We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant all round......no complaints......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best San Diego

Save Saved
You added Best San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best San Diego
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Penedes, 23-27, 43840 Salou, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 98 hotels in Salou
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant all round......no complaints......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Spent 1 week (16-23 Sept 2012) at this Hotel.......hotel clean and staff were very pleasant......entertainment was great.....different every night......especially enjoyed the Snake show & the Flamenco dancing......pool area was very clean & spacious.....rooms are not huge but are dequate for what's needed ie somewhere to sleep......staff were very accommodating and assisted with any queries quickly & satisfactorily.......food was amazing.....buffet style so plenty of choice & something to suit all tastes.....would deffo go back to this hotel in the future......

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    127
    97
    48
    36
See reviews for
159
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

just got back from the worst holiday ever thanks must go out to best hotels (thats a laugh), stayed at the san diego, on arrival no room, staff found it hard to understand english, in particular the cleaning & entertainment staff let alone speak a little of it (yes we understand we were in spain) was glad we understood them, eventually got our room which were discusting, sewage came up the plug hole in bath & sink, more sand & dirt on the floor than roads & beech, food was full of grease & undercooked, entertainment was great if you were under 6 & spanish, would not recomend this hotel to our worst enemy. salou though is out of this world for family hols been back seven times, thankfully only once & never ever again to san diego. P.S. its not much like the photos on net either, photographer mush have best camera going or a brilliant airbrush team.

Room Tip: Don"t book any !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here 4th - 11th september 2012, came for fiance 21st birthday.. The hotel is lovely! Rooms are very basic and pretty poorish they really need a refurb.. Walls are really thin! Can here everything! Staff and service was brill, if you dont claim you got to bar first u wont be served lol, entertainment was poor, great with kids tho! Plenty of food to choose from, a holiday is what you make it! I had a lovely time with my fiance, our first holiday together :) salou is beautiful, beaches are lush! Plentttttyy to do! Would go back to salou deffos! If they did the rooms up and did a refurb deffos would be a 5 star!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a great week at San Diego,great choice of food,Luvly pancakes :) rooms are spotless as is the rest of the hotel :) entertainment was great for kids and they luvd the pools. loads to do in the resort,funfair,parks,mini golf and pubs and clubs,we will deffo be back .

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bootle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel needs a little updating and the pools a bit small for the size of the hotel, but the staff and food selection and quality certainly makes up for it, we were originally on a 10 night half board holiday, but when we arrived there was a slight problem with the room, the hotel staff could not apologise enough and by way compensation offered our party an upgrade to all inclusive for the whole 10 days! Which certainly pleased us all. I always say the test of any hotel is would you return and the answer is absolutely, even without the upgrade.

Room Tip: As there is only 2 lifts try to book rooms on the first/second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in mid june as a couple...had a brilliant time! Hotel rooms were basic but clean...maid service with fresh towels everyday. Location was so handy, close to the main strip and also the beach, which we sadly didnt discover to near the end of the holiday! However I do agree with other reviews, the walls are very thin! We could hear conversations clearly between people next door and were woken by foreign couples fighting on a few occasions. We didnt really mind and laughed it off, but it may annoy some people. We were all inclusive which was fantastic! Food was good..repetative when you're eating it everyday but for the money couldn't complain! The drinks and bar snacks included in the all inclusive package were great- included cocktails which i didn't expect but loved! Also on the last day, we checked out at 10am but our flight wasnt until the evening. We were able to keep our all inclusive bands on this day even though we had checked out which was a nice touch.
Entertainment at night at the hotel was great, especially for kids. As a young couple we didn't expect to want to stay at the hotel most nights but we often did, as the entertainment was so good. Good facilities and entertainment for kids too...the entertainers were great with the little ones that were around.
Overall would definitely recommend the hotel...great location and very welcoming staff! All inclusive definitely worth the money if even for the drinks and snacks alone, but restaurant food good too!

Room Tip: Our room was above the entertainment stage on the corner...not good if you want to go to bed early s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having read the reviews of this hotel I would agree it is due for a refurb. That is the only downside of the hotel. The staff are friendly and the hotel itself is spotlessly clean. The standard and variety of food is excellent and the food that should of been hot was hot. Have stayed in four and five star hotels and the food was no better. The hotel is in quite a good spot not far from the centre of Salou and two nice beaches a short walk away.There is a night club across the road called The Victoria which is open all night and can disturb you if you are a light sleeper if you ask for a room at the back of the hotel not facing the swimming pool you should avoid this. Have stayed in Best Hotels before and generally the standard of food has been good. We came as independent travellers and booked the hotel with Hotels4U easy to book with.The hotel has a large number of Russian guests and some Spanish too so if you want to go to a hotel full of Brits this is not for you. Just hope the hotel does not change its menu to suit Russian tastes and keeps the Spanish feel to its menu after all you are in Spain.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best San Diego

Address: Calle Penedes, 23-27, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best San Diego 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the tourist heart of Salou, only 200m. from Playa Levante and Capellans beaches. Comfortable rooms with fully fitted bathroom, balcony, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, bar-cafeteria with play area and TV lounge. Terrace with swimming pools (for adults and children) outdoor jacuzzi and children’s area. Day and night entertainment program. Optional services: parking, internet corner, gift shop and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Best San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best San Diego Hotel Salou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.