We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weeks holiday diamond resorts gold members” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Sunset Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sahara Sunset Club to your Saves list
Sahara Sunset Club
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Avenida Rocio Jurado S/N, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“weeks holiday diamond resorts gold members”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed here last week with my mum & dad and our 2 year old who are gold members. Lovely resort, great location across road from beach, 5 minute walk to some superb beachside restaurants. 10 minutes walk to the Selwo Marina dolphin park.

we had a 2 bed apartment & a 1 bed apartment near the front of the resort on 1st floor. recently refurbished and well appointed with everything you need and more. huge balcony overlooking the pitch & putt.

staff were all great and food in restaurant was lovely. as usual people do try and hog sunbeds but the life guards are great at monitoring it and we always managed to get some.

some confusion over booking transfer back to the airport with a 2 year old who needed car seat, spanish receptionist trying to tell us to just take 2 taxis and put her on our lap, but english receptionist was great and sorted it for us. will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review – we’re really pleased to read that you had a fantastic time at the Sahara Sunset Club! We strive to provide excellent service to all our members and guests, and we’re sorry to learn that you experienced some inconvenience regarding your transfer back to the airport, but we’re glad that our team were able to sort this out for you. We’re delighted that you’re planning to return here, and we can’t wait to see you again!

Salvatore DiCaro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    136
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
172
137
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived quite late on a Thursday evening,given a flat on a top floor(4th)on a building without a lift,the receptionist didn't even bother to ask if you need any help with our luggage,or if we can manage to climb up the stairs.
Stayed in Sierra royal wing which is a separate building behind the actual complex,which has a little pool.
Advice-don't bother to go to the pool as the over aged people leave their towels on the sun loungers so you will never get one.
The so called evening entertainment next to this little pool is something between Benidorm(Brits know what a mean)and The Shinning.some wannabes singers screaming old 80's songs.
The cleaning was done just once in 5 days.
Anyway,the nasty surprises are:the Sierra wing is suppose to be quieter,well it's not,as 2 dogs left constantly alone are barking mad until about 12 midnight.
Bear in mind I love dogs as I have one in UK too.
We were about to leave,the rooms needs vacated at 10am sharp which is quite bad,never heard of such an early check out.
At 10 sharp the Chambermaid rand the bell and burst inside the apartment,I was half naked but not too shy so nevermind that bit still...
Anyway the surprise was at last,when I went to the main reception to leave the cards,I was asked title an extra €10 as they've done a mistake into charging me less when I booked???
I booked through booking.com so what was mistake? I don't know.
Anyway,I will never come back to this resort.they basically charging at least €90 per night for a little apartment,quite dated.You can easilyfound pprivately owned apartments for half of the price,especially 2013 were the cheapest prices charged in Spain due to high unemployment.
I am leaving with a bitter taste from a country I love and perhaps want to retire to when the time comes

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We regret to read that you appear to have had a disappointing stay here at Sahara Sunset Club and we would like to respond to some of the issues mentioned by you in your review.
Firstly we would like to kindly note that we do not have a porter and although our friendly team will always try and offer to help with the luggage should there be a need for their assistance, it is not always possible. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We appreciate that you were not entirely satisfied with the apartment you were occupying, however we assure you that the ongoing refurbishment program we have has been implemented in order to bring all apartments to the unified high standard and although we are of course very sorry if your room was not to your liking, we would like to kindly note that we feel this is a spacious apartment and perfectly suitable for guest occupation. With reference to the sun beds issue, we would like to respectfully advise that we have what we believie to be a sufficient number of sun beds and when the resort is at its capacity there simply would not be enough space around the pool area to accommodate all the guests simultaneously. We would however like to mention that since we have implemented the new regulations to stop guests reserving their loungers with personal belongings, we have received hardly any complaints with regards to this matter.
As for the barking dogs-we apologise if this inconvenienced you in any way, however we need to advise that this is not a resort-related issue as there are some private apartments around the resort and we hope you will appreciate that we are not in a position to prevent our neighbours from keeping pets at their own properties.
We appreciate the fact that 10am may not be a suitable check-out time for you. This however is our official check out time and it has been scheduled to ensure that our housekeeping team is able to prepare the apartments for the arriving guests. Please be advised that, availability allowing, there is a late checkout option available, this however needs to be requested up front and is subject to the resorts discretion. Finally, we would like to once again apologise for the misunderstanding that appears to have taken place at the checkout, as you know we have now refunded 10 Euro to you.
We would like to reiterate our apologies with regards to your dissatisfaction and we are of course very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Sahara Sunset and Spain in general. We assure you we have a lot to offer and would be grateful for another chance. In the meantime however we wish you safe travels.

Salvatore Di Caro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Steps from Benalmadena promenade and all that it has to offer.Beautiful well equipped apartments.Fantastic staff who go that extra mile.Small bar/restaurant on site with entertainment.Small supermarket nearby.Close to shops ,bars,bus stops etc.Indoor pool and spa on site.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are lovely,but pool view obviously the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
It is great to know you enjoyed your stay and had a good time here with us, thank you for sharing your impressions!

Salvatore Di Caro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have recently returned from this hotel and had an amazing time. My husband an I took our 2 children 9 and 2 and I have to say they loved it. The entertainment program during the day for the children and adults was excellent. The pools were also manned with lifeguards every minute every day from when it opened until it closed so i new my children were safe. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a pool view and could also see over to the sea. The room was very spacious fully equipped with TV in main living area/DVD/iPod doc. The main bedroom also had a TV with lots of English channels. Kitchen was fully equipped so was ideal if you wanted to eat in. Staff in the casbah restaurant on site were very friendly and helpful and I must mention Diego and Bradley were lovely. There is an option to go half board here for 19.95 euros pp per day which was great. Full English for breakfast and 3 course evening meal all food was delicious and good sized portions.


Indoor swimming pool is fantastic very modern with jacuzzi.

I loved this place so much I am now looking to buy a week (timeshare) here so we can return year on year. It's ideal, close to beach, harbour, lots of shops, restaurants and 20 minutes from malaga airport via taxi 25 euros

Would highly recommend

The Locke/Morrey family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Sahara Sunset for the first time this August, and had an amazing time.
There was a small mix up during check in but the team soon had this sorted ( we even got upgraded).
The room had recently been refurbished and was lovely, very spacious and immaculately clean.
The pool area was also very good with two lifeguards present at all times. Our only concern was the lack of available sun beds, but it wasn't a major concern.
The Kaspah Cafe was lots of fun, the staff were always friendly and helpful, especially Donna and Brad and we had lots of laughs at Diego singing and dancing around the pool.
The location was excellent literally a stones throw from the beach, bars/restaurants and the bus route. Couldn't have been better.
We have just booked to return with the rest of our family in February and can't wait already.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for just one night during the peak season and were very impressed. The staff at reception were delightful and made a nice touch of giving the children a lollipop while we were checking in (passports required).

We turned up early (12pm) but were able to check in. We were aware that our room might not be available until 3 pm but were told to return at 1:30 and it was ready. Parking is a little challenging if you have a car but there are plenty of areas that you can hover to unload. We then drove up to the main car park by Selvo Marine park and left it there. In the evening the car parking is easier and so you could bring the car down then.

Our accommodation was very spacious and clean. There was a nice kitchenette with large fridge/freezer and all of the basic items that you would want. There was a TV and DVD player. Our balcony overlooked the street but as we were there for just a day then this was fine. The beds were comfortable and the AC worked well.

There are two main pool areas with the smaller pool being quieter. There did still seem to be a challenge to get a free lounger though the staff around would always help you find one. They appear to police sun bed grabbing very well. There are signs around that towels will be removed if left for more than an hour.

There is a well equipped mini market attached to the hotel that sold most things and had a good selection of soft drinks and alcohol at OK prices.

We didn’t take part in any of the activities which occurred mainly around the main pool. They appeared to be a bit “in your face” for our liking but if you had been there for a week or two would be probably good fun. If you like table tennis its worth bringing your own bats and balls to play on the couple of tables that are there.

By the lower pool there is a nice young children play area that is mostly in the shade.

The beach nearby is excellent and if you turn left at the water front there is a lower tier from the main road where there are many bars and restaurants. These are all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel.

I can highly recommend this hotel and credit to the staff who all seemed excellent.

Room Tip: Probably aim for a room around the central pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you were pleased with the standard of accommodation and service. We are also glad to know that you made the most from our location and that you and your family enjoyed the use of all the facilities available on site. We hope that we will not have to wait too long before we see you again, yet until then we wish you safe travels!

Salvatore Di Caro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this resort after having checked all the reviews on Tripadvisor but we really feel let down. We had a terrible apartment with very old forniture, like white bamboo, the tub was rusty, and the kitchen soooo old.
The terrace was so small and we had to keep the door closed because of the terrible noise during both during both day and night. We complained with the management but without success.
They seem to specialise in big loud groups or families with screaming kids.
Totally unprofessionnal staff.
No, we won´t be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the Sahara Sunset Club. We encourage guests to speak to our front desk team if they have any concerns about any aspect of their stay, as we will be happy to help however we can. While we understand that guests want to enjoy themselves while they are on holiday, we do expect them to show courtesy to other people staying on site, and we apologise that your holiday was disrupted by other guests at the resort.

We hold our staff to an extremely high standard of service, and we are sincerely sorry that you had cause for complaint in this regard. Please be assured that your experiences do not reflect those of the majority of our guests, or the standards that we strive for.

We really hope that you’ll give Sahara Sunset another try in the future, and we feel sure that if you do return here, your experiences will exceed your expectations!

Salvatore DiCaro
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sahara Sunset Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Sunset Club

Address: Avenida Rocio Jurado S/N, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahara Sunset Club 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish inspired architecture is not the only distinctive feature of Sahara Sunset. This year round resort is built around a large and beautifully landscaped pool with a bridge spanning over to its own island.Sahara Sunset has everything required for a superb family stay. Each of the beautifully furnished accommodations benefits from its own private balcony or terrace, while leisure facilities include outdoor and indoor pools and a relaxing whirlpool.You will also find a warm welcome at the Casbah Café where you can enjoy a casual meal and sip exotic delights on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sahara Sunset Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Sunset Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sahara Sunset Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Sunset Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.