited salou in the off season, so there wasn't a lot going on in terms of the swimming pool and reception, but coming from a holiday town in england you come to expect this anyway.

The apartment was clean and had its own small kitchen, living room, bedroom, bathroom and large balcony. We didn't use the apartment for much more than washing, cooking, eating, and sleeping but found it fine for this. it even had its own washing machine so we didn't have to take any laundry home.

It was in an Ideal position, we were able to walk to PortAventura, the beach, restraunts and pubs so I'd say that if you want to take kids, or you're going in a group its a great location because of this. It is also really close to the supermarket so you can buy supplies to take to PortAventura. The alboran is a 20/30 minute walk from the train station and there are always trains going back and forward to barcelona if you wanted to do a bit of sight seeing.

The only problem was collecting the keys but we asked the barmaid in the pub across the road, who knew where to send us, but had the bar been closed we would have been lost! I have noticed this time that they've sent an email telling us where to pick the keys up from.

We paid less than £120 for a week at the alboran! it was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

Booked through an agency in the UK. Unable to get the key to the room until 6pm as the room was being cleaned!! I had to clean the room my self again when we eventually got in. The key was picked up from an office a couple of streets away which was quite inconvenient. Furniture very dated and in a terrible state, the kitchen was unusable, nothing to cook with, no cups, kettle, toaster all could be hired from the agency where we picked the keys up from. The window was missing, not just the glass but the whole frame. The hot water did not work, bulbs were missing from most of the lights, the balcony furniture was very rusty and the tree from the street below hung over the balcony. Towels were not changed for the week we were there. Reception did not want to know about any problems, neither did the agency where we obtained the key, oh yes the safety deposit box was in the office which was 2 streets away!! The only good thing about the apartments was the location.Many rooms in the place seemed to be permanent homes for Spanish people who didn't seem to like holiday makers coming in. Maybe other apartments were in a better state of repair unfortunately ours was not.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

when we arrived after not having any sleep as it was a night flight we spent an hour looking for the place to collect our keys and at 7 in the morning with a 2 year old this is not good. we were not informed this when we booked. when we finially got in we were horrifed there were holes in the walls holes in the light fittings sockets haninging off the wall wires everywhere. the kitchen was that small that 1 person could just get in there. the separater that was ment to devide the rooms was hanging off. the room 2 doors down was getting renivated and they worked early in the morning and late at night. half way through our 10 days the locals decided to lock the pool gates so that we could not use it. all in all this the worst hotel i haver seen calling it a [--] hole is beeing nice. i would never advise anyone to stay here

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

When I first arrived at the Alboran the main door was locked and no one was on reception. We were informed when we booked the holiday that there would be a 24 hour reception, this wasnt the case. Throughout my week's stay i did not see one person behind reception at any time. The room itself was basic. Two out of the three plug sockets did not work and the fridge had been turned off which left a large pool of water around it. The facilities for the kitchen were very basic and quite dated. I would advise you to look around before booking your stay at the alboran as you get what you paid for in the end.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — most of it
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alboran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alboran

Address: Josep Carner, 22, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alboran 3*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Alboran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alboran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.