We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cami de les Pasquales 6, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 98 hotels in Salou
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

stayed at this hotel fof two weeks in sep 2012 we could not fault the rooms,food or staff. if we wanted to criticise anything it would be the sun loungers they certainly need cushions on them,we found the entertainment very good all entertainment team worked very hard will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: we were in 215 facing pool and stage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest,


We are placeful knowing that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at Dorada Palace Hotel Aparthotel.

We write down all your comments, because for the hotel management is very important to know what are our customers needs.


We are looking forward to welcome you again next year.


Greetings from Salou,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    317
    133
    59
    33
See reviews for
581
154
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed her with family from the 27th of Oct for a week. Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing seem to be a problem to them. The food was to a good standard and there was always a good choice for breakfast and in the evening. The restaurant manager Jesus and Fernando were very friendly and the kids loved them. Only down side was the size of the room, we had a double bed and two single beds in one room and the temperature of the pool (it was freezing). However I would recomend this hotel to everyone. As for the people complaining about the cost of a safe and the deposit for the TV changer, this was in line with all the hotels we have ever stayed at. It would have been nice if one of the small pools had been heated, there is a heated Jacuzzi on the roof but this is for adults only. The beach was only 5 mins away and alot of people seem to use it as a base for Porta Ventura which is just up the road (about a 20 minute walk). Overall this hotel is very good.

Room Tip: Pool view mayn be noisy when the stage is in use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Good morning,


Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are proud to know that you and your family have had a nice stay with us.

The swimming pools at Dorada Palace Hotel are all outdoors so they have the outside temperature. Sorry for the inconvenience.


We will be happy to welcome you again at Dorada Palace Hotel.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

excellent holiday. not more to say we were a group with 4 teenagers who didn't want to come home, made loads of friends evening enterainment was great, staff great, good selection of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. will be re-booking for next summer. one little problem would be getting sunbeds if you dont go down in good time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to know that you have had a nice holiday with us.


We are looking forward to welcome you next year!!


Greetings from Salou,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

thought we'd have a cheap getaway in Spain and chose Salou as we wanted to visit Barcelona and flying into Reus (£68 return each Ryanair) was cheaper than flying into Barcelona with easyjet. So looked on a few accommodation websites and found this hotel on Thomson's for £62 for 5 nights for 3 of us staying in a self-catering apt! Read all reviews and thought it was definitely worth booking and we were not disappointed. Arrived at hotel at 11 and had a coffee and they let us check in at 12, so not much waiting around. The apt was lovely, overlooking the pool and with sea view. It was one of the cleanest and nicest apt I've stayed in and it smelt so fresh as did the whole hotel. We had lunch a couple of times in the hotel and the portions were large and really good value - 14 euros for 2 wines, 1 fanta, 3 baguettes and 2 plates of chips. The reception staff were professional and helpful, not at all rude as other reviews stated. We had a day at port Aventura which was a 10 min walk away and that was really good, as queues were only about 20/30 mins long, we also did Camp Nou and Barcelona trip with thomson's as it was easiest way to do it. Salou's beach and promenade is lovely, and it's not exactly the kind of resort we usually go to but for £88 each for 6 days away it was unbeatable value. Would definitely return to this hotel, couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that you have had a nice stay at Dorada Palace and that our services and facilities reach your expectations.


We hope to welcome you back next year!!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here on half board basis for a week in October. The hotel was excellent value for money the room was really nice, and everywhere was spotlessly clean and judging by what we saw was a priority for all the staff. If a department or area was quiet someone would be off cleaning. The food was fairly basic but there was plenty of it and a great variety of dishes, you would have to be very picky not to find something you liked. The best food was in the area which served freshly cooked food which you had to wait for but was well worth it. Plenty of variety here to as the food cooked was different each evening. I'm surprised more people haven't commented on the beds as the ones in our room were like lying on a bed of concrete with a bag of cement as a pillow. Aside from the bed issue this was a great place to stay & I would have no problem recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Pool views are definitely best but are limited so it's really down to luck if you get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you had a nice holiday with us.

As we said in previous reviews, the matresses have only two years. We are sorry about you don't find them comfortable. We always write down all the comments in order to improve the quality of our facilities and services.


We hope to welcome you next year at Dorada Palace Hotel.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wordsley, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Best descibed as a good 3/4 star hotel.. Food was good, rooms ok but nothing special.
Close to beach, but parking poor. Price was excellent though. Would return at the right price. Easy to get to Port Aventura and Barcelona. Remote deposits are well written about, but you know before you go.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,


Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We write down all your comments and we hope that despite all of you have had a nice stay with us.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a trip taken by myself and my wife to get a few days away in the sun. The Hotel was spotlessly clean and the self catering apartment we had didn't lack for anything. The pool area was very clean and there were enough sunbeds for the people there. However, they could do with investing in some of the lounger mattresses found in other hotels to make them more comfortable. I do feel that going in peak season may be a problem as the pool is not that big, and then there may be a bit more hassle trying to get a sunbed. The hotel is in a good location with all the amenities within easy walking distance. I would return, but only for a short break and not as my first choice though. Nearly forgot to mention the bed, it was solid and didn't offer a very good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Not really a room tip. But, there is a room deposit to pay on arrival which I paid in sterling so as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradaPalaceHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

It's very important for us knowing that our customers have had a nice stay at Dorada Palace Hotel.

We write all your suggestions down which help us to improve.


We hope to welcome you back again at Dorada Palace.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace

Address: Cami de les Pasquales 6, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#8 Family Hotel in Salou
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dorada Palace Hotel-Aparthotel, a 4-star complex built in 1999. We offer a hotel located in Salou, close to Llevant beach, the golf courses and theme park PortAventura. Is the ideal hotel for families and couples who want to enjoy the sun and beaches of the Mediterranean sea, and the wide variety of entertainment, relaxation and fun you will find in the Costa Dorada. HT000736. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace**** Hotel Salou
Dorada Palace Salou
Hotel Dorada Palace
Club Dorada Palace Hotel
Club Dorada Palace Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.