We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 4R Playa Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 4R Playa Park Hotel to your Saves list
4R Playa Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Vendrell 1-3, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Just returned from a 12 night stay at the Playa Park. Would highly recommend this hotel location was fantastic 2 minutes to a lovely beach and 10 minute stroll into Salou.The hotel is very clean rooms cleaned every day and beds changed every 2 or 3 days. Staff very good and we found the food also good plenty of choice even for our 9 year old. This was our third visit to Salou but the first time we have stayed at Playa Park we will definitly be coming back as highly satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    163
    51
    23
    8
See reviews for
207
127
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I am just back from a 12 day break and can't really fault anything in the hotel. The room was clean but basic, maid cleaned every day and left fresh towels, changed sheets every second day. Reception staff were friendly on arrival and throughout the holiday i had no reason to speak to them again. I holidayed with my partner and 10 year old son and the hotel suited all of us. I read reviews before i went and these were mostly accurate with a little room for personal preference. The pool is freezing! but welcome when you are baking in the sun if you are lucky enough to get a lounger in the sunny area. The only thing i would say is that there is a so called life guard (more of a pool attendant) who does little else other than wander around the hotel and make an appearance every 90 mins or so for 15 mins. The pool is off limits after 8pm however, the attendant is quick to ensure most people clear the area around 6.30! This is to aid the staff to set up for the entertainment scheduled for the evening (not great at times but i have seen worse).
The food is ok, great if you love pork!!! served most nights. There is a variety of food that should cater for most tastes although not much choice for young children. The cakes are to die for!!! so this made up for my fussy eating. Breakfact is adequate with a choice of fried foods (bacon awful for us brits...all fat) toast, croisants, pastries, cereals fruit etc...hated the milk though,it's a bit like sterilised milk here, very thick and sweet tasting and takes some getting used to in your tea! The food on offer at the bar area was good and not too expensive with a special on offer every day. The staff are friendly and efficient.
Onto the different nationalities....there were quite a few scots and English when we were there. On the second week there was influx of Germans and Russians, and in my experience not a friendly bunch. Very selfish, loud and out for themselves in all manners, in fact they had little in the way of manners! Don't let this put you off though, this is a personal reflexion and you may find them entertaining when they push past you in queues, block doorways or hog the sunbeds (even having the cheek to shunt your right under the trees when you aren't looking!) haha, i resolved this with a friendly chat!
The hotel was in an ideal spot for us, near the quieter beach (although huge amount of stairs or long winding road to reach it) the beach was beautiful so was worth it. Salou at night can be a bit intimidating in areas but beautiful at the harbour area with a light show most nights apparently and we caught a live band who were very good. The weather was great, Potaventura theme park was good too, we bought 14 day passes and they were well worth it. We visited the park at night most days as it was quieter. Saturdays for some reason are very quiet! The theme park water park was great value for money, be warned if you venture out to the other one (Aquapolis) it is expensive and you then have to pay for sunloungers and do-nut rings if you don't want to wait and share. Flumes in the latter park are great for adults and teens, the first park is catered more for families.
All in all i would recomend Playa Park as a good hotel, it's off the beaten track so quiet at night for kids. You can buy a card for the local buses which is cheap enough to visit the theme park (10 min ride) a 10 min walk from the hotel will get you to the bus stop. I would also recomend Richards Tavern a little down from the hotel and across the road, staff are great, food brilliant and massive portions! My wee one recomends the ribs! Enjoy your time there, i wish i was still there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Have just returned from 1 week in Playa Park and would recommend it to anyone, we had two rooms close together and the staff at reception were friendly and approachable. There was no noise after 12ish. The first night we went for a walk and as my mother was with us I was shocked how far out of Salou we seemed to be and there were a lot of steep hills, thankfully we found a bus back. Thanks to the rep for Thomson, Jason, who although we had booked independently gave us all the information needed re bus etc which was a relief, and the buses were regular and reasonable and brought us to the door of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I read some bad reviews about this hotel before going and was a little worried, however, when i got there i was glad to see that the people who left bad comments must be pretty fussy. The rooms are basic, yes, but they are somewhere to get changed and sleep! The rooms were cleaned well everyday and clean towels. The tv only had two English channels but again - not there to watch tv anyway!

The staff were great and very helpful and spoke good English. The food was great. Only one night was there not much i could eat and i was there 14 days! Everything was cooked well and i enjoyed it. Beware though - free drink at breakfast, not with your supper!

The only down side i would agree with other reviews is the entertainment, it was poor. That is not the entertainment staff's fault, they were really good at entertaining, it is the Hotel for the rubbish they hired. I went out a few nights - House of Illusion is recommended, magic tricks, hypnotising etc. They're very good and very funny.

I read a lot about the hotel being on a hill. Blimey - that's not a hill! Seriously, it's not that bad. My son walked it everyday and he moans at walking to the shop at home! I can see how it may be more difficult for wheelchair users, other that that - nothing to moan about really. It's good exercise, nothing that'd kill you.

I really enjoyed Salou and the hotel. I would gladly return to both, and will do in the future! Everyone i spoke to within the hotel was happy with it, too. The only common theme i found was the arrogant foreigners who stayed at the hotel. I will learn two word of German for my next visit. Saying that, the last day i spoke to a lovely German lady, they're obviously not all the same.

Overall we loved our holiday and didn't want to leave! I reccommend this hotel to enyone thinking of going to Salou. The mini train is a good way of getting to know the area, i found. Looking out my window now - i wish i was still there!

Oh - i also reccommend the Safari day your reps offer you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I was a tad concerned after reading a few of the reviews before I went but there was no need to worry. Yes the hotel is set on a hill but there is more than one road which leads back to the hotel and the worst of the slight incline can be avoided, even my 9 yr old who hates walking at the best of times didnt complain at all.
From the minute we arrived each and every member of staff was polite and helpfull.
We were half board which I would certainly advise rather than all inclusive as the selection at both breakfast and dinner should keep even the largest appetites happy, however like most hotels abroad there is not much choice for "picky" kids, but I have no complaint as there were only two or three evenings where my daughter only had chips, but she soon filled up on the plentifull sweets on offer.
The maid service was excellent with out towels being changed every day and we were even left a small gift from the hotel on our first day which I had never experienced before.
The price of drinks varied a lot with beer being reasonably priced at Euro2 during happy hour and Euro2.75 outwith this. Spirits and soft drinks were quite expensive though Euro4.50 for a vodka and watery coke.
The pool area was very clean with a team of people working hard to maintain this early each morning.
The only down side for me was the entertainment, the four staff worked tirelessley to keep everyone amused but were let down badly by the loosly called variety acts hired by the hotel, I only enjoyed two evenings (the magician and the Grease show), with the guy who played the electric organ and sang on the Wed evening being the worst act I have ever seen (Mr Cowell would have had a field day)
Overall though we all had a throughly enjoyable stay and would recomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We've just returned from a two week stay at the Playa Park and overall we had a pleasant stay. On arrival we were a bit dissapointed with the room we were given as our balcony overlooked residents apartments and our only view was their living room. However, we asked to move and the staff were very helpful in finding us another room. If possible i'd recommend booking a sea or pool view in advance to avoid dissapointment. The rooms are basic but kept very clean, the sheets and towels were changed every day.
The food at the hotel was a little dissapointing; often quite samey and sometimes not cooked properly. Also due to the many different nationalities there were often some strange options for breakfast but you can usually find something you like.
There's two pools at the hotel, both with a decent amount of sunbeds. The main pool is usually shaded until around 1.30 but afterwards was in full sun until early evening.
There was different entertainment on each night at the hotel. We found some a bit inappropriate especially as there were a lot of families staying there with young children. When we didn't stay at the hotel we walked into the main strip in Salou (which is about a 15 minute walk) where there's some nicer bars and restaurants.
Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and although it's not in an ideal location it's close enough to walk to the main amenities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

were only back from this hotel and i have to say the holiday and hotel was brilliant. we couldnt have asked for anymore of the hotel.
i went with my partner and my 3 year old boy and he loved the hotel. there were activities on all during the day till tea time which were for all ages and we really enjoyed taking part. the entertainment changed every night and always had something to suit everyone. most nites we stayed in the hotel. the entertainment staff are really good at there job and made our stay a pleasure. the rooms were always clean as the maids came in every day and cleaned and tidyed the room. the staff all throughout the hotel were really friendly and polite.
we were half board and thought that we would prob eat out a few nights but we didnt have to. there was always a good selection of food and something that suited everyone. it was well worth the money. you just helped yourself. puddingd were our favourite.
the hotel is on a hill bit its not too far to walk to get back on the main road and shops but far enough away from the noise of the town.
this by far was the best holiday we've been on and we will most definitley be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 4R Playa Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4R Playa Park Hotel

Address: Calle Vendrell 1-3, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#6 Family Hotel in Salou
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 4R Playa Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome4R Hotels Group welcomes you to the Costa Daurada, where you can relax, have fun and enjoy a varied selection of leisure activities for your holidays. Regina and Salou Park of 4 * and Playa Park and Margarita of 3 *, are located in privileged areas of Salou, near the beach and Port Aventura, with its new ride: Shambhala. Salou is the tourist town par excellence, known as the "Beach of Europe". Cambrils, at 6 km, is the gastronomical and fishing center of the coast. Reus, at 8 km, is the neuralgic point of the region where your purchases will become an art while you walk surrounded by modernist buildings built by disciples of Gaudi (city of birth). Tarragona, located at 15 km, is a Roman city that preserves its amphitheater and circus, among other things. Its fabulous Ramblas become a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean. Hospitalet de l'Infant, at 24 km southern Salou, has an excellent marina and our cute hotel Meridià Mar of 3 * in front of it. If you do not want the bustle of Salou you will find the desired relax in this quiet town.Our hotels are in ideal environments beside the sea, have a well-maintained facilities, spa facilities, a excellent Buffet service with which you will enjoy national and international cuisine, entertainment for young and old and our support in everything that we can advice to discover our corners: wine areas (Priorat, Montsant, Penedès, Terra Alta), Cistercian Route, Delta de l'Ebre and the magical Barcelona, the capital of our region. We offer all our diversity and artistic plurality, cultural and social within 100 km of our establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your 4R Playa Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Park Salou
Hotel Playa Park
Playa Park Hotel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4R Playa Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.