We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How VERY disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Village Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“How VERY disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We booked this holiday 9 months ago as our two children aged 3 and 6 kept seeing the pirate ship advertised on the First Choice TV advert. It was to be there first trip abroad so we were all very excited. We booked on all inclusive, booked the boys into swimming lessons so they could make the most of the 11 pools when we got there. We flew out on the 14th May and arrived in sunny Spain. It was slightly windy but warm enough to be in a swimsuit. On arrival at the hotel we had to wait on the coach a further 20 minutes than the self catering guests so that we could have our wrist bands put on. We then went into the hotel where we had to que for half an hour to check in. We then went up to our fourth floor room which was nice and spacious with a huge balcony. On attempting to lock our passports etc in the safe we discovered that you needed a key from reception to activate it. I went down and paid a "deposit" of 15.50 euros. We then headed straight over to the beach club which is accessed via a bridge with spirals at each end to get you over the dual carriageway that runs infront of the hotel. The boys ran straight up to the pool with the pirate ship and jumped in.........and then jumped straight out again. The water was ABSOLUTELY FREEZING!! My husband had also jumped in and had his breath taken away by how cold it was. All the pools were the same. We went back over to the main pool by the hotel and sat by the baby pool. Even this was freezing, my two boys would go in for 5 minutes and then lay under a towel for 20 minutes to warm up again. I was so disappointed I went to speak to the rep who advised we could use the indoor pool......if we all wanted to wear swim caps and only between the hours of 10 - 2!! She then said, lets turn this around for you and get the kids enrolled in the kids club! I had not taken my children to spain to send them into a basement room every day to sit inside! No inflatables were allowed in any of the pools. My husband bought a large rubber ring thinking at least the boys could float on the water in it.....within minutes the lifeguard had blown his whistle and we were told to get it out. There is a sign saying no inflatables or balls in the pool!! Onto the evening entertainment, "games" for the kids 8 - 9, then Bingo for the adults! From 10pm there was a disco for the kids, as this was far too late for our boys to stay up they didn't get to do any dancing and again were disappointed. The ringo slide at the beach club has a height restriction, again, neither of my boys were tall enough to be able to use it. The pool with the jacuzzi beds was just as cold as the rest and an endurance test to how long you could stay in. There is nowhere to walk to outside of the hotel, everything is a bus journey away. My boys wanted ice lollies, these are not included in the all inclusive, only little pots of ice cream are. Despite being "tagged" when we got there with our inclusive bands we still had to carry a key card at all times that you wanted something to eat or drink!! The only positive thing I can say is that the place was absolutely spottless, the buffet and snack bar was great and the pools look just like they do in the brochure/TV advert.........the only thing it doesn't tell you is that the water in all pools is freezing, we were told until about July, then they warm up. In my opinion this hotel is not family orientated at all. The hotel has lots of "hotel rules", most of them very petty. Oh and if you are going, when you check in ask for your "towel cards" at reception, they don't bother to tell you on check in, you will find out for yourselves when you go to get your towels from poolside and then have to treck back inside to reception. On other reviews I have read the staff are very helpful. They must not have been working the week I was the majority of the staff were miserable and anything but helpful!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    578
    295
    121
    76
See reviews for
1,261
113
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We returned from this hotel 20th may after two weeks stay, could not believe how it had changed from a hotel that was hard to fault to a hotel that was more like bedlam than a holiday hotel. There were so many children there that noise and screaming was heard all day. Children were running wild, in one day lifegaurd saved five children from the pool.
Many parents just lay on the sunbeds drinking all day while their children created mayhem. On three occassions there was vomit on stairs, in lobby, bar, and lift. We both have come back with upset tummies, hardly suprising when children were allowed to pick up food with their hands and on occassions put the food back for other people to eat , saw children taking jelly with thier hands and the cholcolate fountain they would pick up strawberries ans marshmallows put their hands in the chocolate and keep doing this, hardly surprising we have tummy upsets. I have read the review for 21st May cannot see how they were at same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great holiday experience. Service great and friendly staff. Excellent kids club activities but could be bigger in how many kids they can have. Good local bus service to local resorts and beach. Excellent tourist attractions such as Selwo Marina and Crocodile Park. Many local bars selling Tapas especially Star Bar in Benalmadena. The market in Fuengirola is definitely worth a visit. Go for a sail on one of the many boat trips leaving from the fantastic benalmadena marina

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Complex was very good for children . Plenty pools of all depths for each age group.
Food was of a reasonably good standard. Entertainment so so. Hotel and grounds very large with wave pools and slides etc. Hotel rooms were large and well furnished also bathrooms were very large with bath and separate shower and double sinks.
Only real fault is the complex is very remote requires buses to go anywhere

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

My Husband and I have just returned from a week at The Holiday Village. Although we had a really great time, there are a few things that are not perfect.
CHECK IN. After a late flight, and arriving at the holiday vilage at midnight all we wanted to do was to get to our room for a good night sleep. No such luck. The check in procedure was really slow. We had filled in all the relevant forms on the coach and when we arrived it still took a good 45 minutes to check in. The guy at the reception desk insisted that we give our credit card details to him, which i refused. They wanted this imformation in case of damages, but i also knew i could pay 100 euros instead. After a few minutes he accepted the 100 euros.
LOCATION. The location of the holiday village is really bad. We walked for a while in both directions and we found the walk rather depressing. All you can see is hotels. The paths are in a bad condition. We found the local beach which wasn't very nice. We have been to other holiday villages and the location was a lot better than this one.
CHILDREN. yes i know this resort is made for families and children, and yes i have been to other holiday villages, but i have never seen so many under 5's in one place. (And i used to be in charge if a playgroup!!) This made for a very noisey resort. Also why do parents insist on letting their children run around in the most stupid places! i.e the resturants and the bars. This holiday village was designed for young children and families so why do they have a fountain in reception which was a magnet for the children, and also a water feature out side, which i saw alot of children playing in. Yes we know that the parents are supposed to keep an eye on their children, but what i saw this didn't happen!!
THE ROOM. We had a really nice room. we didn't overlook the donkey which we were warned about on this site, oh no weren't we lucky!! We had a dog that barked nearly all night instead!! The room was really nice. A really big bathroom. A small kitchen, inside the fridge we found they had left a cold meal for us, which was a really nice touch. We had a bedroom with two good size beds, big enough for us to sleep in one, and also a comfortable lounge. The problem was the cleaners did a poor job of cleaning. The surfaces weren't dusted or the floor moped. Also the bedding wasn't changed.

Although this report sounds like it was bad, but apart from these few things the hotel was great. The bars were good, we spent most of our time in the piano bar drinking gallons of coffee. I found the staff to be really friendly. The lifts were all working perfectly. The swimming pool was nice. Although there was a lot of litter, this was mainly due to lazy tourists not picking up their rubbish when the wind blows it off their tables. The swimming pool at the main hotel wasn't deep enough for adults to swim, but the one at the beach club was a bit deeper in one area, but it was very cold. We didn't use the pools at all. The food in the buffet was really good, i thought the quality was really good. We were all inclusive so i can't comment on the prices, but the vareity of food was really good. The shop on the resort wasn't very good if you were self catering, but as we were all inclusive it served its purpose. The reps were rerally good and friendly. I can't comment on the entertainment as we didn't use it. We went on this holiday for a week for rest and relaxtion, which is what we had, but be warned if you like peace and quiet do not come on holiday here, as there is nowhere to escape the noise. It needs an adult only section. Would i return to this holiday village, no i wouldn't. Would i return to Costa Del Sol, no i wouldn't. I was glad this wasn't our main holiday for this year, we are off to Gran Canaria in September and yes i will be reporting on that holiday too!!!! This is an excellent holiday resort for families with young children but not for couples.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

having read mixed reviews we decided to try it anyway as the price was so good. we taxied from the airport so arrived before everyone else, checked in quickly, you get given forms to fill in before you get to the hotel (by staff at airport) these include the £100 deposit which can be cash or just leave a credit card number. the room was lovely, clean to hotel standard, which is not too bad. bathrooms huge, tiny kichette, two large comfy beds in decent bedroom and smallish lounge with dinning area, and sofa beds and nice big balcony. we had rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the hills, and train track and were very happy with it. slight drain smell early mornings but cleared through day, we left air con on and this helped. we did mention drain smell to reception but nothing could really be done. the hotel itsself is huge and kept very clean and tidy. apart from the usual families who let their children run riot over the indoor garden and play football in the huge halls the place was lovely. the pool and snooker rooms had well kept tables and the arcade reasonable prices ( 1 - 2 euro). kids clubs looked popular and the teenage club well used, my daughter too old for both but what we saw looked fun! the food was lovely, prob the best i have ever had in an all inclusive. you could choose from the usual salads and chips and burger stuff , or embrace the fresh meats and fish (king prawns nearly everyday) which you can take from the pre cook or choose your own and have it fresh made. the chocolate fountains very popular, kebab night and tex mex also good. two onsite restaurants also popular, we tried the italian (also a mexican) and enjoyed the food and service. drinks all generous and of usual standards but you could have certain cocktails free too on the all inclusive deal. the pools and water park all clean and plenty of sun loungers, it was a little cool for us to venture in but the kids again seemed to love it. massive areas covered by the pool and park all lifeguard protected. kids very safe as far as i could see. snacks very good all fresh cooked from an extensive choice for all inc. we also got stuck here with the volcanic erruption, we just stopped in out rooms and continued our holiday as normal, cant fault staff. the spa pool is indoors and adult only in an afternoon, so can swim and use jaccuzzis at leisure. treatments a little pricey so we didnt use, but as everything else included could be a nice treat, again staff lovely. as we got stuck we used the laundry, very expensive (tokens from reception cost £10 a wash and dry) but needs must in our situation. a little out of way for resorts but regular cheap bus service from outside hotel meant you could get anywhere you wanted!! we visited sea life centre in benelmadena the marina here is lovely and loads of boat trips available, also went to zoo in fengerola, all easy enough to get too. entertainment not our thing but again always full so good for those who liked it.we enjoyed the whole holiday (bar been stuck and getting home via the worlds worst coach trip) and have already booked for august. would recommend to any family as kids can move around in secure enviroment (all fenced and gated with security) and parents can enjoy sun, and bar!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ierland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We went on this as a last minute whim as I was off for a week anyway and it seemed to be a good price for 4* all inclusive. It was recommended by a travel agent friend who had been 2 years ago. Off peak travel so we got ground floor apartment as requested though still had to use lifts all the time as pools, restaurant and all entertainment venues are on -1 level. Rooms were well laid out with adequate storage for 4 adults and kept to a reasonable level of cleanliness. Food in main restaurants was very good for the numbers catered for though I would not like to be here in peak season. Snacks were adequate but not what I expected of a 4*. Expensive if you are considering self catering but ideal if going with 4-12 year olds on all-inclusive week away and not intending to venture beyond hotel boundries. Plenty of activities for that age group.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Hotel

Address: CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Holiday Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena
Benalmadena Holiday Village
Holiday Village Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.