We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added PortAventura Hotel Gold River to your Saves list
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | Port Aventura Park, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Salou
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel was incredible and the easy access to the park is great, however the staff speak very little English which makes asking questions almost impossible, nothing is ever explained to you so it means you have to make a lot of guesses. Rooms are not ready until 3 which was never explained to us before we arrived at 12, none of the staff seemed to understand where you left your luggage until the rooms are ready which meant we had to find it ourself. Breakfast and lunch was always cold and food was poor. Pools were freezing which meant the pool areas was always empty. Rooms were very good but television only has two English channels which are Disney channel and discovery. However you have to change the language on the menu every time you turn the TV on as these channels are in Spanish. Would recommend buying drink etc from a shop and taking to your room as the price for drink is very expensive.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building as this is the only place with a wifi connection and it also has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ross. We truly regret that your experience in one of our hotels wasn’t fully pleasant. And we regret that our customer service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. We take your comment in consideration in order to improve our job and be able to offer you a more satisfying service next time. Best regards, PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    302
    151
    52
    32
See reviews for
536
126
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Arrived here for a weeks stay. Got to hotel at 9 am after flight from UK. Reception area backed with people buying tickets for the parks and slso trying to check in. Took an hour to be told come back at 3pm as room not ready. When we got to r room it was fine. Plenty of room with 1 double bed and 2 singles. Fridge, cooker etc. Hotel thyme very very good. 3 swimming pools on site. Few good places to eat and drink. Half board basis we were. Breakfast and evening meal always good with a good variety. Entrance to park included and as always great fun. Water park also very good. Would we stay again. ... definitely. ...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We are a family of four with two boys age 13 and 8 years old.After staying in the El Paso and Costa Caribe hotels before we thought we would try the Gold river. We went with Jet2 holidays and I have wrote down some tips for English guests.
Pros: lovely hotel with the Wild West theme done superbly.
Pool area great and bar snacks nice but not a lot of choice.
Excellent excess to the park.
Rooms cleaned everyday.
Cons: food, not a lot of choice, many of the hot dishes were only warm and it's the same food on
On the buffet every night.
Waiters constantly hovering over your table as soon as you finish your last mouthful your
Plate is instantly whipped away, we found it very intimidating.
No sky tv, only English TV channel was BBC world news.
No English newspapers to buy, only Spanish guests catered for.
€15 to go to Salou in taxi and €15 return so very expensive holiday if you want to travel to
Salou every evening.
Hotel entertainment poor.
Lots of Spanish school groups staying so hotel Restaurant very noisy and busy can be bit
Intimidating if you don't like crowds.
No balcony so nowhere to dry wet swimwear and towels.
All in all we enjoyed our holiday but felt that the costa caribe hotel is the best of the Portaventura hotels that we have stayed in, we wouldn't return to the Gold River.

Room Tip: We stayed in the city hall main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear paula1Chester. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventura was less than you expected. We understand from your review that your visit was not as it should have been due to the quality of our restaurants and its service. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused.
We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions and we look forward to see you again. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Travelled with my husband and 3 teenagers 18, 17 and 15 yrs . Hotel ok but lacks my atmosphere. Pools freezing cold hence they were empty all week . Weather was ok but not brilliant. Nothing to do do in the evenings and all three teenagers seemed bored . Food really boring we were pleased at quality the first night but was exactly the same menu every night. Got fed up with it and list my appetite towards the end. We did use find around and are at porteventura hotel. This was good And we were given 24 euros each to spend drinks were included in this , which was a bonus only cost us 8 euros more and we had 2 rounds of drinks...not included in buffet but were included at restaurant. Overall park was ok but a day visit would suffice . Otherwise pretty boring week nothing to do and no entertainment provided. Kids were bored and so were we. Not normally one to post on tripadvisor and usually take reviews with a pinch of salt but take heed . A weekend visit would be ok bit not a whole week you will get bored especially of the food. Seriously every might the same.... Veal casserole. Nice but 6 nights in and it's becomes tedious and unappetising . Hold river you can do better, more entertainment and more food choices. Definitely not worth the money paid and would not visit again! As good as Disney .... Not even close.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Rosie. We truly regret that your experience at Hotel Gold River wasn’t fully pleasant. We regret that our restaurant ans entertainment service didn’t meet your expectations as is one of our main priorities. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great hotel for its location
Food is typical junk food where breakfast you have selection of fruits, pancakes and fry ups.
Dinner was pricey for what it was... Felt it was all from packet. Quick dine and go. No room service at allllllll ..... So your tired and feel like having a cup of tea on your room .... Sorry there isnt a kettle or even menu to order from.

The hotel staff are very friendly and also helpful, although i felt there was no bond whilst on bfast. All guests were running like savages for the meals. Quite a sight in the morning.

4* for its location only .... The rest feel like 2*

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_PortAventura, Manager at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear RobGasparo. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience at PortAventurawas less than you expected.
Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience you have been caused. We thank you very much your comments around and have noted your suggestions. Regards, PortAventura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

No wash cloths, no alarm clock, no English TV channels, dangerous bathtub/shower (slippery, no grab bars, high side, and a pane of glass), hard beds (like sleeping on bare wood), dark rooms, not enough plugs, no place comfortable to sit . We were booked here because our group of 800 was using the convention center. It is far from everything, so you are a virtual prisoner unless you pay taxi fare to go into town. They also closed the restaurant facilities on Sunday, which is a big deal for people that have to be at work at 8 a.m. Monday morning and can't wait until 9 p.m. to eat dinner (which is typical for Spain). Also, the Wild Wild West theme and the constant loop of grating western music over and over and over again. If I hear the theme from 'The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly' ONE MORE TIME.......

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! All the rooms in Gold River and its sister hotel - Port Aventura Hotel have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_PortAventura, Gerente at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear cajunpegg...!
We truly regret that your experience with us wasn’t fully pleasant. Coinciding with your stay we had a problem with the Satellite that normally permits to visualize channels in English, but it'll be solved before the reopening of the park. It should be taken into account that the hotel offers optional service of laundry and alarm from the reception. As you probably know, Hotel Gold River is themed to transport a visitor to the Far West, it means that every detail, music is included, helps to get this sentation.
However, we will definitely take in account your comment, we will do our best to improve in order to see you again.
Best regards, PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hi As visitors to Florida for the theme parks(twice in 4 years) Thought we would try this in 2012 only booked a week in case it didn't match up to Florida, It was easily matched and a lot better value. The hotel is very well organised and the Food in the evening restaurant has something for everyone. The Portaventura Theme park is great and the fact that you are just a short walk away is a bonus. You also have the use of 2 lovely outdoor pools to relax after being in the Park. We went as a family of 2 adults and 1 12 year old. and returned again last July 2013 along with Grandparents who also thought the holiday was excellent. There is loads of things to do for all age ranges from 2-80 which includes shows, firework display and parade( every night) I would definitely recommend as a cheaper alternative to Florida and it's only a 2 hour flight from the UK and if you an fly into Reus airport it's only half hour transfer to the hotel/park, You also don't have all the driving to do as when visiting Florida. My Son who is now 14 wants to go again this year!! The Hotel Gold river is a wild west themed hotel with some great buildings. but I think the other Portaventura Hotels are as good, from talking to other guests round the pool last year. Can also get free child places for kids under 12 when in same room as parents. Try it. you'll love it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th or 5th floor overlooking the park as then get a great view over the theme park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PortAventura Hotel Gold River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | Port Aventura Park, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#13 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. Highlights in 2014 the new attraction called Angkor and performance of Cirque du Soleil in summer representing the world of Kooza and the origins of the circus. Cirque du Soleil will be installed outside the theme park PortAventura, next to the Hotel Gold River. Tickets do not include admission to PortAventura Park. Likewise PortAventura Park tickets do not include admission to the show Kooza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PortAventura Hotel Gold River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.