We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, Would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Monica Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Monica Playa to your Saves list
Santa Monica Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Falset 3, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Salou
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it, Would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed in the Santa Monica Playa with my boyfriend for a week 23rd July. We stayed half board.
On arrival the reception booked us in very swiftly with no problems and we went straight to our room which was on the first floor with a pool view.
The room was a twin but we pushed the beds together and was perfect size for 2 with a bath/shower room which was well set out. Balcony area had a table and chairs, ideal for sitting out on a night
Food was perfectly fine. Breakfast was either toast, cereal croissants, meats and cheese or bacon sausage beans and eggs.
Lunch had a selection of 3 or 4 meals which are all tasty, even if it looked a little different to what we are used to.
Main meals are the same as lunch really but with a chef freshly preparing something e.g., fish ,roast meats ,pasta dishes.
The room was cleaned every day and the pool area is cleaned every morning before you are allowed out. All the floors are jet washed.
After reading other reviews I can’t complain about the noise from outside, if we went to bed before midnight you could hear the entertainment by the pool area but it never kept us awake. Never heard any noise from the local bars.
Hotel location is perfect if you want to be in the centre of it all. Slightly steep hill up from the bars but it is avoidable if you walk round.
All in all a great holiday and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    46
    22
    27
See reviews for
47
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

my husband and i have been to this hotel a couple of times and we had a great holiday,rooms are nice and clean ,the staff are freindly ,
the hotel is situated near all the bars and shopping areas ,pool area was cleaned everyday spoilt a little by the mad rush to grab a sun bed ,people actually que up first thing in the morning to get there sunbed so i didnt bother ,but other than thata really nice holiday going back in sept this year cant wait get out of all this rain

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We arrived for an Easter break with my friend and our 3 daughters aged 14, 13, 10. We stayed 1 night and we moved ourselves the next day to another hotel.

We arrived late at night and when we discovered that our rooms were on the first floor and that the locks were broken on the balcony doors we asked to be moved because of the security. The hotel was so noisy with groups of young people running the corridors banging on doors and security had to come and stay on the floor after we complained. We have both travelled a lot and we have stayed in Salou before but this hotel was just the dreadful. There is a night club beside the hotel and there ws a lot of noise in the street outside the hotel. The area that the hotel is in would give cause for concern with regards to security.

If you enjoy noise then this is the place for a holiday!


We booked through Travel Republic who were absolutely no help at all and infact we had to pay to move to a sister hotel in Cambrils.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed for one week at the santa monica on half board basis 2 adults and 2 children. Booked a suite which was clean, spacious and comfortable. The room was cleaned and towels were changed every day. The beakfasts and dinners were pleasant with a good selection provided and there is a microwave available if the food isn't hot enough. We only used the pool once but it was a good size with a nice terrace area. The reception and bar staff were pleasant and helpful, and we didn't have any problems with the hotel itself. It's a very short walk to the beach and the main street, and the little bus/train stop is only 2 minutes away to get around, or it's a 15/20 min walk to portaventura park. The recommendation I would make to anyone staying here is just to buy ear plugs, the noise levels from outside are ridiculous, the music from the nearby bars isn't very loud it's the noise from the drunks shouting and bawling in the street until 6am that kept us awake, but purchasing earplugs from the local chemist for less than 2 euros sorted that out. The hotel wasn't particularly busy while we were there but there was a mixture of nationalities and everyone seemed to be catered for. We only went down for the entertainment once during our stay which was a singer which was fine, there were a couple of big football matches on and there wasn't any entertainment on those nights but there was music on in the bar, and the kids entertainer works til 10pm 6 nights a week.
I would stay at this hotel again if was going back to salou as it was good value and in a good location, I'd just make sure to remember the ear plugs!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We travelled here in the Ocober half term when salou seemed to be closing for the winter. We originally booked another hotel which had closed for winter and found the resort 2 be on the quiet side. However, we found some fantastic walks and walked into cap salou and cambrils. The hotel was very clean but the restaurant didnt open in the evening till 7.30 which I thought was quite late an also the food was sometimes cold and repetetive. The head waiter was also rude as he tried to tell us where to sit! I was suprised at this been as though the hotel was half empty there was loads of room in the restaurant! The entertainment was bad, it was bingo so we went out every night. Also the drinks behind the bar were awful served in disposable plastic cups and I was grateful we didnt go all inclusive as we found a cheap supermarket round the corner for drinks, and also the drinks in the bars were cheap. The staff on reception were ok and got us our room early as we arrived early in the morning and were not supposed to check in till 2pm, they also let us stay for an extra lunch for free! I will return to salou again but would try another hotel though where the food is nicer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Arrived after travelling from Barcelona airport to a room which was basic, howver looking out the window the area looked quite dodgy, opening the balcony door my partner discovered the door didn't close properly, the hotel receptionist said she would send someone up to fix it... n hour later no one arrived, feeling uncomfertable we decided to upgrade the room - this cost us 100 euros, however we were satisfiued with thr room, much cleaner and alot more space.

Every night the nightclub beside the hotel 'Kiss' would be banging music, sometimes we slept through the noise of the drunk people leaving between 12 - 6 am each night. We also heard alot of traffic noise, it sounded like cars racing, the bin lorry arrived one night around 2am, must have been stopped in the middle of the road o causing a disturbance as all we could hear was cars tooting .

The food was horrible, breakfast was your normal bacon, egg, cerial etc. Howver the bacon and dausage was never cooked properly, making us feel quite ill! Te evening meals never tasted as good as they looked, i ususally suck to chrisps. The food was always freezing no matter what time we arrived, other guests agreed with this. Thankfully there was a microwave!!!

Entertainement was ok, karaoke/bingo although it didn't start to late and our room was situated above the bar therfore we could hear the music all night!! The bar itslef didn't have much of a drink selection, and if you go ll inclusive you don't get a pint you get half a pint in a plastic cup.

The location was ok - we noticed alot of 'gangsters' out at night, my boyfriend was offered weed twice in the street!

The hotel staff weren't the most helpful the women on reception who was pregnant at the time didn't seam to care that out door was broken when we arrived, however there was a man that we usually seen in the evenings who was very kind, he rang us taxi's when needed and looked after our room key - very helpful! We alos had alot of help from the man who does night duty at the hotel. Our transefer which was with resort hoppa didn't turn up, the driver turned his phone off, the man who worked through the night was brilliant - he got us a taxi and helped as much as possible.

Salou itself is beautiful, the hotel was situated close to the beach and bus stop we loved our holiday and tried to put the downs aside, we met some lovey people staying at the hotel and are sad to be back home!

I would recomend the Las Vegas Hotel if you are planning a holiday in Salou as it looked beautiful from the outside, i would also advise that you check out the Lunnatic bar situated at the sea front, its a beautiful bar, good for ice cream, food and drinks! The staff are very friendly a nd kind, they helped us alot and always put the customer first!

We loved Salou and looking at other hotels the Santa Monica really wasn't the worst, customer care and food needs improving!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed in this hotel because the hotel we originally planned to stay in had closed down for the winter. The hotel was lovely and clean, rooms a good size, food was okay could have been warmer, unfortunately the staff were not nice at all, the head waiter was creepy he short changed my neice then tried to come onto her. The hotel itself is across the road from bars that stay open until the early hours of the morning and outside the hotel must be the meeting place for every teenager in Salou at the weekends, very very noisy. All in all had a great week at this hotel, would i ever stay at this hotel again probably not but only because of the noise.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Monica Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Playa

Address: Calle Falset 3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Monica Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Monica Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Playa Salou
Santa Monica Playa Hotel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Monica Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.