We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Oasis Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Oasis Park to your Saves list
Best Oasis Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Carles Buigues 46-48, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 98 Hotels in Salou
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We’ve just returned from a short break at this hotel: 4 days all-inclusive. We wanted a cheap break and this is what we got. Although the hotel represents good value for money - we got a very cheap deal - we won’t be rushing back.

We went at the end of the season when the hotel was getting ready to shut down. The all inclusive poolside bar was closed, and the night time entertainment consisted of some old folks ballroom dancing.

Our fourth floor room had been renovated and was absolutely fine, with maids coming in every day to clean and make the beds. However, the rest of the hotel was in need of renovation and looked pretty jaded; but that’s how I’d describe Salou in general.

The food was also ok – no better and no worse than any other hotel-buffet food we’ve had. We ended up eating out quite a lot though: not because there was anything wrong with the food but there’s only so much buffet food you can eat.

It was the first time we’ve done all-inclusive and I don’t think we’ll be doing it again after this experience. The idea of unlimited food and drink seems appealing, but is it really unlimited? We felt like second rate citizens, with the ‘paying’ guests getting the better stuff and us getting the cheap rubbish. For example, some 'paying' guests ordered a jug of sangria. It was made up freshly and served in glasses. When we asked for a jug of sangria, we were refused a jug and had to make do with some pre-prepared rubbish served in plastic cups. We tried various spirits, which were mostly vile and most of which ended up being thrown away.

Therefore, while I can’t say the hotel was brilliant, I can’t say it was awful either. You pay for what you get, and the staff were friendly enough.

One last thing: I’ve come home with twenty two insect bites and do wonder if I got them in the hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    190
    143
    70
    71
See reviews for
243
141
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Returned on 11th October, hotel rooms spotless, clean towels and linen, plenty of choice at mealtimes with a chef cooking crepes and omlettes at breakfast and other meats and fish at
lunch and evening. Bar and restaurant staff were polite, all in all very good value for the money and we would return. Guests at the hotel were a good mixture of Spanish , French and Dutch people rather than just English.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel room was very nice, clean and modern. Good for a 3 star hotel. Food was good with plenty of choice. There was some entertainment every evening. Bar staff very nice as were restaurant staff. Bar area is still to be renovated, especially floor area around tool tables

Room Tip: 3rd floor upwards overlooking pools very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Returned today from the hotel and wanted to put my review on. Not too dissimilar to alot of other recent reviews - not the worst but certainly not the best.

On arrival our room wasnt ready but to be fair the reception gave us our wristbands so although we couldnt unpack at least we could get a drink and a bite to eat which having been travelling since 4am was appreciated. This is different to other hotels where previously we have been declined food as our service didnt start until 2pm!!

The room we were given was unfortunately on the first floor so wasnt an upgraded room. And yes it was basic and I think we too possibly had some bug bites. However as others have said the room was cleaned daily (except when we were in the room due to the rain!), and towels and bedding changed regularly. We had a room on the poolside and I can understand what people were saying about the noise in the evening. We had a decent bathroom and three beds in the room so the room could of accommodated three people happily. We had a couple of problems in that there werent sockets in the room to plug my other half's medical device into, and the power went off. However any problems we did have were solved quickly.

The staff in general at the hotel were helpful and friendly. When we had any issues they were resolved quickly and any queries we had were answered quickly and friendly. The bar staff were friendly and the staff in the restaurant polite although stressed. And all the staff understood basic english which was good as most people seemed to think they should only speak english in a spanish hotel. A little spanish goes a long way with the staff.

The food was in general very good. Yes there were chips, sausages and burgers at every meal. But there were also pasta dishes, fish dishes and meat dishes alongside show cooked fish and meat. Three out of the seven nights there were great displays of seafood on offer: prawns the one night, mussels another and whole salmon you could help yourself to. There were also salads on offer at every meal (including breakfast)! and omelettes and pancakes cooked to order for breakfast. Desserts wise there were ice creams / cakes / fresh fruit. We found something to eat at every meal. The hotel were also very good at providing a packed lunch the one day we went to Port Aventura which had loads in it - bread / cooked meats / apples / plums / water / biscuits, and they also laid out an early breakfast on our day of departure. However it isnt really that easy to eat ham salad and roquefort blue cheese at six in the morning!

Drinks at the bar were for an all inclusive superb, compared to what we have had at four star hotels in Turkey. Not in our opinion watered down and while they werent the top brands you had options of gin, martini, bacardi, brandy, baileys, vodka, beer, sangria, wine. And the measures were substantial. And although local brands the spirits didnt take the roof off your mouth as some have done in Turkey. Would of bought a bottle of the baileys to bring home but it was more expensive than the varieties you get at home.

The pool area was a little cramped and would be horrendous at the height of summer but for the end of september was okay. The downside was the water in the pool was freezing so wasnt encouraged to go in.

If you werent all inclusive there were loads of bars around the area however as for us the all inclusive was okay we didnt go out that much. If we went back we would probably go half board and go out a little more, as the entertainment was to be honest non existent in the hotel!

All in all we got what we paid for. If we had been there longer I think it would have been a different story but for what we wanted the hotel fitted the bill and if it came up on a website again we would book it.

Room Tip: high floor request would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had read reviews so went with an open mind. Our first impression on arrival was not good. We were not welcomed to the hotel and kept waiting while a private conversation was finished. Bear in mind we had had a long journey and were tired. When we were given a room card we received no local information. The room was not what we had requested and was overlooking the busy road and litter strewn flat roof. We were told to come to reception the next morning and perhaps they could find another room overlooking the pool. Glad to say another room was found on the other side of the hotel over the pool and this was acceptable. The positive points about our stay were - the room was spotless everywhere. The cleaning staff I would rate as excellent. The staff in the restaurant and bar were polite and helpful and work very hard. The food was, I thought, very good. Good choice and nicely presented. Could not fault it for a 3 star hotel. We were staying 'all in' and the variety of drinks available was good. We enjoyed the entertainment. Several acts were particularly good - Queen tribute and flamenca. On the topic of reception, I must mention that on departure a different member of reception staff was friendly and very helpful - made a good last impression.

Room Tip: choose poolside rooms and email hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

At first sight it looked ok,rooms were small but looked clean.How wrong we were!!Buy the end of our wks holiday (1 day left to return home) we were sleeping with a bed full of bed bugs!.Unfortunatly for us the bugs and fleas came home with us and it's taken us another 4/5days to fully get rid!! My husband needed to see the doctor on returning home as he was totaly covered and the bites were infected....Holiday and after a complete nightmare!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

this my first review so bare with me. we stayed here for a 7 night break. on arrival we were greeted with '' hello we have a problem with your room''. basically they had messed up our and other peoples rooms by over booking. HOW??? they said they had a different type room available and would show us it. if we were happy they would give us a fridge, safe and upgrade us to all inclusive. well the room was at the far end of the hotel next to a storage room/fire exit. we entered to cream coloured faded old room. balcony over looked a huge compressor unit that was noisy. we point blank refused the room. so they said we would have the correct room the following day. which meant we had to unpack some gear, then check out by 10am and recheck back in at 1pm the following day. NOT a good start. The next day when we got the correct room we were very happy. the room had adjustable aircon not too loud, balcony, 2 beds, 32'' lcd tv, fantastic bathroom shower and lots of space. everything was clean very clean. towels and bedding were sorted every day. reception staff and bar staff were faultless. gave us tips and advice on where to go etc.

food subject...... hmm well chips. lots of chips. breakfast consisted of chips, oily eggs, cheap hot dog sausages, bacon, processed scrambled egg etc etc. it was ''ok'' we made do. sauces were hit and miss some mornings they were out some mornings no signs any where. toast machine either never toasted or burnt the bread. the juice machines were fine. plates and glasses clean.

tea. ill echo other comments. it was abit mad for tea big ques at 7pm and before and i mean big. the minute doors open people just swarmed in. only 1 chef cooking specials ( the hamburgers were terrible). the food buffet was similar to morning eggs, chips, sausages, pasta, salad etc deserts were jelly, buns and the like. no simple cakes or out though no fudge cake or similar.

on subject of wi-fi... none existent got it few times and it was locked with no one knowing the code for it.

no daytime entertainment, evening entertainment start quite late 9pm-11pm all in spanish.

3 pools of reasonable size and clean. no where near enough sun beds for hotel size of 600+ people.

overall though we WILL/WOULD stay again but only as bed and breakfast as there was some fantastic on the door step cafes which provided fantastic USA type foods or good old fish and chips.

final note on this i think if your room was above entertainment area or near the ally way sleeping before 11.30pm might be hard due to more night life that starts up

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Oasis Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Oasis Park

Address: Avda. Carles Buigues 46-48, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Oasis Park 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the tourist heart of Salou, just 10min. walk from Playa Levante and capellans beaches. Comfortable rooms with fully fitted bathroom, balcony, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, barcafeteria and kid’s play area. Terrace with swimming pool (for adults and children), children’s area and gym. Day and nightentertainment program. Optional services: spa, massage, hairdresser’s beauty salon and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Oasis Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Oasis Park Hotel Salou
Oasis Park Hotel Salou
Salou Oasis Park Hotel
Oasis Park Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Oasis Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.