We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday.... And hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Costa Daurada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Costa Daurada to your Saves list
Sol Costa Daurada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Paisos Catalans s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab holiday.... And hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed 11th july- 18th here both aged 19 and 21 and had a fab time! First views were a lot better than expected the hotel was very big, and looked better in person than on photos! Room was fairly big with everything you need - fridge included! Rooms were cleaned everyday, however once we were short of towels and toilet roll, so we popped to reception and within 5 minutes they towels and toilet roll were delivered so excellent service!

Was around 10/15 minute walk from then centre/ beach but this was ideal as less noisy, hotel put a minibus on to and from the beach throughout the day so this was handy to save you walking in the heat in the daytime!!

Food overall was ok, breakfasts were the best, dinner time was more aimed at the Spanish we felt so not much on offer for the English, however was edible and plenty of choice for everyone else!

Hotel staff were polite and friendly and willing to help out, offered entertainment at night times and throughout the day so was good to get everybody involved! Overall lovely hotel and polite staff! Had a fab holiday would definitely return!! ..... ADIOS

Room Tip: Pool view was lovely as other side was a road view however was louder on the nights so if up you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    401
    244
    88
    60
See reviews for
589
303
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for two wks returned home yesterday.The hotel is spotless the staff are great very hardworking and helpful.The rooms are a bit on the small side but were perfect for us very good air conditioning.The food is adequate good choice for breckfast we were half board glad that was all.Dinner OK always found something but quiet Spanish overall,I be found the food much better in 4 star hotels in lanzarote.The pool area was fine nice pools but mainly Spanish holiday makers most of them have no manners with wild children almost jumping into water and landing on your head.I had small kids with me and the baby pool could be a nightmare,lots of Spanish small kids with no pool toys so they take other kids toys and won't give them back with rude parents encouraging them that was my main gripe.We used the kids club in the morning Carolina was great really nice girl,we used it one evening for a short time but found our kids out beside pool wandering while bigger kids played at stage with staff this worried us so we only used it in the morning when kids were kept inside.Maybe our experience would have been better if hotel was less busy,our negatives were not with the hotel or staff but with the other holiday makers ! Would find somewhere a bit quieter next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed from the 12th to the 19th of July, me and my partner! We arrived from a very quick transfer from Reus airport which took a speedy 20mins and walked into the massive clean bright and welcoming reception. Checked in in seconds and was given our key and a room which faced away from the pool which was no problem whats so ever as the view over the hills in the distance at night were beautiful.

The room was perfect, everything you need! TV (with only BBC world News and CNN in english) a fridge which is a bonus a very powerful shower, hairdryer a double bed for a couple instead of two pushed together. It was spotless, cleaned everyday with fresh towels and clean pillows and sheets on alternate days.

We had a couple of problems, our balcony door didnt lock so i went down to reception and asked if it should lock and the blonde lady behind the desk was very quick and helpful to say no it should lock and set a 'technic' to fix it in 10mins...he then showed us that we was doing the electric wrong because it kept switching itself off after 5mins or so. We had the card in wrong you have to click in the rest it in the machine by the door not push it in! Our mistake and he noticed that without us saying anything!

The pool is stunning, soooo clean it puts our indoor ones back home to shame and im a swimming teacher. There were so many sun beds, the umberllas were a little less availble but the lifeguard did get more out of stroage whcih were brand new in wrapping.

We went slet catering, so cannot commet on the food but the Happy hours at the bar for drinks at 7 till 8 at the poolside par and 11.30 -12.30 in the kingdom on the pint made the drinks very cheep. Normal price was 3euros for Sangria and a pint!

Overall we would love to go back, salou is a very nice resort. the modern bit on the front with the smart bars were fantatsic and the food we had was amazing in all but one of the places (Chinese buffet...AVOID).

If you dont mind a walk of 15mins to Beach, Theme Park and Train Station then book this hotel without even blinking a eyelid it is that good. 100% 4* as ive never seen a place being cleaned so much, so fresh inside and the service was brilliant from all of the staff.

(One negative...One pillow is not enough but thats the only negative of the whole hotel)

Room Tip: Maybe take another pillow or something else to buff the hotels up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a good hotel.food great and rooms clean and comfortable.
Perfect for port Aventura.
However our stay was ruined by a large group of Spanish boys age approx 9-10 years.
They were part of a team as they all wore orange tops with the team name on the back.
These kids were very noisy..they came up to their rooms every night at approx 11.30pm and each night woke our young children...they chanted songs and ran up and down the corridors knocking on the doors.
Thy spent some time at night in the reception area where thy made footballs out of the tourist guides and generally made a nuisance of themselves.
I complained to their leader one night but got no satisfaction.
When these kids came to the pool area a lot of people just left as they went wild in the pool with lite regard for others.
I feel that if you stay at a 4 star hotel you should not have to put up with disruptions like these from young unsupervised children

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had been looking forward to our mini holiday for many months, the airport is 10 minutes away and 28 euros by taxi no need for an expensive transfer! When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by professional and polite hotel staff. Our room overlooked the swimming pool and was very clean and tidy.

We chose the hotel as it is close to Portaventura and indeed a 5 minute walk was all it took to grace it's doors. We would recommend to book a day at Portaventura when the theme park closes at midnight as you will witness a spectacular, water, fireworks and light display which gives Disney a run for it's money.

The town is a 10 minute walk if you use the back gate by the pool, the food is very well priced however the drinks are cheaper to buy from the shops. We were pleasantly surprised by the choice at the breakfast and filled up for our busy day ahead. We would definitely return and can say we had a beautiful, couples escape.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

LOCATION - The hotel is about 15 mins walk (at a slow, hot day amble) from the beach and from PortAventura in the other direction. A little tourist transport that looks like a mini steam train also runs at 3 euros a trip, but it was very easy to walk so we didn't try it. The hotel is well placed - no other hotel overlooks it. Some areas of Salou are built up, meaning your balcony has a view into another balcony, but this hotel has a clear view from either side of the building.

THE HOTEL - The hotel is modern, decorated with cool marble and with only five floors, it never feels too big and impersonal. It is kept spotlessly clean. The hotel is built almost in a V shape. The rooms inside the V overlook the pool. The rooms on the outside of the V overlook the road. While the pool view is probably nicer, entertainment goes on until midnight, so families with children should sacrifice the view for reduced noise. There is an indoor pool and fitness suite, which we did not try. Outside, there is a large free-form pool and a toddler pool. The sun terrace does not seem large, but we never saw it crowded (I suspect that a lot of the guests are here for PortAventura, and never venture to the pool). Ample sun-beds are provided and "booking" with towels does not seem to happen! There is a poolside bar, but at 5 euros for a vodka and coke, we only tried it once! Snacks can be bought here and you can also buy them from the little bar in the foyer. Catalonia has imposed a tourist tax payable in all tourist accommodation - be prepared to pay 1 euro each for each day of your stay (adults only).

THE ROOM - Our room was clean and fresh and the maids kept it this way. There was a very comfortable double bed and a double bed settee. All the rooms have a balcony. A hairdryer is provided, and it's a good one. There is a safe in the room, but it is 15 euros extra. I think this was my one niggle - 4 star hotels in Europe do not generally charge. There are no tea/coffee facilities. There is a fridge. The air-conditioning was great - and quiet - which meant you could sleep with it on.

THE ENTERTAINMENT - I didn't think I would be interested in the entertainment, but I was pleasantly surprised. My children have grown up, but I enjoyed watching the children mastering complicated dance routines and this seemed popular with the youngsters. While we were there, we saw a Beatles tribute act, Flamenco dancers, a Cuban music/dance duo and fire-eating acrobats. All the acts were excellent and the acrobatic act was so well done we couldn't believe we were watching it on a tiny hotel stage.

THE FOOD - When I travel abroad, I like to try something different and this hotel certainly provides it. The variety of food they provide is huge, and they change it every day. You would have to be the world's fussiest eater not to find something you enjoy. The food is buffet style, but there is a grill chef to the rear of the dining room, constantly preparing fresh food. For breakfast there is a variety of cereals, fresh fruit, breads and rolls of different types, pastries, cakes, cold meats, cheeses, potatoes, beans, grilled tomatoes, bacon, sausages and eggs. The grill chef prepares various things - omelettes, bacon and pancakes (our favourite - take at least 3!). I couldn't list what they prepare for dinner, as it would take all day! We especially enjoyed the freshly cooked steaks, pork fillets and chicken breasts. Fish fans will be in heaven, with a vast selection including fresh shrimps, grilled fish steaks and mussels. If you fancy trying something different, they served snails one night and rabbit another (don't worry -everything is clearly labelled). Local meat stews and paellas were also served. Pasta was always available with sauce to add, as was pork fried in breadcrumbs and chips. The salad bar had more choice than you could imagine. The desserts were good - cakes, gateaux, melon, fresh fruit, ice cream, creme caramel, baked apples etc. Our favourite was the pears poached in red wine with cinnamon. If you have an early flight, tell the staff. They will open the dining room just for you.

THE STAFF - The staff were great, being polite and friendly at all times. The restaurant staff Rosi, Marina and Soraya were especially good.

THE GUESTS - during our stay, several Spanish children's football teams were staying. They were well-behaved ( as were all the children there) and tried out their English on us when we met in the lifts. Most of the guests seemed to be Spanish, with some British, Swedish, French and Russian. After midnight, the hotel is very quiet and we slept well.

TO SUM UP - Clean and modern hotel in a great location for PortAventura. Food excellent, staff efficient and friendly. We would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool will be noisier - families with children might prefer a room facing the road s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in june it was without a doubt I would never stay again!
1st- Arrived late the guy checking us in was polite no complaints there but got to the room had asked for a pool view and this was not the case
2nd- The following day we asked to change the room which we could do and I did appreciate this but the blonde on reception was very ignorant
3rd- we had decided to go back to the room and have a few drinks on the balcony but this could not be enjoyed as all the lights on the balcony's were not working I asked at reception thinking maybe it was just ours and that it was something they could do and was told no they aren't working maybe next week or the week after and again two blondes on reception this time ignorant again
4th- The food was awful ( not for everyone all tastes are different I understand that) we went half board and it has put me off for life it was awful and none of the staff had English we went twice to see if the 2nd night was any better but it wasn't and I saw a pizza being brought out to someone and asked about this if maybe I could get one but not one member of staff could understand me
5th- we went for breakfast the day we were heading home and didn't realise the time and had to rush back to the room to grab our bags which meant not all of the breakfast was finished ther was 3 pieces of toast left on the plate and we put our plates on the trolleys provided and a small Spanish woman working there made a complete show of my partner shouting and screaming that it was bad that we were wasting food ( from the little amount of English she had this is what we could make out) this was so embarrassing
6th- on check out AGAIN two blonde women I handed in the keys and said id like to check out she did not lift her head just took the key card done a few things on the computer and said that's fine. how rude after spending a week there she didn't say thank you or how was your stay.
All in all it was a awful place to stay and I would not recommend it at all.
The only people who I could say done a great job were the cleaners they had the room spotless clean each day and were very polite and friendly also we went to the bar one night it is like an old tavern it was nice to have a drink there. The barman a thin , dark haired man was very nice he was really friendly. They are the only two nice things I took away from this hotel
Regards the area itself we went to the danny boy most nights would highly recommend it staff were great and so was the music. I would suggest for food the jack daniels bar near the hotel the food was extremely nice and great value staff friendly also

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Costa Daurada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costa Daurada

Address: Avenida Paisos Catalans s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Salou
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costa Daurada 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel has located in salou, with easy access to Port Aventura and the finest beaches on the Mediterranean Coast. The hotel has sunny outdoor swimming pools for adults and a separate children´s pool with free sun longer, towel service and a snack Bar. There is also a full, profesionally-run entertainment programme incluiding live music and shows. Mini club for children, games room, etc.Our four star hotel has 300 rooms with terrace, fully equipped bathroom, hairdryer, airconditioning, heating, desk, safe, satellite television.You can enjoy moments of rest and relaxation in our indoor swimming pool and spa centre with gym, jacuzzi, sauna Turkish Bath, Uva rays and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Costa Daurada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costa Daurada Salou
Hotel Sol Costa Daurada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Costa Daurada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.