We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location by the beach and cheap too.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Betania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Betania to your Saves list
Hotel Betania
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carril de Contreras 12 | Benalmadena Costa, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location by the beach and cheap too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was good. The staff were helpful and polite. The room was a bit small but was clean and tidy. Ideal if you want to go to the beach everyday and eat in the nearby restraunts. It was very cheap for the week in High season and would happily stay again. We didn't use the pool or the restraints during our stay so I can't review them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Muchas gracias por su estancia. Esperamos mejorar poco a poco y ofrecer un servicio mejor y mas comodidades para el cliente, poco a poco estamos introduciendo diversas mejoras que probablemente sean de su agrado. Reciba un cordial saludo y esperamos vuelva pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    38
    34
    22
    43
See reviews for
15
91
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strabane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just back from a week staying at Hotel Betania and I was dreading it after reading the reviews before arriving..but I couldn't find a big fault with it. I chose this hotel because of the location and we were on a budget. The location is ideal, plenty to see/do. The hotel is basic but very clean and reasonable. Maids came into the room daily with clean towels, linen and 1 roll of toilet roll. your better to buy some for emergencies only 1 EURO 20. for 4 rolls at the supermarket. We usually chose self catering but went b&b instead. Breakfast wasn't what we expected, I had read on the official website hot buffet but instead you were handed a plate with a bread roll, 2 slices of ham and 1 slice of cheese with jam and a bun/crossiant and a glass of orange juice. they also offered tea, coffee, hot chocolate but no milk.. It was OK but we went for a fry as little as 3 euro 50 down the street. The staff were friendly especially 2 women at reception with dark hair. The only negative things I would say was they would need to splash out on a bit of air conditioning in the rooms..very hot at night! they only have ceiling fans (but that is better than nothing) we kept ours on all the time. Also they would need to see about english channels on the TV that has 4 or 5 channels..it didn't bother me but you need to please your other half as well! Over all, Nothing bad to say about this hotel. it is not as bad as what most people made it out to be, but hey! you can't please everyone?? If you want luxury, go luxury but this hotel is ideal especially if on a budget!

Room Tip: your best to give requests when booking. go for a private balcony because some are opened on to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel was basic but was fine for our needs. There was no AC, only a fan which was not enough in the August heat. The staff for the most part were friendly and helpful. They called a taxi free of charge for our early morning departure. The shower had quite decent pressure but the curtain was awful and lead to water going all over the place. There was no hand soap or shampoo provided. Two small sachets of showergel were provided for 2 people during our 5 night stay and were not replaced at all. There were 2 towels, 1 bath mat and 1 hand towel provided, no hair towels. Wifi was free in the reception/lobby area and because our room was above the reception we managed to get it for free. The location is great, very near the waterfront and many restaurants. We didn't eat breakfast there, having read other recommendations and ate at Horizons Cafe, next to Mc Donalds. It was very good. You have to give a refundable €20 deposit for a key and tv remote control. The safe costs €2.50 per day, plus a €10 deposit for a "key" which operates the safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Sra. Muchas gracias por su visita, Esperamos verle pronto de nuevo en nuestro hotel. Decirle que en nuestra intencion de satisfacer al cliente estamos realizando mejoras que seguro seran de su agrado. Gracias por sus comentarios que nos sirven para mejorar dia a dia. Reciba un muy cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was very surprised to read the bad reviews for this hotel. We have just come back from this hotel. This was our 2nd stay in 2 months and we have no complaints at all. We stayed for 3 nights on both occasions. Yes, the rooms are small but they are clean and tidy, as is the bathroom. We had air con both times, the towels were changed every day and beds made. The staff were very polite at all times. It's in a great location just off the main street. For a 2 star hotel it's fine. It was packed with locals so if it's good enough for them then it's certainly good enough for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sres. Muchas gracias por su visita. Esperamos que vuelvan a alojarse en nuestro hotel y estamos en proceso de realizar mejoras que seguro seran de su agrado. Reciban un muy cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 night stay in this hotel. I would not wish to stay there again. It was very basic, the room was small and the staff didn't understand any English at all. It advertises itself as having a bar, restaurant and lounge. However, there no restaurant open, except for breakfast, and no bar in sight. The only way to get drinks was a vending machine by the door which didn't stock very much. The lounge area was very dingy and dark, certainly not somewhere you would want to sit in and relax. The strangest thing of all was having to pay 20 Euros for a tv remote control we didn't want that had no channels in English at all! The internet didn't work either. On the plus side our sheets and towels were changed every day, but we had to ask for loo roll. The bed was comfortable but it was frustrating having no balcony to sit on. The kidney shaped pool was far too small to sunbathe by. All in all it was o.k. for a short stay if you just want a bed for the night but that is all!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet location but not all rooms have a balcony to sit on, so make sure you ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. En contestacion a su critica hemos de comentarle que el hotel se corresponde a la categoria de dos estrellas, con el precio de esa categoria. El personal de recepcion si conoce el idioma ingles, y de cualquier forma se comunica con el cliente de la forma mas amable posible intentando satisfacer al cliente en todo momento y en la medida de sus posibilidades, siendo requisito imprescindible del puesto el conocimiento del citado idioma,con lo cual nos sorprende bastante este comentario. El bar se encuentra abierto en horario de tarde, es posible que al momento de visitarlo el camarero no se encontrara pero hay avisos de que puede usted avisar en recepcion de todo lo que necesite. El restaurante solo ofrece desayunos y se hace saber al cliente en publicidad, agencias, web, etc. La limpieza es diaria y extremada. Hay habitaciones con balcon, otras con terraza y otros con acceso directo a la pisicna. De cualquier forma sentimos que la estancia no haya sido de total satisfaccion para usted. Reciba un coridal saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

terrible......... this hotel is cheap but defo not cheerful! we arrived and was greeted with a very rude receptionist. When my family member wanted to help me up to my room, the receptionist was very rude and confrontational about only the people staying at the hotel are allowed to see the room. My gf and myself walked into the room and were shocked!!! dirt everywhere, leaking and dirty shower, bugs in the shower, hairs all over the sink and toilet, What looked like pubes in the bed, blood on the curtains and a shutter that didn't work. within 2 hours we were checked in and checked out! one to completely disregard!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Nos sorprende bastante su opinion respecto del hotel. Las habitaciones no solamente se limpian cautelosamente todos los dias sino que ademas una vez limpias, son revisadas por la gobernanta antes de la entrada del cliente. El problema personal que tuvo usted fue que no se le permitio la entrada a la persona que le acompañla porque no estaba registrada, y la recepcionista le llamo la atencion por este hecho, pues que seguridad ofrece el hotel si puede entrar cualquier persona que no se encuentra registrada?. Se le ofrecio registrarla y que se abonara el suplemento correspondiente y usted se nego. ademas se le ofrecio ver otras habitaciones y tambien se negó. El trato del personal para los clientes es correcto, pero se tienen que cumplir unas normas que el cliente debe respetar al entrar al hotel, tales como registrarse, abonar la estancia, etc. De cualquier forma sentimos que no haya sido de su agrado. Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Shocking ... Myself & My friend had our first well deserved holiday together in 34 yrs which turned out to be a disaster this hotel is terrible ... the towels were dirty & not changed regular we had to ask for toilet roll as we were left without on numerous occasions, the sheets only got changed on the last day , no air con,public phone , cafe or, salon as stated , & the bar was never open the only means of a drink was a vending machine , we had to pay 20 euros for the door key & tv remote control that only played 4 spanish channels , the biggest joke was the balcony you had to share it , it was 2 foot square with 1 chair to share with strangers & last was the shower that wouldnt attach to the wall & sprayed all over the bathroom .

Room Tip: Just dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Betania

Address: Carril de Contreras 12 | Benalmadena Costa, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Betania 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betania Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Betania Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Betania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.