We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Las Vegas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Las Vegas Hotel to your Saves list
Las Vegas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alfonso V, No 7, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked our hotel and flights independently. On arrival the hotel had no record of our booking, resulting in 15 minutes of the staff looking at our paperwork and ringing the booking agent, but offering us no information or reassurance. We spent this whole period worrying about whether there was even a room for us. We found the reception staff pretty rude, they never looked you in the eye. Not a good first impression. Then we were asked to pay extra for nternet connection, not what we expect from a 4* hotel! Luckily there was a room for us, but we didn't get our requested preference of a Room on a high floor and pool view, presumably as they never had our booking. Unfortunately for us we were at the back of the hotel, overlooking an ugly hotel with wads of toilet paper stuck all over it!

The room is pretty basic, the beds are hard, and the Walls are thin, so you can only pray you dont have noisy neighbours.

The reason I titled this style over substance is because the communal areas of the hotel look really nice, but the sun loungers are rock hard and totally uncomfortable. I saw a lady on a Lilo on the lounger, a good idea! Or like us, choose to sit on the terrace chairs which have cushions. Or go down to the beach which is so close and the sea was warmer than the freezing swimming pool anyway!

We stayed half board but only ate in the hotel 2 evenings, we didn't like the canteen feel. It isn't a pleasurable eating experience and the food options were hit and miss, it had a good salad bar though. They have an early and late dinner slot, we were given 8.30. But i dont know how strict it is as we didn't go bang on the time and were usually a little earlier, which was never a problem. However, the restaurant staff like the reception staff were rude. The main man took our room key and just threw it down on a table. The breakfast selection was ok. I imagine the restaurant and pool areas get very busy in peak season but weren't too bad in September.

The bar was pretty expensive. We did bring some food and drinks in with us from nearby shops and no one noticed. We just kept them in our bag and weren't obvious about it. The location of this hotel is really good and it does look a lot nicer than many others in the area.

The entertainment staff were friendly, but we didn't take part in any of it so I can't comment on that.

On checkout day we used the luggage room and shower room, which was great for us. However, as with everything at this hotel there was an extra charge for towels for the shower room. The service and extra charges at this hotel are not fitting of a 4*.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    152
    49
    12
    15
See reviews for
120
198
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Had the best holiday but unfortunately that was nothing to do with this hotel. We had an AWFUL stay in June. We got a room with a view of a tree with the dirty street behind it. We are a couple in our mid twenties the hotel was full of 60+ year olds and people that go to the same hotel every year. We felt intimidated by these people walking around like the hotel was theirs, pushing past and being generally rude. Treated us like dirt. The amount of rules in the hotel spoiled any kind of fun you might have. No inflatables in the pool, I can't swim so I couldn't go in. No swimwear in the hotel, so if youre sunbathing and need to loo you need to get fully dressed each time. Dinner is at an exact time you can't be late, assigned seating so you can't sit where u want. We are the least fussiest people we've stayed in hostels and not complained but this hotel was dreadful. It was stunning to look at but everyone in it were just horrible. Will never go back. You know it's not good when you're planning your review whilst still on your holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just back from here after a weeks stay half board. hotel is in a great location. close to beach, pubs, restaurants, shops etc. we were at the back of the hotel which was quite noisy and didn't get much sun but for all the time we were in the room, and by the time we get back at night the noise didn't bother us.
when we walked in it was really nice. rooms very clean, quiet hotel. 3 pools to choose from, one round the side is nice and quiet.
food at restaurant was average. eat in 2 nights but eat out every other night. I would recommend the Guinness tavern just up the road for food it was great. Also Christys Irish Bar just up round the corner was great at night. went here every night.
would definitely come back here again. great for the price we paid and very central.

Room Tip: preferably if your looking for not much noise, ask for a front room. main pool during day has games...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and close to everything. Food was excellent very friendly staff can't wait to go back.only 15 minutes from airport. Went to Barcelona for a day only €15 return this was a great holiday and would recommend it to young and old brilliant for family's loads to do and not expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just completed a 10 day holiday – 2 adults plus for ‘older’ children – aged 21, 18, 17, 14. In summary it’s an excellent hotel and Salou suited the needs of the children ideally. To be honest the hotel suits all age groups and as long as you are not looking for a cultural holiday then I would recommend the hotel to anyone. Quite a variety of nationalities, no stag or hen groups, quite a lot of middle to more senior aged couples, not a big number of families with young children. When we’ve been on other holidays we’ve tended to look at hotels we walk past that we are not staying at with envy – this time we felt we were at the one others wanted to be at. To be more detailed the rooms are fine, the cleaning regular, and the food is absolutely fine. We did half board and there was plenty of selection for both breakfast and dinner. I would strongly recommend going for the later sitting for dinner rather than joining the large troop that appear bang on 7pm for when it opens. You are likely to be allocated the 7 pm sitting but speak kindly to the Maitre d’ on the first evening and he’ll change your time. We didn’t do a package – we booked the rooms through Alpha rooms, and the flights direct with Ryanair, and I reckon it worked out a lot cheaper than packages and meant we could choose our dates rather than being stuck with a 7, 10 or 14 day package.

So the downsides of the hotel need to be put in to perspective of it overall being a good place to stay. The biggest downside is the temperature of the pool – as in too cold. We were expecting to have a balance between being poolside and being on the beach, but we ended up abandoning staying by the pool. Haven’t seen many other comments to mention this, but was expecting it to at least be comparable to the sea. The evening entertainment, as long as it’s not raining, is located at the end of the outside balcony area of the bar. It means that only the first few sets of seats can see much of what is going on. For instance for the Flamenco show you ideally need to see the dancers feet – that was not possible for most. And for the more popular shows there is very little seating. The level of helpfulness of the reception staff is very mixed and you end up waiting to make sure you get one of the better ones. Their knowledge of local facilities is very mixed, and the tour operators’ folders are fairly basic. The actual location of the hotel is excellent for the tourist end of the town and the beach, and bus stops for tours, Tarragona, and Barcelona are very nearby. One recommendation on airport transfers – if you have a large group like we had then don’t book in advance as a lot of the taxis seat more than 4 and are a lot cheaper than the online offerings. Takes about 20 minutes. Also from a time point of view it’s well worth doing taxi rather than Plana bus or your organized transfer. For 6 of us was 31euros one way. For return home we just went down to the main taxi rank which is near the hotel a few hours before departing and agreed with one of the taxis to come and pick up at our nominated time.

Can’t see any general entries for the resort so a couple of comments on that….. Live music was quite thin on the ground – but if the Wiley Boys are playing at Christy’s then you should have a great night. It’s ranked No. 1 for nightlife for good reason. Official Tourist office has to be one of the most unhelpful places ever. Do your research before leaving home. If you want a more traditional town then Tarragona is well worth visiting by bus, and much better restaurant selection than Salou. Get lost in the little lanes near the Cathedral, but don’t plan to use the beach. Hire bicycles in Salou and ride to Cambrils on the totally flat cycle path – read the restaurant reviews for Cambrils and choose one for lunch – we did Montserrat and was excellent. Don’t bother with train to Barcelona – buses are as quick. There are lots of Plana offices trying to sell you packages – they aren’t interested in just selling normal Plana bus tickets, but you just need the normal buses to go to Barcelona. The resort is very popular with Russians and a lot of Russians work in places like ticket offices and restaurants and speak little English. It’s not a problem, just an observation. Was amazed at the quality and variety of products in the shops in Salou – really awful. Tarrangona so much better. And some things are hard to find – decent toiletries, and there are no electrical goods like cameras. Most of these negatives are small niggles, and on balance Salou is a really safe choice for a good holiday, and Las Vegas is a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location, service... veeery small pool but hotel is located very close to the sea, to shops)) Perfect place for short vacation. Very close to POrtAventura-) If you are going to Tarragona or another city you can use also bus. Bust station in 30 m from the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 2 weeks, mid August 2013. Very well located, near beaches, bars and shops. Very clean. Staff friendly and efficient. Excellent pool/s. Great rooms and communal areas and good quality evening entertainment. Food was very good, as was service. Deserves its 4 star status. Only slight downside is that the walls seem a bit thin and its easy to be kept awake by neighbours who are noisy. Very much enjoyed trips to Barcelona by coach (about an hour and a half away) and loved Tarragona (half hour away). Best tip I can give is don't bother hiring a car. Public transport is great. It is very hard to park a car in Salou. A lot of them were damaged. We were lucky enough to witness an excellent fireworks display on Salou beach. Memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Vegas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Vegas Hotel

Address: Calle Alfonso V, No 7, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#14 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Vegas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Las Vegas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Vegas Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Vegas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.