We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bar/ Tapas is Salou by far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Guaje - CLOSED

El Guaje
Caspe 3, local # 20, 43840 Salou, Spain
+(34)398400735
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Bar/ Tapas is Salou by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Read all the good reviews on Trip Advisor before we went and where very pleased when we found it. Was the best bar and food we had the whole time in Salou and the best value for money. The couple who run it were really friendly and give us advice on places to go.
Would recommend to anyone going to Salou.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best tapas in Salou!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

A great little bar with the best tapas in Salou. Very friendly and great value. Lovely food, wine and beer. Just make sure you finish your meal with a traditional Spanish shot. (Value is 5+). If in Salou make sure you track this little hidden gem down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best little place in Salou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We wanted tapas and a quiet evening away from the hustle and bustle and we certainly found it here. Tapas menu is small but perfect for choice. The food is amazing and all freshly cooked. It's great value for money as 3 tapas dishes and 6 glasses of wine come to less than €25. Can't wait to go back again. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic Tapas, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were staying in an apartment near the restaurant and just stumbled across it, the couple who run it were very attentive, the food was really good authentic Spanish tapas with plenty of choice and really nice calamari, chorizo etc, the good thing is there is no " typical British tourist" food served there so if you are looking for pie and chips etc then it would be best to give it a miss, we enjoyed it so much we went back, the drinks were not expensive
In my opinion one of the best restaurants in Salou and better than The Petit Tapas restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
706 helpful votes 706 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just like to mention the excellent tapas that El Guaje offer. Everybody has mentioned that you get free tapas with a drink but i should also add that the tapas are beautiful full of flavour's and spices really top notch.Not only is the food first class they even give you tasters of there menu free with each drink you buy and you won't find anywhere else in Salou that offer's that service with such low prices,sit back and enjoy EL GUAJE

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Guaje also viewed

Salou, Costa Dorada
 
Salou, Costa Dorada
Salou, Costa Dorada
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Guaje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.