We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucy's Mansion - Amazing hotel, attraction and holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added PortAventura Hotel Gold River to your Saves list
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | Port Aventura Park, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Salou
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lucy's Mansion - Amazing hotel, attraction and holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Gold River for 1 week from 8th June, still early in the season so it was a bit quieter which worked well for us and our 3 year old son.
The hotel itself is fantastically themed with so many little details to discover it is an attraction in itself.
We stayed in Lucy's mansion, check in was quick and the receptionist spoke great English and could not do enough to make sure everything was OK.
The room was a great size with an amazing view, checked/cleaned twice a day. Only down side would be the walls were a bit thin and there were plenty of children making their presence known (no fault of the hotels).
We really enjoyed the food, Breakfast was a vast choice which suited us individually, the buffet style dinner never disappointed us; some 'favourites' show up every day, which may not be ideal for some but when there are children involved, I couldn't be happier to stick to what we know!
Access to the park is instant, we went there every day and loved every minute of all it had to offer. The water park (extra cost), was worth every penny and we went twice, again being out of season works well here as I can imagine it gets packed.
The pools at the hotel were clean and well maintained, we loved the pool side bar for a drink at the end of a long day.
All in all I am so happy we made the choice to stay here, we were the only people left on our bus at the end of the hotel transfers and were worried this was a bad sign, I have no idea why this was but would encourage anyone who is undecided to stay here... You wont regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lucy's mansion, the rooms are nice and big, although the walls are a bit thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    301
    151
    52
    32
See reviews for
535
126
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel this weekend, from Friday to Sunday. Two nights. We say that everything has been fantastic! The truth is that these hotels both large capacity so they can have moments of agglomeration involves loss of time, but it was not our case. We were three families and one of them came Friday morning and check in the three rooms with no problem, and so the other two rooms when we arrived we went straight to the room and in 10 minutes as we were in the park! We went with the idea to buy an express pass per person per day. The person who took care of the issue passes Express advised us that it is because we bought so many children do not take advantage and we did. And the truth is that we save a fortune and could climb even though we exceeded some attraction.
Rooms: clean and correct. Hot water and good pressió.Vistes fantastic pool and the park. We could see the fireworks from the bed! Improvement: the pillows. Too low. A couple of pillows would be advisable in a hotel like this for those people who need to sleep with your head higher.
Breakfasts and dinners for a minute tail (the hotel was super packed) and the food very correct with great variety and quantity (exhausted any product at any time). The room staff all lovely. Even the coffee, which is infumable hotels, was good enough. Improvement: water jugs on the tables. We were 11 and we had to get up every time the machine to fill water glasses (small).
Swimming pool: fantastic! Few people, clean water and many hammocks!
Facilities generally very correct (there is a bar by the pool for a light lunch between toilet and bathroom is great) but I must say that the toilets on the ground floor (only knew about but find maybe there are more?) insufficient (four toilets, I think) and were a bit dirty and lack of paper. A couple of lifts least would not hurt either,
But I must say that I recommend this hotel to everyone, it was a fantastic stay and certainly repeat.
Thanks also to the customer service is always excellent answer all our queries.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014 and for the most part, really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was so clean and tidy and the staff were friendly enough too. Decor was quirky but we liked it and access to the theme park couldnt have been any closer. We loved the food, both evening meals and breakfast were impressive, so many choices and well presented. There is a free shuttle to and from salou town centre after 7pm.

The only downside to this hotel was that the walls are almost paper thin, and the room next to us had a family of noisey kids. Also, we arrived by train and the train leaves you at El Paso hotel, getting from there to Gold River requires geeting a shuttle and it took almost an hour to come and collect us.

Apart from these two issues, we loved our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel at a family "bungalow". It was an excellent 5-star choice, with complete amenities, clean rooms, beautiful wild-west decoration theme and helpful multi-lingual staff. The car parking was available at the door step and was free for the whole stay and after the check-out until the end of the day. The one night package included 2-day unlimited passes to port Aventura amusement park and breakfast buffet that was excellent by all standards. The dinner buffet was as good with adequate options to satisfy diverse taste of customers. the value for the money is unsurpassed specially for mid-week offers.

Room Tip: the bungalows has 2-rooms each, quite and has laundry self service, fully equipped kitchen and own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel was incredible and the easy access to the park is great, however the staff speak very little English which makes asking questions almost impossible, nothing is ever explained to you so it means you have to make a lot of guesses. Rooms are not ready until 3 which was never explained to us before we arrived at 12, none of the staff seemed to understand where you left your luggage until the rooms are ready which meant we had to find it ourself. Breakfast and lunch was always cold and food was poor. Pools were freezing which meant the pool areas was always empty. Rooms were very good but television only has two English channels which are Disney channel and discovery. However you have to change the language on the menu every time you turn the TV on as these channels are in Spanish. Would recommend buying drink etc from a shop and taking to your room as the price for drink is very expensive.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building as this is the only place with a wifi connection and it also has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ross. We truly regret that your experience in one of our hotels wasn’t fully pleasant. And we regret that our customer service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. We take your comment in consideration in order to improve our job and be able to offer you a more satisfying service next time. Best regards, PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Arrived here for a weeks stay. Got to hotel at 9 am after flight from UK. Reception area backed with people buying tickets for the parks and slso trying to check in. Took an hour to be told come back at 3pm as room not ready. When we got to r room it was fine. Plenty of room with 1 double bed and 2 singles. Fridge, cooker etc. Hotel thyme very very good. 3 swimming pools on site. Few good places to eat and drink. Half board basis we were. Breakfast and evening meal always good with a good variety. Entrance to park included and as always great fun. Water park also very good. Would we stay again. ... definitely. ...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We are a family of four with two boys age 13 and 8 years old.After staying in the El Paso and Costa Caribe hotels before we thought we would try the Gold river. We went with Jet2 holidays and I have wrote down some tips for English guests.
Pros: lovely hotel with the Wild West theme done superbly.
Pool area great and bar snacks nice but not a lot of choice.
Excellent excess to the park.
Rooms cleaned everyday.
Cons: food, not a lot of choice, many of the hot dishes were only warm and it's the same food on
On the buffet every night.
Waiters constantly hovering over your table as soon as you finish your last mouthful your
Plate is instantly whipped away, we found it very intimidating.
No sky tv, only English TV channel was BBC world news.
No English newspapers to buy, only Spanish guests catered for.
€15 to go to Salou in taxi and €15 return so very expensive holiday if you want to travel to
Salou every evening.
Hotel entertainment poor.
Lots of Spanish school groups staying so hotel Restaurant very noisy and busy can be bit
Intimidating if you don't like crowds.
No balcony so nowhere to dry wet swimwear and towels.
All in all we enjoyed our holiday but felt that the costa caribe hotel is the best of the Portaventura hotels that we have stayed in, we wouldn't return to the Gold River.

Room Tip: We stayed in the city hall main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear paula1Chester. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than you expected. We understand from your review that your visit was not as it should have been due to the quality of our restaurants and its service. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused.
We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions and we look forward to see you again. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PortAventura Hotel Gold River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | Port Aventura Park, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#13 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. Highlights in 2014 the new attraction called Angkor and performance of Cirque du Soleil in summer representing the world of Kooza and the origins of the circus. Cirque du Soleil will be installed outside the theme park PortAventura, next to the Hotel Gold River. Tickets do not include admission to PortAventura Park. Likewise PortAventura Park tickets do not include admission to the show Kooza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PortAventura Hotel Gold River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.