We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better then expected !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Village Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Way better then expected !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From what I had read I was almost going to cancel our holiday which would have been a big mistake . From first arrival we were all 2adults 2children made feel very welcome in particular the children . Rooms were huge wit double sinks 2 showers and a separate kitchen which we didn't need ! Ok the sofa beds could do with replacement but this did not have an adverse affect on our holiday as the beds were so large u could fit a full family if needed which we did !!!! Pools especially the beach club all great if only parents would put swim nappys on as pool was closed twice !!! Walk to beach club was 5to 10 mins and not as bad as previously reported !! Kids club staff were fab in particular Laura who welcomed us and even remembered the name of our 3 yr old when he went to kids club which was very impressed considering all of the children they meet !!! My 3 yr old loved the activities and could not wait to go something for him to do at all times ! To the food ok not gourmet but def a good choice and good quality yes chip pizza nuggets for kids but this is mostly what kids want on holidays, for the adults huge choice especially the breakfast omelettes highly recommended with no waiting time !! Overall fab family holiday which we hope to repeat sometime !!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is very pleasing when we hear that our guests have enjoyed their holiday as it means our team have worked hard and given a good service.

We thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    564
    291
    119
    76
See reviews for
1,218
112
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel - nice
Room - nice, but worn in places needed some tlc!
Food - loads of choice but meal times are like a rugby scrum, not a pleasant experience.
Italian restaurant - best meal of our stay, fantastic
Staff - friendly and helpful
Entertainment staff - work very hard all day everyday but we didn't take part, there are quizzes, competitions, games all day around the pool.
Kids club - didn't use it but they always looked busy and kids seemed to be having a good time.
Hotel pool - people were putting towels down from 4.30am (yes, 4.30am) to get sunbeds.
Beach club - opened at 10am, had to be in the queue by 9.30am if you wanted to get a sunbed, but loved it, fantastic pools.
Lunch- is served at the beach club, not as much of a rugby scrum but still hectic, again lots of choice.
Dinner, same restaurant as breakfast, absolute nightmare, kids with their hands in the food, large queues, not a nice relaxing meal!! The second you put the last piece of food in your mouth off your plate, the plate was whipped away whilst you are still chewing!!
Evening entertainment - kids loved it, some nights better than others.
Night times - VERY loud, 2 blocks of rooms at hotel, ask for quiet block, we overlooked piano bar which didn't finish until gone midnight and then there are teenagers running around screaming and shouting outside the room until 2 / 3am and if you want to beat the scrum for breakfast you need to be up and out by 7.30am. We had no more than 4 hours sleep a night due to the noise.
There seemed to be a lot of families that once got their didn't care what their kids were doing, kids fighting in toilets, damaging property including personal property.
Overall - my son enjoyed it and we met some lovely people but I won't be spending 3k to go back there in a hurry!!
My husband also had his wedding ring stolen out of the room when he accidentally left it on the table after putting sun cream on our son.

Room Tip: Ask for block b and a room over looking the crazy golf, you only get the sun in the mornings but at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for your feedback as we can put this to good use in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the
4th of August to the 11th August from the moment we arrived our party of 6 were made feel very welcome by this hotels very friendly and helpful staff the place is spotless and the food is fantastic the swimming pools are more like a water park the lifeguards are strict no messing is tolerated
Which I quite like
I left my iPhone behind in the lunch restaurant one day and I only realised about an hour later when I went back to the restaurant I was delighted that one of the waiters had found it and had gave it to the manager
The reason this hotel is excellent
Is simply its hard working staff
I have been on a Spanish holiday every year for the past 21 years and this is by far the best run hotel I've stayed at I highly recommend
it for a great family holiday
From the Duffy family Ireland

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed you recent holiday with us.

We appreciate the feedback as it helps us rectify things where we may be able to improve.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first all inclusive so we didn't know what to expect. However this holiday was fantastic. Rooms clean and quite large. We had two rooms one for my wife and I and a room for 3 kids, ages 14,16 and 17. The food was lovely and plenty of choice for all tastes. We went to the beach club every day and found the staff very friendly and the area kept very clean.
We would recommend this hotel and hope to go back again.

Room Tip: We had a rooms at the back of the hotel which looked over the hillside. It was lovely and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us when read that our guests enjoyed their holiday with us.

We enter this buisness for that exact reason so is very satisfying when we are told we have achieved our goals.

Thank you for the feedback and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We travelled with two girls 12 and 3, the entertainment team was amazing. The hotel staff were great with lifeguards on every pool, and they actually were active on watch. They were busy on a few occasions.
Room seemed to be set up for self catering, so we had a fridge and cooker. This was a welcome extra. We had a room at the back of the hotel, so we had a little noise from the railway at the back, but this was minimal and the girls loved watching them zoom past.
Food was excellent with a large and changing selection. There was a mix of classics and local cuisine to try.
Overall it was so good we are booked to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that your family enjoyed their holiday at our hotel.

Your feedback is very useful to us as it helps us improve our services where we deem they are necesarry and we thank you for taking the time and leaving it logged here.

We look forward to seeing yu again son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have to echo everything Russell C said in his review, we are no stranger to the holiday villages either and this is our 2nd visit in 3 years to Costa Del Sol. Took Nana and Grandad with us this time so 2 kids, 4 adults and 2 pensioners and we all had a ball. We too spent all day at the beach club across the road and for those who moan about the 'long walk' (which it isn't) it's a pleasant way to walk off your huge delicious breakfast and opportunity to eat even nicer food in the restaurant at lunch time; forget the 6am sunbed-dash....you're on holiday!...have a lie-in, breakfast at 9 and wait for the gate to open at 10. Beach club doesn't have any First Choice activities going on like the main pool does but we weren't bothered as there were plenty of fun OR relaxing things to do over there. We took a taxi from outside the hotel to Fuengirola market,12euros each way & there is a taxi rank at the entrance to the market so dead easy to get a taxi back, lots of cafe bars if you fancy a drink before you head back - market was pretty big and worth a visit if you like your Spanish markets. Evening entertainment is typical First Choice so plenty for the kids to enjoy and adults from 10pm, the inside bar is lovely and you can sit inside or out, nice atmosphere if you want a break from the kids area. Kids arcade came in handy during these evenings and everything in there is a euro..reception happy to provide change. We ate at the Mexican and Italian restaurants. Mexican was a little bit disappointing but nothing major just not very authentic, but the Italian was superb. We gave our holiday 8 thumbs up and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to hear that all members of your family enjoyed their holiday.

This is exactly we we set out to do for all our guests and is very satisfying when we hear that we were able to do so.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault this hotel,rooms immaculate,food was great,pools were outstanding-strict lifeguard who was very good at her job,animation team were good but having a 15&9&7 yr old think they were a little too old 4it. Beach is a taxi ride away but we got conned in2a free taxi by two timeshare women standing outside the hotel-free taxi&free lunch at their hotel was good but that's 2hrs of our lives we will never get back:-/ 0n the whole-definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to read that we were able to satisfy your family on your last visit.

We will share your kind words with all our staff as they like to hear from our guests.

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule and leaving us your feedback, we appreciate it.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Hotel

Address: CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Otel so you can book your Holiday Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena
Benalmadena Holiday Village
Holiday Village Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.