We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hotel in the world!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Betania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Betania to your Saves list
Hotel Betania
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carril de Contreras 12, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the best hotel in the world!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a 5 night stay in this hotel. I would not wish to stay there again. It was very basic, the room was small and the staff didn't understand any English at all. It advertises itself as having a bar, restaurant and lounge. However, there no restaurant open, except for breakfast, and no bar in sight. The only way to get drinks was a vending machine by the door which didn't stock very much. The lounge area was very dingy and dark, certainly not somewhere you would want to sit in and relax. The strangest thing of all was having to pay 20 Euros for a tv remote control we didn't want that had no channels in English at all! The internet didn't work either. On the plus side our sheets and towels were changed every day, but we had to ask for loo roll. The bed was comfortable but it was frustrating having no balcony to sit on. The kidney shaped pool was far too small to sunbathe by. All in all it was o.k. for a short stay if you just want a bed for the night but that is all!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet location but not all rooms have a balcony to sit on, so make sure you ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. En contestacion a su critica hemos de comentarle que el hotel se corresponde a la categoria de dos estrellas, con el precio de esa categoria. El personal de recepcion si conoce el idioma ingles, y de cualquier forma se comunica con el cliente de la forma mas amable posible intentando satisfacer al cliente en todo momento y en la medida de sus posibilidades, siendo requisito imprescindible del puesto el conocimiento del citado idioma,con lo cual nos sorprende bastante este comentario. El bar se encuentra abierto en horario de tarde, es posible que al momento de visitarlo el camarero no se encontrara pero hay avisos de que puede usted avisar en recepcion de todo lo que necesite. El restaurante solo ofrece desayunos y se hace saber al cliente en publicidad, agencias, web, etc. La limpieza es diaria y extremada. Hay habitaciones con balcon, otras con terraza y otros con acceso directo a la pisicna. De cualquier forma sentimos que la estancia no haya sido de total satisfaccion para usted. Reciba un coridal saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    35
    33
    21
    40
See reviews for
15
83
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

terrible......... this hotel is cheap but defo not cheerful! we arrived and was greeted with a very rude receptionist. When my family member wanted to help me up to my room, the receptionist was very rude and confrontational about only the people staying at the hotel are allowed to see the room. My gf and myself walked into the room and were shocked!!! dirt everywhere, leaking and dirty shower, bugs in the shower, hairs all over the sink and toilet, What looked like pubes in the bed, blood on the curtains and a shutter that didn't work. within 2 hours we were checked in and checked out! one to completely disregard!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Nos sorprende bastante su opinion respecto del hotel. Las habitaciones no solamente se limpian cautelosamente todos los dias sino que ademas una vez limpias, son revisadas por la gobernanta antes de la entrada del cliente. El problema personal que tuvo usted fue que no se le permitio la entrada a la persona que le acompañla porque no estaba registrada, y la recepcionista le llamo la atencion por este hecho, pues que seguridad ofrece el hotel si puede entrar cualquier persona que no se encuentra registrada?. Se le ofrecio registrarla y que se abonara el suplemento correspondiente y usted se nego. ademas se le ofrecio ver otras habitaciones y tambien se negó. El trato del personal para los clientes es correcto, pero se tienen que cumplir unas normas que el cliente debe respetar al entrar al hotel, tales como registrarse, abonar la estancia, etc. De cualquier forma sentimos que no haya sido de su agrado. Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Shocking ... Myself & My friend had our first well deserved holiday together in 34 yrs which turned out to be a disaster this hotel is terrible ... the towels were dirty & not changed regular we had to ask for toilet roll as we were left without on numerous occasions, the sheets only got changed on the last day , no air con,public phone , cafe or, salon as stated , & the bar was never open the only means of a drink was a vending machine , we had to pay 20 euros for the door key & tv remote control that only played 4 spanish channels , the biggest joke was the balcony you had to share it , it was 2 foot square with 1 chair to share with strangers & last was the shower that wouldnt attach to the wall & sprayed all over the bathroom .

Room Tip: Just dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmádena Costa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel not bad if bait compact in the rooms.tried to extend room stay for five hours got told ok but when I went topay 20 euros next day was told room booked then went to check out next day was told problem with room windows went back up to room and problem was with window we had not even opened very angry about this think they were trying to keep room deposit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr: Sentimos que la estancia en nuestro hotel no haya sido de su total agrado. Explicarle que el deposito se pide como garantia de la devolucion del mando a distancia de llaves de la habitacion, pues sino se devuelve la llave nos obligamos a cambiar la cerradura como garantia de seguridad de entrada de nuevo cliente. Y respecto al mando de la TV como garantia para que el cliente que entra disponga de mando en las mismas condiciones que usted. Este deposito unicamente es garantia, esto quiere decir que se devuelve a su salida siempre que devuelva el mando de Tv y las llaves, como es lo logico y normal en cualquier comportamiento civilizado de una persona. Desgraciadamente no siempre es asi y nos hemos visto obligados a establecer dicho deposito. Asimismo tambien se establece como garantia de estado de las toallas y sabanas que muchas veces tenemos que tirar a la basura por el mal uso del cliente. Lo normal y en la mayoria de los casos, un 99 por ciento el deposito se devuelve al cliente, siempre que si todo esta correcto y dentro de la normalidad. Todo esto viene reflejado en las normas publicadas detras de la puerta de cada habitacion y en la web del hotel. Sin mas reciba un saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here last week we booked it last minute and got the room for €95 each for the week which was very very cheap! But do yourself a favour if your on a budget just fork out the extra few quid and get a 3 or 4 star place! The staff were EXTEMELY RUDE!

The rooms are TINY. The telly is like something out of the 1920's. when you check into the hotel they charge you €20 deposit for a remote control for the television that only had Spanish channels! Haha what a joke. When I went to collect my deposit on the day we checked out they informed me that I wouldn't be getting it back because I got MAKEUP on the towel! I was SHOCKED €20 for gettin makeup on a towl? Iv stayed in 2 3 and 4 star hotels worldwide and iv got makeup and tan on towls it's not bloody permanent it can be washed! What a joke!

The pool is like a bath! It's so small. The restaurant is terrible. And the terrace is ancient looking. ALL IN ALL IT'S A DUMP

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a night just to save £100 on the flight price. Cost £20 for 2 for the night. Could have done the breakfast option but decided not to after reading a few trip advisor reviews. Looks OK from the outside and is very dated once you are in. If you like an odd sofa this s the place for you. When checking in you save to pay €20 deposit for the key and the remote control for the TV. Laugh... I nearly split my sides! The room was clean ish, the ensuite was ensuite ish, the pool the size of a large bucket. We had a sea view but we couldn't open the balcony door because of the smell of sewage but it was a nice balcony. If you are on the 3rd floor you take 2 lifts to get there and walk the dark corridors the interesting smells also range from Ganga to Garden waste but hey, don't let me put you off IT COST £20 for the night. What do you expect, there was hot water a decent enough bed and 2 Russian tv channels on the 1970's 14 inch portable nailed to the wall. I didn't think about nicking my remote control for nostalgia reasons! This is NOT a place for weeks holiday but it is cheaper than the hostel. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

we booked in for 4nights b&b at easter the guy on reception could not understand half of what we were saying, the first morning we went for breakfast only to be told it was on the 2nd floor then when we went in the room was empty no food there at all so after sitting for a few minutes we decided to leave then this lady appeared and asked for our room number and to wait uno momento then she appeared with two plates with a hard stale roll,slice of ham,butter and jam and an apple with a cup of coffee i tried to tell her that i dont drink coffee but she didnt understand me so we left everything and never went back for breakfast when i went to complain to the guy on reception he said sorry i only speak french, and when we were leaving to come home we had to check in online and print our boarding passes so we tried to do this but the receptionist didnt know what a printer was so we had to pay £70 each because we didnt have our boarding passes we will never go back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Betania

Address: Carril de Contreras 12, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Betania 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betania Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Betania Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Betania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.