We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel caspel review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caspel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Caspel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Caspel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alfonso V 9, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 98 hotels in Salou
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“hotel caspel review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

this hotel was ok for money but would not advise to use if you want to use hotel for anythink other than sleep. we had full board but would not recomend to eat in hotel. even though it was buffet we still managed to struggle to get a edible meal together. there were no english in hotel and most staff dont speak it as it rare english people stop there. we had a double room but was two double beds pushed together and they were very uncomfortable and sheets werent changed for the whole 5 nights. lucky that hotel is so near to beach as the pool was very shaded with no sun and water was freezing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    29
    14
    41
See reviews for
19
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tilbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Hotel was ok.. just ok.. Our beds were made evryday and the towels changed and it was clean.

The aircon worked to a fashion, if you left it all day it would get the room cool.

The food was a shambles, we had breakfast included but only had it twice, the second time to check if we was just unlucky the first time, they had some cooked food which was always cold, they would for example cook 3 trays of bacon ( I say bacon losely) but only have a place for 1 tray so the other two trays sat on a side un heated shelf until there was room, seems like all food cooked at the same time for the whole sitting, cold beans, small hot dog sausauges and very very salty scrambled egg. They had a normal 2 slice toaster for everyone who wanted toast, so you had upto 20 minutes wait for your turn... Anyway you get the picture.

We once didnt have our towels replaced when the room was cleaned and we asked at reception if we could have some taken to the room and they said they didnt have the staff, and come back down in half an hour to pick up some clean ones.. Not sure Ive heard that one before..

The pool wasnt cleaned for the week I was there, and it was getting pretty grubby, there is no gym anymore, and the inside pool is scarey dungeon like place. My advice is shop around.. It wouldnt take much more of a decline for this place to become hazadous to health.. It also said the hotel had wifi, but i couldnt get any signal on the top floor which is on the 6th

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were only here the one night as we had an early morning flight out and we couldn't get in at the H10 Mediterranean Village. The other Guests were mainly on Russian package holidays and they were very nice and polite people practising their English, French and Spanish but the hotel needs a major refurbishment and this is reflected in the attitude of some of the staff.
The location is on a crossroads and is very noisy with drunken clubbers until around 4am and then the traffic starts about 5am. We had to have the patio doors open because of the heat and the noise level was very high even though we were on the fifth floor. The air conditioning wasn't working (no Aircon until the 1st of June even though the day temperatures had been above 35deg C and the previous day 40deg C).
We decide to have their Buffet style evening meal for sheer convenience and it was very cheap but also basic with 3 main choices which were put out early evening and if you ate later there was a microwave to reheat the food! The wine trolley was very cheap at 6 euro a bottle for a reasonable wine.

Get up early for the complimentary breakfast as it gets very busy with our Eastern European friends who really know how to heap up a plate! Quality was better than a Motorway Services but only by a tad! They did however restock the platters very quickly and the food didn't run out.

Parking chargeable but there was plenty of street parking by the Hotel. I can't recommend this Hotel for any type of traveller and would only use again if all the others were fully booked.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford,Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 4 or 5 nights. it was cheap!! The indoor pool was really small and dark.The food was terrible all they served was chips, that werent cooked properly and some unidentified meat or fish! the nicest food was thew small pots of ice cream and the little pots of youghurt.
Our bed covers had cigarette burns on it! However the room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

i must say that it is one of the worst hotels ever. was staying with group of 38 irish teenagers and no matter how loud we where no one stopped us. the indoor swimming pool is very small and the outdoor was not open. the food was disgusting and it seems they would spend money to make sure the food was bad. i would not recommend it even for a budget hotel and must recommend you stay away. i was in a three bed room but oddly they never made the middle bed. they also didn't change the towels

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

After reading all reviews on this site, I wondered why I had booked to go with the boys on the Stag.

Upon arrival we were greeeted by a miserable reception who warned us that they would call the police if we didnt behave!.

However, as we were planning on going out every night, this was a great base. The hotel is 5 mins walk from the clubs around the corner (Big shout out to all at Charlie Chaplin's).

The breakfast in the hotel was terrible but the evening meals were really very edible. Strange mixture of foods but it lined the stomach and was always hot.

I did eat breakfast at a place called Chippies on the Sunday as we didnt get home until 7am! which was great and only cost 4.50Euro's.

The Guinness Tavern across the road is fantastic and you can get a great meal and drink in there - Chris the Irish Landlord is a top fella..

The room was clean, slightly warm but as I mentioned earlier, more than expected and was great for our base.

The bar is good, a little slow but ideal.

Advice to other Stag's / Hen's = Grab Breakfast at the hotel / Chippie's - Have a few beers around the pool during the day - MacDonalds in the town for lunch, a few beers on the beach for the afternoon and then head for dinner about 8.30pm.

Then over The Guiness Tavern for a few ( Ask Chris for a Monkeys Brain), Croc's for some free shots and a couple more then into Charlie Chaplins around 12ish until 6.30....

Great weekend, ample hotel, excellent nightlife.

3***

  • Liked — The fact thjat we didnt get thrown out!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

7 of us Stayed @ Hotel Caspel 7/9/2007 nice hotel a bit dated though, good location, staff good and helpful if asked.Didn't eat at hotel so can't comment.Pool nice but not large. Rooms clean and good sized and cleaned every day if asked.Local people very polite and helpful.Most restaurants are suited for your typical brits abroad - chips chips and yes more chips,although I had a lovely seafood paella-quality.Bars and clubs good but to far spread out!! If you like your typical bar streets like magaluf,Falaraki, las americas forget it !! we spent most the time walking .Dont go out till at least 11pm !!Beach was good , very busy and clean. Good sea front restaurants but a little more expensive than the others.Taxi for seven of us from airport was 45 euros 1 way and took 20mins. Overall OK but more suited for families that like chips with everthing lol.Its not the party place some reviews lead you to believe-would not go back as a stag do

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Caspel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caspel

Address: Calle Alfonso V 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caspel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Caspel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caspel Hotel Salou
Caspel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caspel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.