We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, family safe, reasonable price, modern.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blaumar Hotel Salou

Save Saved
You added Blaumar Hotel Salou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blaumar Hotel Salou
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Jaume I, s/n | cantonada C/ Joan Miarnau Ciurana, 4, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Occidental)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 98 hotels in Salou
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, family safe, reasonable price, modern.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here early May with my Partner and our 2 year old daughter. On arrival (we were early) we changed our room from a pool view to a lateral sea view room. Being a superior room we were given one which faced outward rather than inwards.. This was great as our balcony now received the evening sunshine, we sat out in the early evening with a drink and watched the sun set. (Superior rooms also face the pool but do not get the evening sun) All rooms have a small kitchen and more importantly a fridge, so we kept drinks snacks and ice in it. No kettles for a cup of tea, but they do have a small hob and a pan for heating water. The hotels evening entertainment was great for all the family, it is organised by the children's club staff who were also great.. Not many English people staying here, but we did not have an issue with that. Key staff spoke good English. Food was ok, as you would expect from any buffet, hot and a varied themed selection. Pool was excellent but cold in May. Would I stay here again if in Salou, yes !

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    121
    34
    14
    12
See reviews for
140
73
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Booked this hotel for a one night stay in Salou - it was a bargain price from Hotels.com

We arrived quite early, and our room wasn't ready, but the very helpful staff said we could upgarde to a superior room for EUR5 which of course we did.

We had a lovely, newly refurbished room which had a massive bathroom, double balcony, kitchenette, large Samsung TV and decent speed wifi for EUR3.

The pool area is extremely modern, with nice slate terrace and plenty of sun loubgers - if you prefer the beach, it's less than a minute from the hotel.

If we were staying for longer in Salou, we'd definatley look at this hotel first before considering any of the others.

If you love great food - take the bus to Cambrills (next town) and ther sea front is lined with small bistro restaurants serving esome excellent Spanish food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a quick trip to Salou. The hotel was reasonably priced and on arrival I was upgraded to a Superior Room, which had a lovely balcony with a view over the stylish pool area. The room itself was large and the luxurious bathroom was equally large, with a great shower. The pool area had sunshine for most of the day and quite late into the evening with decent sunbeds available.

The hotel is located right on the sea front and the beach is less than a minute away.

On my next trip to Salou i'd look to stay here for longer than one night as it is a moden, tastefully decorated hotel with a great sea front location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in April,it's a nice comfortable hotel,food was good and staff were friendly enough but the management lets this hotel down.One of our party left her jacket in the reception area as we were leaving for the airport.When we got back to Dublin we rang the hotel,yes they had the jacket but we had to pay 30 euro to get it back,wow seriously cheeky,pay up or you never see your jacket again,we laughed but its a bit rich.Salou is a nice place to visit but next time I won't be staying in the this not so hospitable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the Blaumar Hotel last week for the 2nd time. Requested a sea-view room as we had one during our first stay but wasn't as lucky this time. We got a room facing the back of the hote, it was quite dull and old compared to the lovely bright modern room we had last year. All in all the stay was nice, good variety at breakfast and the staff were friendly, it's just a pity we were disappointed with the room this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvarela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blaumar Hotel Salou, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you RosieD85 for your opinion and for coming again to Blaumar Hotel.
We are grate to inform you that we have just finalized the third renovation phase of the bathrooms, and next year we'll offer the whole hotel with news bathrooms, so in case you return to Salou and to Blaumar Hotel, you will find better and renovated facilities, and do not hesitate to contact us before and we'll try to assign your your according your preferences.
Thank you again for your attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one week, the weather was not great but the hotel made up for it. The food was excellent, great variety. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly as were the staff at reception. Rooms were cleaned every day. We were booked in for half board and it was very good value. Fantastic location near the beach, bus terminal and shops. Bus trips are very affordable. A trip to Andorra is well worth doing. Also a trip to Barcelona to see the dancing fountains is a must. Would love to return in the near future.

Room Tip: our room was facing the pool and we could see the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Visited early April for 8 nights and had a fantastic time. Staff extremely friendly, especially in the restaurant and food was varied and plentiful. Fantastic location for the beach, bus terminal, train station and shops. Very child friendly. A little noisy in the room with other guests in corridor. The only other criticism would be that on check-in, they tried to charge extra for a cot that should have been included in our booking - it was promptly removed when we challenged it, however.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing pool/beach rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blaumar Hotel Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaumar Hotel Salou

Address: Passeig Jaume I, s/n | cantonada C/ Joan Miarnau Ciurana, 4, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Occidental)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#20 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blaumar Hotel Salou 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Blaumar Hotel Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salou Blaumar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blaumar Hotel Salou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.