We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caspel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Caspel to your Saves list
Hotel Caspel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alfonso V 9, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As students staying at this hotel for 'Saloufest' I found this hotel unacceptable and wouldn't dream of going back there. You will be charged for EVERYTHING and the amount they charge is utterly ridiculous. At the end of the stay we were charged for losing 4 towels (which cleaners forgot to replace), totalling 200 euros! Any slight spillages on sheets equated to 150 euros worth of damage and bins had to be emptied ourselves. Cleaners didn't appear to exist and we were even charged for a 'messy room'. The swimming pool didn't have sunbeds and hadn't been treated and the inside swimming pool wasn't even open. Food was average with little variation.
On a brighter note the actual rooms themselves were adequate but basic and the location is good.
Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    33
    13
    44
See reviews for
22
40
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to a weeks holiday with my friends only for it to be overshadowed by our horrific hotel experience. Whilst our room was nice and basic and the lovation for the beach was fantastic, the food was very bland, boring and mediocre. The prices in the bar downstairs were very overpriced too. The tipping point of our stay was the standard or lack of cleaning, to say they employ cleaners is a joke. All they did was empty the bin, even though the sign on the wall stated that towels on the bath would be taken an replaced with clean ones, this was not followed through once. Also toilet paper was not refilled, resulting in me going downstairs to the lobby toilet to take some for the room myself, which i found apalling. Also at least three of my friends had significant sums of money stolen from there rooms, to which the hotel refused to help to resolve and instead insulted them and tried to blame them, even when they had been careful to lock all windows and doors. The cleaners were obviously not honest people. The reception staff were extremely rude and physically shouted at my friends causing one of them to get upset, that is the service 'standard' we received. As we checked out we were informed that we must empty our own bins and should clean the room before we left otherwise we would be fined, personally i had not come on holiday to tidy up but obviously they thought it too hard a task for there 'cleaners' to carry out. Finally to top off the end of our trip they accused us of 'stealing towels' when in fact there cleaning staff had 'forgotten' to replace them, losing a remote for a televison we did'nt know we had access to and for a sheet the cleaners had hidden under the bed as they were too lazy to remove it. These said damages we ridiculous. All in all DO NOT stay at this hotel as the staff are unfriendly, the food is awful and the cleaners are incompetent. Hopefully that way you will have a wonderful time in salou.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel seems to have undergone a refurbishment everything was clean & tidy none of the communal areas had that tired & shabby appearance that a lot of spanish hotels seem to have, our room was basic but spotless with a nice balcony, the dining room was light & airy even though it was downstairs the breakfast was good with the waitress bringing freshly cooked food out if what was on offer looked like it had been out too long, the staff were helpful & polite although they wasnt fluent in english you can get by it is spain after all!! Overall for the price we paid it was excellent value for money, although if you are not very mobile it isnt for you as its uphill.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I must be honest i had concerns before i arrived after reading some of the reviews. However i found the staff polite, discreet and not overly friendly which i prefer to 20 questions about your business that some hotels deliver. The breakfast was fresh and varied what ever time we went down at, with hot and cold choices though not the full irish/english that some may expect though very few places on the continent are able to do it well. The cleaning staff were discreet and efficient and were in daily with towels soap shampoo ect. The only down side is that the bar area lacks atmosphere if the games equipment was moved to where the computers are then that could be a seperate area and the bar could be rearranged to be more cosy and adult perhaps. All in all a pleasant hotel for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I got one of the key card rooms and full board. Rooms were nice, tastefully decorated and modern. Bathroom needs work and proper cleaning however.
Food was pleasantly nice, breakfast had western style food and large selection which they continually replemished. Dinner likewise and every day was different.
Quick walk brings you to the centre with pubs and beach.

Room Tip: ask for updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I am comparing this hotel to other (cheaper!) 3star hotels I've stayed at on the same resort:

Food - mediocre - No muesli in breakfast choice just cheap sugary cereals. Cold food. Fattiest cuts of bacon I've ever seen. Long queue for slow toaster in the mornings. All fish dishes tasteless. Breakfast not worth getting up for.

Hygiene - There was a large dead fly on the stairs to the first floor that remained there for 5 days and was never moved. The room service made the beds but did not clean the bathrooms I had to complain. The patio was also left just because there were a couple of bottles and a few sweets left on the table. When I Asked why didn't they clean it, the service desk said I should clean it!

Service - The staff in the food hall were friendly but one woman at the help desk rarely smiled.

Internet connection - I paid for this - but it is one device at a time, so if you have say a laptop and a phone they will keep locking one another out. There is no free lobby WIFI like other hotels in the same class.

They are doing a refurbishment but I was in one of the older rooms that used a traditional metal key. You know get one key so if sharing with a mate you have to bear that in mind and drop key off at reception etc. All other 3 star hotels I have visited on this resort have had electronic key system for a good while.

I would say this is marginally a 3 star and only because I visited one of my friends refurbished rooms which was much nicer - they had previously been in an older room and complained because of lack of space.

There are much nicer hotels on the same resort for less money.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbushed room with electronic key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Either "thatkidcarter" doesnt know what he is talking about or we stayed in the wrong hotel. The staff speak Spanish, so what your in Spain.They were polite at all times even the cleaners, our room was cleaned every day and they gave us extra pillows as requested. The food was typical of this type of hotel.It was hot and fresh with a varied selection. My only downfall which is not the fault of the hotel, is that it is up a hill. The one thing that was unespected was the room minibar which is great when you arrive late.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caspel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caspel

Address: Calle Alfonso V 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caspel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Caspel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caspel Hotel Salou
Caspel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caspel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.