We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews and go there...........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Cap Salou

Save Saved
You added Best Cap Salou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Cap Salou
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala de la Font 1, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 98 hotels in Salou
Chelmsford, Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews and go there...........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We booked here despite the bad reviews, and were glad we did - we had stayed in Salou itself before and visited Cap Salou, which we preferred because it was less of a 'Club 18-30' location.

The hotel was far better than we had been led to expect, and we really enjoyed our stay.

That's not to say there were'nt some down points, but I'll get to those shortly.

On the plus side -

The rooms were perfectly adequate, the beds fine and the rooms cleaned every day at a sensible time (with one exception).

Yes, you can hear some minor noise from other rooms, but we find that is the case with a lot of continental hotels - there was certainly not enough noise to keep us awake (and our room was immediately above the bar/lounge)

The food was OK, with a different selection of meats/fish each day (even if the salads etc were a bit samey) - breakfast was excellent. Only bit of fun we had was with the grill chef insisting that what was patently lamb was really turkey.

Bar was cheap and the happy hour even more so (2 for 1) - San Miguel at €2.30 for example at normal prices.

We found bar, restaurant and reception staff all very helpful (especially a chinese lady on reception who was exceptionally helpful with the one minor problem we had with our room card)

Good bus services to Reus, Tarragona, Salou, Cambrils, Barcelona within a 5 minute walk

The small cove below the hotel is very safe for children and non-swimmers, and there is a bar there as well - made a change from the pool...

Now the down sides -

The hotel could do with some renovation in parts (spa pool, general decor) and some might find the location at the bottom of the hill in Cap Salou an issue if they don't like hills, but it's not as bad as some have made out.

Seating in the restaurant can be a bit of lottery, especially at breakfast, but get in and find a seat first then go for your food - many people were getting food, then spending 5-10 minutes finding a table.

We were there mid-September and there was a change-round from the bar being down by the pool to upstairs in the main building, but the swap was done smoothly and efficiently with no real ill-effect to availability.

All-in-all, a perfectly good hotel, a very pleasant stay and excellent value for money

Go there!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    93
    89
    41
    39
See reviews for
157
73
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Immingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just came back from a stay at the Cap Salou which I was dreading because of the bad reviews. But I have to say that it was not bad at all. The rooms yes very basic but the maids kept it clean maybe not as clean as other rooms (spanish family rooms), the walls are very thin and light switches are a pain being so close to where you sleep. The food was typical of spainish hotels I thought. But never had anything cold or undercooked. The pool area is very cramped and the sunbeds are like sardines in a tin, you need to get up early to put towels on a bed because it does get very busy. The area around the Hotel Cap Salou is lovely I was so glad I was here and not in Salou. You had everything you needed (other bars for food and drink, Supermarket and little shops for gifts).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed at Best Cap Salou from the 6th to 10th of august 2010 and enjoyed our stay very much.
Because of the surroundings, wich were pretty steep and because that one in our group wasn´t in good shape physically to cope with it, we asked for a transfer to another Best hotel in the region, And a few days later we were invitet to move to another Best-hotel.
But we really enjoyed our stay at Best Cap Salou these few days. Our rooms were very clean and I don’t agree with other people who say that the rooms are outdated. Our room was very nice, with two 140 cm. beds, and the bathroom was very clean and the rooms were very comfortable.
I also would like to thank Angela and her staff in the reception for all their help. All the people in the reception were very helpful to us all the time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We were a bit worried about the hotel when we saw the reviews, but we found it was a lot better!
The reception area is clean and spacious and there are plenty of food/drink machines, aswell as pool tables and other games facilities.
The hotel rooms are cleaned regularly, and are basic but sufficient. The cleaners work hard and the room is always spotless when we get back in.
The restaurant is very busy, but the food is great! There is a large variety to choose from, and food is constantly being replaced with newly cooked food. There's a grill where they cook the food infront of you, and theres things like a salad buffet, and even a dessert buffet. The waiter service is very good in the restaurant, and the waiters also can help you in other places apart from just the restaurant.
There's a bar with indoor and outdoor seating, and they have an arcade room with lots of different machines, which is great for the children.
The pool is nice, its clean and theres quite a bit of room for swimming, but the indoor pool is not very good because the water isnt very warm and its very shallow.
The private beach is very safe and shallow, good fun for the kids. You can hire pedal boats with slides to take in the sea, right on the beach. The beach and the sea is quite clean.
The entertainment at the hotel isnt that great, but there are plenty of bars and restaurants outside the hotel. We regularly went to the ''Route 66'' bar and restaurant, the food is of good quality and the staff are lovely there. Also, just outside the hotel is a fair, with plenty of rides for small children, and games machines and other activities. There's a few dencent shops, and one supermarket.
Overall, great hotel, staff were quite helpful, nice place to enjoy your holiday.
Tips: The air conditioning works with ANY card, we used a Matalan card and it worked fine. Happy hour lasts for an hour an a half, and its a good time to get a few in. Buses are very frequent into Salou and Tarragona. Don't forget to book a excursion, well recommended! Not an english hotel, definately continental.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

hotel staff are not pleasant, our family room was not even cleaned when we arrived the last persons rubbish was still all over the room and the beds were not made, none of the amenities worked ie the gym equipment no activities for children during the day they only had a disco every night which my children got bored this hotel should only be a 2 star, the food was the same every night and not nice, i would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at Club Cap Salou in July 2010 and found the hotel a little bit out of the way!! It is alright for a quiet holiday if you don't want to be where any nightlife is.
The hotel could do with a good clean (bedrooms are out of date) and I found the bedroom we were staying in quiet dusty,however stayed in worse places
Overall I don't know if I will go to Cap Salou again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

we had a great time plenty to do in the area whoud recommend the train ride (the stop is right outside the hotel and takes you all the way up to portaventura theme park) there are loads of activitys on offer inside the hotel ranging from aquafit to waterpolo etc there is also a lot do outside of the hotel with games arcades and amusement parks if you are feeling peckish then try the smugglers bar which offers a wide variety of food the smugglers is also a english like bar that even gets english TV a fantastic holiday to enjoy throughout the year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Cap Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Cap Salou

Address: Cala de la Font 1, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Cap Salou 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just in front of the sea, in the tourist area of Cap Salou. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safedeposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, pizzeria from June to September, bar and snack-bar. Swimming pool (for adults and children) gym and children’s area. Optional services: parking, spa, indoor swimming pool, massage, internet corner, gift shop, hairdresser´s, tennis court and ping-pong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Best Cap Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Cap Salou Hotel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Cap Salou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.