We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday, Pleasantly Suprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PortAventura Hotel Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added PortAventura Hotel Caribe to your Saves list
PortAventura Hotel Caribe
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Navan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family Holiday, Pleasantly Suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed as a grand parents, parents and child group. Hotel was accommadating in locating our ground floor rooms side by side and very close to hotel access.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and couldnt do enough for you when you asked for help. We had a bit of trouble with the beach club lumiere and a very kind receptionist liased for us and couldnt of done more to assist us.
Food was fantastic, great selection - everyone was happy. Good value on drinks and bar snacks, a little overpriced but not ridicoulsly so.
Transfers to the park were very frequent and also very quick.
We have always stayed in the hotels closer to the park (park entrance on hotel site) and this time we decided to go a little further out (cost measure) and we werent disappointed at all.
Loved our stay there and would go back again

Room Tip: Ground floor and pool facing, best access to hotel and pool areas, also great for famililes if side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    353
    204
    77
    46
See reviews for
569
186
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
troon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have satyed at every hotel in the portaventura resort having visited some 20 times, we like this due to distance, flight times, and amenities Pool Park etc, (Salou is Blackpool on Ice) Beach is great, great for body boarding, Prefer club San Juan suites, very much worth the upgrade.

Park is amazing, haloween is great at this point you probably want to stay in the El Paso, the rooms are of similar size, downside is balcony for both El Paso and Portaventura.

Well worth a visit, for us, 3-5 Days maximum now having been there so often.

Room Tip: Opt for Club San Juan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollviken, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The headline says it all – I’m sure this Hotel looked great when it was originally built, but that isnt recently for sure. It all looks a little worn down - the rooms a little shabby, the pool and areas surrounding the pool a little shabby, etc.

The good parts was an absolutely decent breakfast - much better than I would have expected and friendly but very busy staff - particularly at the reception. It could take a while to get to the front of the line, but if you timed it in the evening, odd hours, etc it worked out. Pretty much par for the course for a hotel that has a lot of checking in and out of families (in a hurry).

As mentioned - think the whole place needs a refurbishment, although restaurant, gym, etc. were all nice. The one "no no" was that in front of our building entrance some of the tiles were broken with missing pieces with the resulting very sharp edges. For obvious reasons that doesnt go well with bare little feet running around. Ill take the peeling paint and accept it - but broken tiles should be fixed immediately.

That being said - we had a great stay though with the main purpose of course to go and have fun at Port Aventura. If you are there during high season - highly recommend you spend the 12 Euro for a Aventura Max pass - its half price when staying at the resorts associated with Port Aventura. It gives you one entrance to all the major rides and saves you loads of time.

Port Aventura is absolutely great and we will go back next time we are in the area. Ill also venture that we stay in one of the associated hotels, but not the Caribe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Checked in for 2 nites / 2 rooms on 16 Sept. Cost 461 Euros including breakfast, car park & 3 days full access to PortAventura for 4 pax. Minus point – free wireless are only accessible in the main building area.

Hotel: It took us 4 hours to drive from Anglet, France to Hotel Caribe Resort in Salou. The hotel consist of 14 two-story buildings each with its own Caribbean theme. All building’s exterior looked clean & new. Minus point however being the main reception area, the car park & hotel restaurants are like about 150m away from the guest rooms.

Pool: The hotel has a beautiful cool lagoon pool surrounded by a white sandy beach and leafy palm trees, a children's pool and an indoor pool in the Wellness Centre complex.

Room: The standard double room is HUGE! Plenty of room/space to run around & throw clothes all over… I like!! :D And I got a room with a picturesque view. The balcony overlooked the sandy white beach lagoon pool. I can see the highest point of Sharmala. And not forgetting beautiful sunset & sunrise. Siighhhh…. Nice. :p

In-room bathroom + toilet: The area is big. Separate toilet, separate shower & separate SPA tub! After a whole full day at the theme park, a 30 minutes soak in hot water with water pressure hitting u at the sore area… aahhhhh…. It did feel nice & somehow rejuvenate u a lil.

Staffs: Not all speaks English. But the ones I have contact with does. And they are all frenly, at ease and well-informed. Minus point – there should be a sign to inform guests that counter check-out is not necessary. I queued for 30 minutes (bcoz there was a big goup checking in) before I was verbally informed.

Activity: It’s a theme park hotel with PortAventura being 10 minutes’ walk / less than 5 mins tram ride away! So there’s things to do every day and the hotel does have a daily indoor activities plan out for the family with kids as well.

Convenience: There’s tons of restaurants, shops, bars, pubs within walking distance after the resort main entrance/exit. So anything & everything are all within reach!

Room Tip: Get a room in the building that is the closest to the main building for convenience & shorter wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

we have stayed here twice and i loved both times the rooms are lovely and clean and if you get a top floor you get a lovely balcony if not you get a little patio which is a little harder with younger kids if they keep running off. the pool areas are gorgeous the man made beach is beautiful always easy to get loungers and parasols the food is nice nothing spectacular but everyone happy the little train brings you to and from the park it's a shame the fast passes are no longer free with the hotel stay but they can be bought a little cheaper than at the parks . the hotel is not far from the town center or the beach about a 10 / 15 minute walk so all in all this hotel is perfect peaceful and relaxing during the day but close to all the action would def stay again :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We've been to Salou before but nearer the beach, so we booked the hotel caribe after reading fabulous reviews about it. After having a week there I can honestly say the hotel, dining, staff, entertainment, rooms and the pool were all outstanding. Being so close to the park and a 10 minute walk to the beach means there's always something to do. We'd definetly book this hotel again (our kids want to go back next year). All in all we had a brilliant holiday and the weather was great too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a combined flight/hotel/theme park package for a quick 3 day trip to PortAventura in Spain.

Having stayed at on-site theme park hotels in the USA, my initial reaction was that the hotel was more "cheap & cheerful" rather than the 4* rating claimed on the website. However, there was actually nothing to worry about as the rooms were a generous size, clean and the staff all very polite and helpful.

We paid for half board and to be honest you would be mad not to pay the little bit extra over the B&B price because the food was very good indeed with a large range for both breakfast and dinner. Drinks prices were fine both in the restaurant and the bar.

The grounds appeared to be well maintained and free wi-fi was available in communal areas of the hotel at no extra charge. It is only a short 10 minute walk to the gates of PortAventura but there is also a free bus every 15-20 minutes or so.

Overall we were very happy with the hotel and whilst not quite up to the standard of something like the Royal Pacific at Universal Studios in Florida (which is 4*), it is also far less expensive! We would definitely stay at this hotel again although I would be tempted to stay in one of the hotels that has direct access to the park.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms (3rd floor) will be quieter as you can hear people moving about in rooms above when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to PortAventura Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Caribe

Address: Rambla del Parc s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, come to an oasis of peace where you do not have to lift a finger for yourself, providing you with the opportunity to recover some of the adrenaline expended in PortAventura Park. Enjoy the serenity, white sands and freshwater of one of Europe's largest man-made beaches, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens that will transport you to a faraway tropical island. Become acquainted with this magnificent 4-star resort, a perfect combination of fun, sun, beach and tranquillity at the heart of the Costa Dorada. Complete the experience with an ample choice of gastronomic delights, unlimited access to the PortAventura theme park with admission included throughout your stay, and an extensive programme of sporting activities with special offers and rates available at associated golf courses. Visit the Wellness Centre & Spa, where you will be looked after and spoiled, making your holiday the ideal opportunity to restore energy and vitality. So what are you waiting for? Grab your sun lounger and dedicate your holidays to peaceful relaxation and enjoyment. Let yourself drift away and take it easy, with direct access to one of the best theme parks in Europe. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribe Resort
Caribe Hotel Salou
Hotel Caribe Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PortAventura Hotel Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.