We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Cap Salou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Cap Salou to your Saves list
Best Cap Salou
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cala de la Font 1, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel is extremely clean and all the staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. This hotel has its own private beach in its own private bay, which is located at the back of the hotel. Its own pool is large and well maintained, it also has a relaxing indoor spa type pool and a very small baby pool. We went half board, and the dinner menu changed every night with a huge variety of foods to suit all tastes. Breakfast was the same everyday. The only criticism would be that the kids club and nightly disco were in Russian. Nothing for English kids - and very few English families were there. But we headed out every night into the local pubs for drinks and entertainment.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool - which was brilliant, but there are only limited lifts, and with smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cap Salou, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear customers,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We like to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Your positive comments make us want to improve and they help us to serve you better. We take note about the kids club comment but on the other hand, children playing with other children from different nationalities could be an extra value for themselves.

We hope to see you soon again at our hotel

Kind regards

Miguel Castro
Director
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    119
    104
    43
    41
See reviews for
197
97
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is very clean and the maids are in every day , however the staff throughout the hotel are very disrespectful espically to the British and treat the Spanish and Germans etc with alot more Curtis , the dining room is horrible and busy with the worst restraunt staff ever , nothing but bad manners and dirty looks , the hotel is not for the British ... Infact there wasn't many here more Russians and Germans, the pool is too small and the good is rubbish , moral of this long story is do not come here I defenitly wouldn't recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cap Salou, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Daniel,
We regret that your expectations of our establishment have not been fully met. Similarly, we thank you that you have made your comments Despite the fact that the attention you received from reception and restaurant staff was not entirely to your liking. I appreciate that you highlight the importance of the good hard work carried out by the cleaning staff, to which I also give great importance I reiterate my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that has occasioned for the so earned holidays for you and your family. I remain at your disposal for whatever is needed.
Best regards.

Miguel Castro
Director
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Travelled to best cap salou hotel in June. When we arrived reception staff not very friendly, got to room not we expected my partner rang the number we were given to complain. The room was twin beds for four of us, the only problem was I took my 24 year old daughter and my partner had his 11 year old son not appropriate, we were not told this when we booked the holiday, my partner was told if he wanted a room for himself and 11 year old son it would cost 350 euros, money we did not have. Spoke to rep next day he said see what he could do, nothing was done.
The hotel was very clean, with maid service everyday, Restaurant staff not at all friendly if you never got out of the way trollies would bang into you. There is not much to do for children all entertainment in the hotel was mainly in Russian or Spanish, Not much out side of Hotel the only place we went to was the tapas bar at night which was ok. The Smugglers bar is a good bar for food very English. This hotel is not for English people I wish we would have been told this by our travel agent

Room Tip: have a room with terrace when you don't want to sit by pool you can sit on a big terrace outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cap Salou, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Kim
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Best Cap salou
I'm very sorry to here that you have had problems with the room occupamcy, but I think it is due to misinformation you have received. The rooms are composed byqueen size beds of 135 cm each and so is published to all touroperaters and it is specified that no extra bed is allowed.
The comment about the nationality of other customers is pure seasonal because the Spanish economy is not going very well at the present time as you probably knows, and for that reason there are less national clients which rooms we are be occupying by other nationalities.

Kind regards

Miguel Castro
Director
Hotel Best Cap Salou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

There we were, two welsh ladies hoping to enjoy a place we had last been to 5 years ago. Then it was brilliant, Crow's Nest was open and Kim was doing karaoke. That has all gone and everything has to finish at midnight! We cannot fault the staff in the hotel, they are all working under a lot of pressure from the rudeness of the russians. They bring beach bags into the restaurant and pile them up with food. They have cheap champagne for breakfast and pile their plates up with food, and then waste it. They are very rude to the staff, not to mention the other holidaymakers , who are in the minority. Bring back the germans and the french, more polite and good manners in the restaurant. They do not support the local businesses and would come into the local Tap House, sit there and not buy a drink. There were a few that were very friendly, but once again in the minority. I had my credit card stolen and local police did not want to know, so beware of eastern europeans impersonating police officers - very frightening! Apart from all that, hotel on the beach and weather fantastic. Route 66 brilliant also Sandy at the Knight's Inn.

Room Tip: Overlook the sea and dont have a room which has a large terrace outside because you will never have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cap Salou, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sue,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Best Cap Salou.
The comment about the Russian customers is pure seasonal because the Spanish economy is not going very well at the present time as you probably knows, and for that reason there are less national clients which rooms we are be occupying by other nationalities like British, French and Russian citizen
I sincerely hope that we see you at the Best Cap Salou again.
Kind regards

Miguel Castro
Director
Best Cap Salou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel was a bargain - we paid approx £60 each full board for 4 nights so I really wasn't expecting much. First impressions was that the hotel was a little dated but was super clean.

The rooms were of a average size and again very clean - it was a pity there was only news channels on the TV - I think a film channel would've been a nice touch as its a family hotel and a quiet resort (we went end May) and no hotel entertainment so we were all in bed by ten !

The hotels spa was ok if you had a cold day, it was suppose to be 5 euro's each but we didnt get charged.

The food was average, most dishes were luke warm so watch out when dishes are getting replaced as this will be the only chance that you get food fresh and hot. Meat dishes such as burgers, sausages, pate's etc were very poor quality however there was a chef who cooked fish and pieces of meat so the quality of these items were much better (fresh pancakes and omelettes for breakfast.)

The resort was a little secluded and quiet, the walk to Salou was too great for us (probably take about one hour ish and hilly) and the bus was pretty expensive - 3 euro's each way however I would recommend that you purchase a multi ride ticket from the Bus Plana office which cost 26 euros for 14 journeys)

Smugglers tavern across from the hotel offered lovely home cooked food and offered discount tickets to Port Adventura - definately worth checking out : )

Overall I thought the hotel was a absolute bargain and we had a great short break however if I was ever to stay in Salou again I would probably find a hotel closer to the centre and extend my budget for a higher star rated hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

stayed at the best cap salou oct 2012 if ur british dont go there it was full of spanish and germans no one spoke to anybody the people are arrogant and the food was awful we was catching the bus everyday in to salou and in the evening the only good thing about this hotel that it was clean and if you want peace and quiet you will get it but it was way to quiet for me

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very worried after reading the reviews but hotel was far better than I expected. Paid about £495 for 8 nights including flight and transfer for 2 adults in late September into early October. On arrival room not ready. Reception staff told us that we could either wait for a nice room with a pool and sea view or have another immediately. Decided to wait and ended up with a sea view as promised. Room large with 2 double beds and a large bathroom with shower over. Reminded me of a Premier Inn standard in the UK. Water always piping hot with good pressure for a great shower. Cleaned daily unless you asked the maid not to do it. Pool and patio area not bad with plenty of loungers. Small gym but not much worked but only used it when bored on a rainy day. Food was good although I agree it was often a variation of a standard menu. Cava wine at breakfast was popular as was prawns in shells at dinner I did not think you could pile plates as high as some guests managed to. The hotel was full but had no problem getting to the buffet. Mostly Russians and Spanish who can push a bit this appears to be human nature and no worse than any buffet I have been to in the UK including Pizza Hut. No trouble when we there from the guests who varied from young couples to older groups, in fact only sign of any idiocy was from a pissed up Brit in a bar who though it a good idea to play football while people were enjoying a drink. Nice little beach is at the front of the hotel but a pleasant walk in the direction of Salou give you the choice of a number of larger beaches. A few bars and restaurants around Cap Salou a small resort which is in a quiet pine wooded location between La Pineda and Salou. Main resort of Salou is not far and we walked there most days took about 30 minutes. Weather good except one day when it absolutely poored down. All in all a good value hotel in a nice spot suitable for couple and families although works out expensive in August.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel overlooks pool and the sea. Side rooms overlook the resort or another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Cap Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Cap Salou

Address: Cala de la Font 1, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Cap Salou 3*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just in front of the sea, in the tourist area of Cap Salou. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safedeposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, pizzeria from June to September, bar and snack-bar. Swimming pool (for adults and children) gym and children’s area. Optional services: parking, spa, indoor swimming pool, massage, internet corner, gift shop, hairdresser´s, tennis court and ping-pong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Cap Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Cap Salou Hotel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Cap Salou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.