We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Village Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hotel!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just arrived back in uk from holidaying here for 2 VERY pleasant weeks!Before going we were a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews but after seeing the hotel for ourselves we realised we had nothing to worry about.The hotel itself was spotless,the staff were very friendly and helpful and the kids club entertainers were fab with the little ones and made you feel very at ease.As for the food....sooooo much to choose from fresh displays of fruit and continental meats,cheeses hot options...I could go on.Kids had a fantastic time in the pools and again lots to choose from for all ages.Do deffinatly recommend this hotel to anyone with children,relaxing fun in the sun...what more could you ask for!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food as we have been making improvements and changes to several areas and it sounds as though it may be working.

We thank you for taking the time and leaving your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    564
    291
    119
    76
See reviews for
1,218
112
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic holiday here about 3 years ago and raved about it to the rest of the family ... So we all came out for a week this year at the end of June and again had a brilliant time. This time there were 14 of us ranging from 1 1/2 yrs to 62 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our selves. Some thing to entertain all ages. Rooms were lovely and we were even all next to each other (4rooms) lovely views and maids in every day, perfect. Staff on the whole were friendly and welcoming. Food was aplenty morning noon and night .. I have a very very fussy daughter and she managed to find plenty to eat. The water park over the road is brilliant, but the hotel pool is also good the entertainment team have things going on through the day if you choose to join in. We are already deciding when we can come back again. The only down side was it had to end!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure it is to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We set out to please all guests and is very satisfying when we find out that we have been able to do so.

Your kind words will be transmitted to our whole team and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I can only add the the more recent reviews about this hotel. If anybody has any concerns, please message me or one of the other more recent reviewers.

First of all, let me state - the was a bug going round during the month of May (before we arrived) but by all accounts, the hotel did everything it could to rectify the problem. Health and safety did a visit and by the time we arrived (16th June) there was no trace any more. Any bad reviews based on the bug have to be taken in context. Now onto our holiday...

There were 2 adults and 3 children (aged 5,3 and 8 months) and we had a truly wonderful time. There is no question that this place is geared towards families, especially with younger children but all of the promotion and advertising makes this pretty clear. We paid a small extra for a pool/sea view room and we were perfectly situated (room 432). It was spacious and clean with a large balcony.

FOOD: Plenty of choice and of a good standard! Remember, this is all inclusive and not a-la-carte but for goodness sake,some people are so fussy. Breakfast was delicious (fresh omlettes, pancakes etc.) and evening dinner had lots of choice (contrary to some reviews). Most days we just snacked by the poolside bar for lunch (nuggets, hot dogs etc) but the beach club (only 3 mins walk over bridge) had a full lunch service and it was very tasty too.

KIDS CLUBS: The BEST part by far!!! The first choice team worked really hard all day (both the kids club workers as well as the entertainment team). Big shout out to Hetty who seemed to be taking over the overall leadership from Rory who was just moving to another Holiday Village. Our kids loved the clubs when they went and baby Isabelle had 6 creche sessions and was well looked after also

LOCATION: It is a bit of a walk or a bus to get to one of the resorts but again, this is made abundantly clear in the brochure - we hired a car anyway and travelled to various places, including Gibraltar.

ATMOSPHERE/ATTITUDES: Let's be clear again - this place is geared towards families so therefore there are lots of kids and this creates a vibrant atmosphere. If you want peace and quiet don't come here but the hotel does not attempt to project that image anyway. As for the whole 'drunk Brits' thing - this place is all inclusive and like anywhere, there will be some who will have a bit too much to drink but I found everyone to be pleasant and out to just enjoy their holiday - just the way it should be.

We have now caught the Holiday Village bug and have already booked Algarve for next year but would definitely pay this place a visit again! Well done both Holiday Village hotel itself as well as the role First Choice played

Any questions just message me :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind wrods regarding our hotel.

We are happy you enjoyed your holiday as this is what we aim to do for all our guests.

With regards to your comments about a bug, the NoroVirus has unfortunately affected many areas this year, and at the Holiday Village we take all possible steps to minimize the risk of it spreading further, by following strict hygiene procedures put in place throughout all of our hotels.

These procedures are controlled both internally and externally. Norovirus gets stronger in respect to the temperature at the time. It´s a virus that is mainly caught in airports and planes.

Thanks again for your feedback and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

First of all I would like to mention the fabulous entertainment team Jimmy, hetty, Carly, Cara, Tyler and luke. These guys were amazing they really made our holiday and in my opinion should be on TV. I cannot praise these guys enough. Also the swimming academy team. The hotel is immaculately clean and rooms are top notch. The food is great and there is somthing for everyone, the hotel really make an effort in pleaseing people. I am already looking at booking this place again.....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Colo1681,

Many thanks for taking the time and leaving your views about our hotel.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and your kind words regarding the staff will be shared with them as they appreciate it.

Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again very sson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed hear on the 18th June for 2 weeks it was just amazing food rooms etc where awesome,, all the reps were brilliant so hard working kids club reps awesome and also crèche team 100% you all made our holiday and we will be defenilty returning not got 1 bad point about this holiday village,, keep up all the good work guys prob see you all soon end off August I hope we'll done :) :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday. This is the very reason many of us enter this industry.

We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Arrived last week to this hotel which is quite frankly butlins abroad.
Paid first choice to move after 1 night.
Food was discussing, I was served raw pork on the evening we queued 30 minutes to get into the restaurant which had food all over the floor, dirty tables and kids screaming and shouting everywhere.
Room was dirty, smelt of sewage, sofa bed was filthy, hair dryer didn't work, complained and got nowhere, this is NOTa 4 star hotel.
Wine served in plastic beakers, no sun beds and hundreds of kids everywhere.
Not at all suitable for couples .
Wouldn't recommend it.
No wonder so many people were ill in the weeks leading up to travelling .
Eating raw food would do that !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear pearce44,

We are sorry to hear that there were aspects of your holiday that you were not happy with.

As you may be aware our hotel is an All Inclusive hotel focused on families so therefore there will be children. The fact that the hotel was almost full at the time of your stay would suggest why there were so many people with their children dining in our restaurants.

With regards to your comments about the food, our kitchens and procedures are checked every 15 days by two independent authorities and to this date, have NEVER found anything wrong or that could harm any of our guests.

Your views are taken on board as we use them to improve where we deem necesarry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from the Holiday Village in Costs Del Sol. After reading the reviews on here a few nights before we travelled I almost cancelled our holiday! Reading about the Noro Virus etc. I was so worried about taking our 1yr old on his 1st holiday here... Thank goodness we never cancelled though because there was absolutely nothing to worry about! The hotel is spotlessly clean, granted a good 3* but I can see where they are getting the 4* from with the Beach Club facilities. There is no Noro Virus and the hotel goes to such lengths as to having hand sanitisers outside of every restaurant there. Location of holiday village isn't great it's very much secluded but you have everything on site that you need re; entertainment etc. Yes the pools are cold however, on a hot sunny day it's quite refreshing and my baby lived in the pool the whole time we were there. Food was great plenty of choice. Seriously if you are travelling here shortly do not pick up on the bad vibes on here we had a great time and you having nothing to worry about its a smashing hotel.

If I have one grumble it is that the sofa bed needs renewing in room 145 it's very shabby! ;0)

Room Tip: Pool views can be noisy if you have small babies just with entertainment on evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Hotel

Address: CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Otel so you can book your Holiday Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena
Benalmadena Holiday Village
Holiday Village Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.