We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food, friendly helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Barques

Les Barques
Carrer Colon, 19, 43840 Salou, Spain
977351566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 260 Restaurants in Salou
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely food, friendly helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My partner had mussels to start which he said were lovely. I don't like seafood but even I was tempted to try them as they looked so good. We both had steak, I asked for mine medium well done and his medium. Both were cooked to perfection. This restaurant was on the main sea front pedestrian way almost at the far corner so was quieter then the first few restaurants simply because less people walk along there. Place was clean and nicely set & our waitress was very helpful. I didn't like my potatoes much but that was just personal taste. Food came out in reasonable time but not so fast that you could think it wasn't freshly cooked. I would recommend this restaurant. It's not mitchellin star but nice for a beach front restaurant in a busy tourist resort.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great for paella & pasta not so go for pork & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

this located on the front towards the top end of the beach just before the corner, but well worth the walk. Paella is 13e but will be enough for 2 and its excellent as are all the pasta & fish dishes. Don't go for English dishes as not as good as Spanish ones. Friendly staff too

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Got there to eat for dinner. service was very average. We ordered Borsch soup which was extremely disappointing. traces of beetroot, half potato??? totally no taste. and costs 9 euros which I find extremely wrong. Lasagne was probably frozen one. no taste again. Waitress not even asked how was food just took money no smile nothing. Ruined all dinner and all day mood. Strongly not recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing 'Worst Paella Ever!!!'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our starters of Prawns Ajillo and Calamari were very good indeed, but the Mixed Paella had been cooked in the oven and was dry and burnt. We complained about it, but received no apology or any offer of compensation such as a free dessert or coffee!!! I tried to negotiate a reduction of the bill but they became very aggressive and called the police. The police said we had no alternative but to pay the full amount even though they understood our reasons for complaint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“classier than others.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because it looked less tacky than the others on the sea front, and we made a good choic. The chicken paella was beau as was the pizza. Friendly service also.
Can someone tell all the restaurants to stop hastleing people to come at eat in their place. Hey would get more business if they
Let people make their own choice.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Barques also viewed

Salou, Costa Dorada
Salou, Costa Dorada
 
Salou, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Les Barques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Barques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.