We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre to your Saves list
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Paris 21, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Monaghan, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a good stay. Quite central to most things. The pool area was lovely, Wasnt impressed that we had booked as a couple with the travel agency and got a twin room. Had to push two single beds together as was told they had no double rooms. Breakfast was ok, thought there would have been more fruits as the weather was quite good. Asked for poached eggs one morning though and was no problem to get them. Booked Port Aventura with the hotel and was not told that the aquatic part would not be opened even though I had asked if there was many water slides in it. Very disappointed as spent €45 each to get into a park which was not fully opened. Overall though it was a great few days away.

Room Tip: Check if they have any double rooms as we were told they didnt so ended up pushing two single beds t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentsCYE, Director General at Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear client,
We would like to thank you for your stay with us and the time devoted to give us your opinion, since it is very useful for the continued improvement and your satisfaction is our main purpose.
We want to thank you for the good opinion about our swimming pool area and the privileged location of our establishment, as it is one of our strengths.
We are really sorry that you requested a room with a double bed but all our rooms are the same.
Port Aventura theme park and the Aquatic Park are to different parks. The price for Port Aventura is 45€ for one day, and the price for the aquatic park is 25€ a day. You bought an entrance for Port Aventura only, we hope that you have enjoyed the Port Aventura theme park. Our team is professional and it is always a pleasure to welcome guests like you.
We hope to see you again on future occasions.

The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    181
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
260
68
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

just back from a 7 night stay in the cye.Hotel is very clean, and found all staff friendly and helpfull, esp Fernando who was great at entertaining everyone and had great patience with the kids. Location is great, just 5min from old and new side of Salou, and supermarket just around the corner. Will def go back to Salou and this hotel for a child friendly hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentsCYE, Director General at Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Marian,

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and the time devoted to give us your opinion, since it is very useful for the continued improvement and your satisfaction is our main purpose. We thank you for the assessment of the cleanliness of our rooms, the service of all our staff members and especially Fernando, we will tell him the good comments you wrote about him. We also want to thank you for the assessment of the privileged location of our establishment, as it is one of our strengths. Our team is professional and it is always a pleasure to welcome guests like you.
We hope to see you again on future occasions!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just arrived home after a 7 night stay at the CYE with my partner and 3 kids aged 6,8,10 although we booked a one bed appt. on arrival we found we were booked into a 2 bed with a massive wrap around balcony (307) which we were very impressed by. The reception staff on arrival were very pleasant and efficient there was the 60 euro deposit to pay but we were aware of this as it was mentioned in many of the reviews.As it was not high season the pool was more than adequate as were the number of sun beds and the pool area was in the sun from around 11am until around 5pm,although i was reliably informed it was freezing...i didnt venture in..haha.The kids spent most days in the pool and had a great time,Fernando the entertainment manager tried his best to interact the children in games during the day making it easier for them to make friends,that man really has the patience of a saint and always has a smile and a pleasant comment for everyone, my son Kerr esp.was cast under his spell,he couldnt get down quick enough to see him every day and was really upset bcos he didnt get a chance to say good bye before we left..We were self catering but ate out every day/night we also ate in the hotel restuarant which i wouldnt put any one off doing the food was plentiful and reasonable (although the pictures on display dont do it justice).The maid cleaned our room 3 times during our stay,changing the bedding once but we also asked for clean towels as we passed in the corridor and this was done without a problem. Over all we had a great time staying here and would definetely stay here again should we return to Salou,every member of staff we encountered could not have done anymore for us and we found absolutely everyone very pleasant. The hotel is only a 3 or 4 minute walk to the beach in a quieter area of Salou which suited us although we walked into the main town every night which was a very pleasant 10-15 mins walk taking in the wonderful fountain displays on the way home,although they were only on Fri-Mon probably because it was off season?

Room Tip: i would recommend rooms 107,207,307,407,507 these are corner suites with 2 bedrooms and a huge wrap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentsCYE, Director General at Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Billy,

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and the time devoted to give us your opinion, since it is very useful for the continued improvement and your satisfaction is our main purpose. Thank you very much for the assessment of the service of all our staff members, we will pass your special words over to Fernando. We also want to thank you for the privileged location of our establishment, as it is one of our strengths. We gave you a two bedroom apartment because when it is in our possibility we like to do something extra for our clients. We also want to thank you for the nice comments about our swimming pool area and the cleanliness of our rooms and the rest of the building. Our team of professionals is looking forward to welcome you in a future occasion.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very Good hotel...located in a quite area but 5 minutes from the main centre.

Only issue was the noise generated by athe cleaners on a couple of occasions. I am aware that the hotel need to prepare for incoming guests but I do not care to be woken at 7.30 by cleaners in the corridor or the ajoining rooms. Once the noise started it continued for a couple of hours making sleep impossible!

Room Tip: The rooms not overlooking the pool have a view of a carpark and a railway! request a poolside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentsCYE, Director General at Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Derek,

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and the time devoted to give us your opinion, since it is very useful for the continued improvement and your satisfaction is our main purpose. Thank you very much for your good opinion about our apart hotel. We want to thank you as well for the assessment of the privileged location of our establishment, as it is one of our strengths. We are very sorry about the inconvenienced caused by the noise you heard early in the morning. Normally we don´t have any complaints about this so we remember that you complaint about it at reception during your stay. At the moment you were staying here we had a lot of check-ins on one particular day, so the cleaners started early to clean all the rooms we needed. (The first shift starts at 08.00 hours and the last shift ends at 20.00 hours) When you complaint we immediately informed the manager of the cleaners to see what was happening, we found out that there were a lot of people checking- out and they caused some of the noise as well. In future occasions we will be more careful with any noise that can disturb our clients. Our team is professional and it is always a pleasure to welcome guests like you.
We hope to welcome you on a future occasion.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Cye for 1 week 14/9/12 till 21/9/12 to celebrate my 50th birthday.We arrived after 10pm but the receptionist rang the restaurant to keep open which was a nice touch',a good sign..Our room was clean and with everything we needed with a fridge and air conditioning which were a bonus.The food was acceptable with plenty of cholces. The staff at the Cye were helpful ,polite and friendly which is,nt always the case in Spain.The entertainment was a bit of a let down but we went out every evening anyway.We really enjoyed our stay so thank you to all of the staff.Highlight was going to see Barcelona play Sparta Moscow at the Nou Camp.Brilliant.

Room Tip: Pool view is a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentsCYE, Director General at Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Carl,

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and the time devoted to give us your opinion, since it is very useful for the continued improvement and your satisfaction is our main purpose. We thank you for the assessment of the cleanliness of our rooms, the service of all our staff members and the variety and quality of our cuisine. We are very happy that you enjoyed the football match. We regret that the animation was a bit of a letdown for you, we will talk to the manager of animation to see what we can improve for next year.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Hotel it's self is nice and atmosphere is great in it. Only downfall was when we booked we wer never told bout 60 euro bookin fee n I requested a cot on booking, wen I arrived I was told my room wudnt b ready till 5pm n with bein up sine 4am with young children this was unacceptable as they needed sleep. Then I requested a cot n I was told I had to pay an extra 42 euro for my child to b able to sleep, a cot sud b standard.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apartamentsCYE, Director General at Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and the time devoted to give us your opinion, since it is very useful for the continued improvement and your satisfaction is our main purpose. Thank you very much for the assessments about the good atmosphere we have in the hotel. We regret the delay of the delivery of your room, nevertheless we remind you that the time of the check-in in the apartments is usually at 17h, but if they are prepared before, we always do the check in immediately. We are really sorry that you didn´t know that you had to pay a breakages deposit. We charges this to all our clients just in case of any damage to the apartment, if everything is alright on the last day you will get your 60€ back on check out. We regret that you didn´t knew that we offer the cot as an extra service our apartments are equipped with two singles beds in the living room and two singles beds in the bed room and there is an extra bed in the lobby for a child under 12 years. Our team is professional and it is always a pleasure to welcome guests like you. We hope to see you again on future occasions.

The Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is my second trip to the Cye Holiday Centre hotel (the previous trip being September 2011) and again I was not disappointed. Last year we went full-board, but this year we went self catering, so we had a slightly different experience.

Despite having booked a 1 bedroomed apartment, we were very pleasantly surprised to be given a 2 bedroomed apartment which was very spacious. Each room had twin beds, plus there was a further two sofa-beds in the living room.

The apartment was clean and tidy, though admittedly when we came to use some of the utensils to cook dinner, we found that one of the spatulas had not been washed up properly, but that wasn't a huge problem - we just washed it ourselves!

We had the foresight to bring out own pair of kitchen scissors, and can opener - it was just as well as these were not provided, but everything else we found within the drawers and cupboards, so were able to cook quite adequately (though obviously a lack of an oven meant that we could not make anything that required roasting or baking, but that's to be expected really).

Fernando, the hotel entertainer, was as charming as ever and remembered us as soon as he saw us and welcomed us all back to the hotel.

Unlike last year, the kids' mini-disco was a bit hit and miss. Last year, it was 10pm every night without fail. This year there weren't as many children of mini-disco age (Fernando explained that it just depends on the week really), so some nights he didn't put on a disco, or, if he did, it was just a short one. My three kids (aged 6, 5, and 2) were the only ones up on stage at one point, so he only did 3 songs for them, but we appreciated the effort.

The evening entertainment (aside from the mini-disco) was much the same as last year. A lot of karaoke nights, plus a magic show and a parrot show. These shows were absolutely identical to the ones we saw last year - the acts had not changed at all. Nothing wrong with the acts mind you, but we thought maybe after 12 months they would have changed them slightly, but no. Well not to worry - the kids enjoyed watching them again anyway, even if my husband and I found it a bit same-old-same-old. Lovely if you have never seen them previously.

The pool water was freezing, as it was before, but they never claimed otherwise. For non-heated pools you can't expect any different I suppose. The hotel was meticulous about cleaning it every night. At one point I went to bed at 2am whilst they were cleaning it, and woke up at 7am and they were still cleaning it. I was impressed by the cleanliness efforts on their part!

The drinks in the hotel are overpriced, but readily available if you want one. I found it cheaper to buy drinks from the supermarket and store them in my fridge in the apartment.

Speaking of the supermarket, if you are wanting to self-cater and cook for yourselves, don't go to the small Michelangeo supermarket down the road - it's overpriced and not worth it. Far preferable to go to the Mercadona supermarket in the opposite direction - much larger, cheaper, and you know it's worth it as it's the one that all the locals use. Try and go around 1-2pm to avoid the rush, as it can get manic if you go at any other times.
Directions : head out of the hotel and turn left, cross over the train bridge. Once down from the train bridge, get to the main road and turn left. A couple of minutes walk, and the Mercadona is on your left in a pedestrianised area. Ask Fernando for more information if you think you might get lost! Really it's not far at all though.

Staff at the reception were friendly, lobby and pool area were clean, lots of sunbeds available around the pool (though we went 7th-17th September, this might not be the case if you go in the height of summer, I imagine you might have to fight for your sunbeds in July or August!), everything in the room was fine.

Maid service was every 3 days - beds made, fresh towels placed in the bathroom, and 2 new toilet papers left. If you find you need more toilet paper than that though, it's not terribly difficult to ask one of the maids for some more when you pass them in the corridors. I did this a couple of times and they happily gave me more without any problems.

Beach, bars, and restaurants are all close. We had cocktails in a bar called Lunatic one night - Pina Colada (served in a pineapple), Coco Loco (served in a cocktail), and for the kids a non-alcoholic drink called a Pink Panther - which, I have to say, was absolutely delicious.

For dining out, I cannot recommend higher than Caffe di Mare restaurant (next door to the above mentioned Lunatic). Their Paella de Carne was really lovely and big, and their goffre (waffles) were amazing. Kids meals were really good value - 6 euros for a meal, drink, and ice cream - and the size of the kids meals were HUGE. One day my daughter ordered a ham pizza and chips, and it was enormous - easily big enough to feed 2 children. She managed to eat 5 slices (there were 8 in total) and then she practically rolled all the way back to the apartment.

The dancing fountain show in Salou was really breathtaking - even better than last year we thought. Bear in mind there are 2 fountain shows. If you are facing the beach and head left (towards Lunatic and Caffe di Mare), the round fountain there has a show at 10pm every night. It's not bad but we preferred the other one.
The other one (the really really good one) is right towards the harbour (as though you are facing the beach), and is at 9pm every night. Really beautiful and well worth seeing.

Beds were quite comfortable within the apartment, balcony very safe for children, bathroom has a bidet which is handy, one minor quibble would be that 4 of the lights in our apartment didn't work (one in our bedroom, one in the kids' bedroom, one above the dining table, and one in the bathroom), but as each room had at least 2 lights it didn't seem to matter too much.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody - okay it's basic, not fancy by any means, but clean and comfortable, close to all amenities and the beach, and friendly. For the price you can't go much better I shouldn't think.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre

Address: Carrer de Paris 21, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salou
#12 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This building is placed in the center of Salou and only 250 meters from the beach and nearby Port Aventura theme park. Certified building as a FAMILY HOLIDAY DESTINATION, specialized brand created by Turisme de Catalunya granted to destinations that especially cater to family tourism.The best in- and outdoors facilities will let both adults and children spend great holidays: terrace, swimming pools, games room and playgrounds. You will also find a permanent reception service that will help you at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cye Holiday Centre Hotel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.