We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Festival Village

Save Saved
You added Festival Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Festival Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de la Costa 61, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 98 hotels in Salou
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We got moved here from the villa marina as they wanted to change our room after 1 night and with 2 boys (6&1) was not practical, so we got moved here to there sister hotel. Best thing we done, rooms where large with great balcony. Food was great, the guy in the snack area works his butt off and his food is always great. Pool was great, my 2 boys loved it, was hard to get a bed some days but was worth the hassle. Would defo go bk

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks for the FIVE STAR review. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you would return. We do hope to see you sometime in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    309
    120
    42
    53
See reviews for
599
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were a group of 6 adults and one 14 year-old. We had one 1 bedroomed apartment and one 2 bedroomed apartment. They were both spacious and very clean. The apartments were air-conditioned which was a boon at night. We could not fault them in any way.
When we arrived we were greeted by the manager who told us about the hotel and the surrounding area. We were given our bands by the receptionist who was very helpful as well.
The food in the hotel was probably the best we have ever had at an all-inclusive. It was geared to British taste.
All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone especially those with children.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
YEEEEE HAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!! Another FIVE STAR review. Thanks a million. Its really motivating to the whole team to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you would have no problem reccomending us. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Travelled to Festival Village on 25th june 2013 for a 2 week holiday with my wife, 3 kids , friends and their 2 kids.
Holiday nearly got off to a disasterous start when I realised I had left my bag containing money, passports and tickets on board the transfer coach.
Informed the manager Ivanio, who was there to greet us and he was immediatly on the phone, bag was returned 10 mins later.
Was very impressed by Ivanio throughout the 2 weeks, he was always available, always smiling and happy to chat and if you had a problem, he sorted it straight away.
Our apartment was huge with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large balcony facing the pool.
Whilst some of the decor was a bit dated, the rooms were spotless and well cleaned every day.
The food in the resturant was excellent, well cooked and varied throughout the holiday. The snacks served throughout the day were well recieved by kids and adults alike.
Special mention must go to the staff who were always smiling and efficient.
Though its a smallish pool and we had read in some reviews about the difficulty in obtaining sunbeds, we had no problems whatsoever concerning this. A few times we wentto the pool mid morning and found beds no problem.
The night time entertainment , whilst not 5 star was , most of the time, quite good. The team of Michael, Daniel, Amy and Charlotte worked their backsides off and were always good fun.
Dawn, who ran the kids club was a little ray of sunshine and smiled all day every day.
Although I like walking, realise that the location might not suit everyone. Local bus service is very good, taxis are not expensive and there is always the road trains to take you where you want to go.
Have no hesitation or reservations whatsoever in thoroughly recommending Festival Village for a good value, enjoyable family holiday

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks a million for the FIVE STAR review it really means a lot to us to know that you and your family had a great stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torry, aberdeen United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Been ti Salou 6 times and always stayed in med village... After reading the reviews before hand a was regretting booking festival village..this turned out to be one of the best holidays ever! On arrival was greeted by the friendly management and staff given our bands and keys etc.rooms are very spacious but cud be done with a little updating, had a few minor problems but the maintinence guy was up within 20 mins ti fix. kettles and hair dryers can be hired from reception for a 20 euro deposit. The restaurant serves fantastic food! caters for everyone and most importantly was always fresh and hot,there's also a snack bar which everything is cooked fresh so do expect a wee que the guy behind the snack bar is brill! he has banter with the kids n that and he makes a great toastie:)the thomas cook rep ( kirsty) is luvly any probs or issues she sorts out. entertainment at night was for all ages, starts off with kids disco then bingo etc entertainment team RJP are fantastic esp the guys from decades.pool area is clean but too small, ESP when they take inflatables out,my 4 year old nearly got pushed under it so had ti take her out I pool sunbeds are very scarce aswell says no reserving but as soon as I gates open at 9 there's a que! This didn't bother us to much though as had unlimited entry to aquopolis included in our holiday.theres a bus stop outside hotel that takes yi in ti Salou centre, uncle sams is defo worth a visit by far the best place ti eat in Salou.will defo be booking again for here my kids loved it as much as I did..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Many thanks for the positive review. It means lot to hear that you had a great stay with us especially as you mentioned that you usually stay at the 4* hotel nearby. Delighted to read that you enjoyed our food in particular. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Tyrone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just back (7th July) from 12 nights all-inclusive.Everyone works extremely hard at Festival Village to provide a great service: excellent food, very clean public areas, a super entertainments team. Great for families! I'd say it was perhaps a little more suited to families with younger children. I had 2 teenagers and a 10 yr old with me but the teens didn't participate in any activities (maybe mine are odd!) - developing the entertainments programme for the teenagers might be something for the team to consider. Some people had issues with sun loungers but I had no trouble at any time of the day finding a free sun-bed. Perhaps the guests themselves need to be a little more considerate - there was a strong tendancy for some guests to reserve multiple beds at 9am then not turn up for hours!! A land train stops outside the hotel (3E per adult & 1.50E per child) and is a lovely way to get around the area, even if you stay on for the full journey - it does a complete route so eventually takes you back to the hotel (less than 1 hr).

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. We have listened to feedback from our customers travelling with teenagers and have recently installed our outdoor football pitch with a view to getting the "older" kids involved. Delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and the entertainment and we do hope to welcome you and your family back with us sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at festival village last week on recommendation from friends, I wasn't disappointed!! On arrival we were greeted by the manager Ivanio, who was visible around the place most of the time, his hard working and friendly staff were always helpfull. Food was excellent, all inclusive was value for money. Struggled to find any real negatives about the place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks a million for the FIVE STAR review. Delighted to read that you couldnt find any negatives about the hotel and that you enjoyed our food. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

30th June - 7 July. We were a group of 5 girls aged 18. After reading many reviews on here, we weren't too sure what to expect and were feeling a little unsure about the place.

After returning, I don't know why there's a single bad review about this hotel, it's absolutely amazing! On arrival we were greeted by the manager who was always happy, helpful, friendly and joking with us. Each day he'd ask us how everyone was and how out day had been etc.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was spotless. The decor wasn't outdated like previous reviews have said. The rooms were large and both bathrooms were spacious. We were impressed with the size of the balcony and the table and chairs, you also have a maid on there to use for putting things out to dry. The living room is large with a dining room table and chairs and also 2 sofas (the sofa bed). The fridge kept our water freezing cold which was really good. The safe was large too. The maid service was excellent too.

The food was excellent. You're guaranteed to find something you like to eat here! Whether its from the snack bar or the main restaurant. Fresh fruit and baguettes are put out each day too.

All staff (including entertainment) were very helpful, and friendly! And always extremely happy! Had a great laugh with Michael working in entertainment and Fidel who worked behind the bar and in the restaurant.

The hotel and ground are kept absolutely spotless and clean. You're guaranteed to see the cleaners cleaning all day everyday!

Both beaches are gorgeous, plenty of shops and things to do. Would recommend a trip to Barcelona too which is only €19.95 return, on the bus!

Absolutely loved this place and definitely would return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMarinaSalou, Public Relations Manager at Festival Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks a million for the FIVE STAR review. We are delighted that your group of friends had a great stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Festival Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Village

Address: Carretera de la Costa 61, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#9 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Festival Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Rating: 3 KeysHotel with 128 rooms, outdoor swimming pool, buffet restaurant, bar, supermarket, laundry room. For children: children’s pool and play area. Sports: pool table, ping pong. Entertainment: entertainment program and games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Festival Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Village Hotel Salou
Festival Village Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Festival Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.