We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it couldn't fault the place other than the weather which no one could predict” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Village Hotel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Village Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Village Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 hotels in Benalmadena
somerset England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it couldn't fault the place other than the weather which no one could predict”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here with a one year old and three year old, despite cooler clouded weather than we would have expected the hotel was brilliant, felt the need to write a review as I'm shocked by some on here okay a few weeks after we left, entertainments team netty, Rory and co were brilliant and both us and our kids lived the day and evening activities/shows, our son aged just one has coeliac disease which means he can't eat a lot of foods but the hotel and main chef were amazing at making sure he had something safe very day. We thought breakfast was spot on every day for the while family and generally could not fault this place, the staff or the service we received. Transfers flights etc all great. Our only slight greviance was the pool temperature but we put this down to the lack of sun we had as if it had been hotter that week the cool water may have been more appealing. Would recommend to others for sure

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff.

We will pass these on to encourage them to continue the good work.

The pools are still a little cool as the evenings still haven´t reached the normal high temperatures to maintain the temperature. We do, however, have a heated indoor pool should guests wish to use it.

We hope that we see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    516
    505
    250
    106
    65
See reviews for
1085
95
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Booked this hotel as a recommendation based on the kids entertainment and wasn't disappointed. All of the kids club and entertainment staff were great, especially Terry (just told me he wants to come back and see you ha) who our son William thought was great, but all were enthusiastic and really engaged with the kids. We didn't think he'd want to go to this so much but ended up in the kids club most days and some nights.

This is about the best thing about the place. The rooms are fine, spacious, clean etc but very noisy a night. The food was average at best and whether a coincidence or not, three of us picked up a 24 hour bug whilst at this hotel among many other guests. The pool closed four times for, ahem, additional cleaning during the day which limited us when trying to teach swimming to our eldest and the aqua park water is a bit fresh to stay in too long.

In summary, we went for the kids, they loved it but maybe a bit chaotic if you're after something a bit more relaxing. Great to have peace of mind however with excellent and well qualified kids club staff who were professional and reassuring. Take or leave the rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the comments you have left.

We are sorry you were ill during your holiday, but the NoroVirus has unfortunately affected many areas this year, and at the Holiday Village we take all possible steps to minimize the risk of it spreading further, by following strict hygiene procedures put in place throughout all of our hotels.

These procedures are controlled both internally and externally.Norovirus gets stronger in respect to the temperature at the time. It´s a virus that is mainly caught in airports and planes.


We appreciate your comments as they can help us improve for the future and we would hope that you would consider us again for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Speak as you find, We have just come back from this hotel and we all had a fab week there. Our room was spotlessly clean and plenty of room for us to move about. There were fresh towels everyday and the room was cleaned everyday. Other areas of the hotel were cleaned regulary inside and out, so loads of cleaners out there empyting bins and picking rubbish up off the floor.
We didn't see any overflowing bins while we were there.

There was plenty of choice on the foods each morning and evening. We ate in the beach club resturant every lunchtime as this was a better choice than the snack bar at the pool which was burgers pizza etc.

All the reps work extremely hard as do the entertainment team especially Rory, Hetti, Jimmy and Carly. Kid's Club reps were excellent with children. My daughter loved it and was well looked after and it was nice to know that the secruity measures in place were adhered to by the staff and this made us feel reassured.

All reception staff are helpful and the restaurant staff work hard all day long. My only complaint of the holiday was that the pool was shut down twice for code brown, but atleast the staff do all that they can to avoid any cross infection, Don't worry about this as we went over to the beach club for the afternoon which is only a short walk over the bridge. We didn't see any sickness over there at all.

Everything was great for us from the time we landed until we were being flown back home no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a sea view room and stay in the oasis block as this as everything in it including...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time and leaving your feedback. This is very helpful for us as we can put it to good use and improve our services.

We do insist that all babies wear swimming nappies and this fact is announced throughout the day and advertised in many areas.

Thanks again for your response and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I wanted something for myself and my nephew aged 6 during the half term which was easy - I knew this wasn't going to be my dream destination but I have to say he loved it. It's an ideal place for kids to meet and play with 8 pools to choose from, although the freezing water takes some getting used to.
When we arrived (11am) we checked in and the room was ready which was a result, but we were just left and find our way around and this place is HUGE - we did get lost for the first couple of days ! I asked a couple for some tips and the first thing they told me was there had been a sickness bug going around the hotel, I am not surprised with the amount of people there. They gave me some great tips as the welcome meeting wasn't until the following morning (would have been good to have a rep on the bus from the airport to give up some details)

By day 3 I couldn't go back into the restaurant, it wasn't a pleasant experience but I can see why people do it - and for the amount of people there the staff were very good and there was always plenty of food. Just not my idea of a nice evening so we headed to the marina for the next few nights which was lovely.

Our hotel room was big - but yes there was an odd sewage smell often lurking in our room. There was a bath and a separate shower which is great for getting ready in the evenings.
There is a small kitchen although we never used it.

Although there was only two of us we did struggle to get sun beds around the main pool. I preferred to be across the road at the beach club where its a little more relaxed.

Mostly junk food (nuggets hot dogs etc) served all day by the main pool but this suited us for a snack. The lunch at the beach club was better and gain loads on offer and little more chilled with outdoor seating.

I personally wouldn't go back but I know my nephew would :-)

Room Tip: After reading reviews I phoned first choice and asked for a note to be made on my reservation for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Don't understand some previous reviews, flight, transfer smooth, hotel and room 4*, staff very friendly and hard working, huge place to do as much or as little as you want. Cleaning all the time, replacing towels, bins. Food good, I chose the fresh cooked meats/fish which was filling, plenty of choice although some local foods not to my liking. Plenty of like for like drinks, ice cream, but you pay for branded items. Pools are cold, but nice when it's 30 everyday!
There are some bloody ignorant people (Brits) but you get that anywhere! Kids fending for themselves or being dumped into one of four aged group kids clubs, so parents can drink and sunbathe! I suppose it's a reflection of life in Blighty!
Reps do work hard, even Rory and his sprout present (eaten lovingly) and Hetty's milk hair wash!
Most evening entertainment decent and varied.
Two code browns, one a baby, one a 6 yr old! You know who you are (disappeared very quickly), the hotel and tour should emphasise more on wearing swim nappies in welcome meetings, even broadcasting over pool by the reps the need for them! All in all you make what you want if it. A family of 5 had great time, no issues, relax - you're on holiday! Would return, but like to go to diff places

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked this holiday just after Xmas for six adults and two kids under four. We were initially concerned with all the negative comments posted and were apprehensive to say the least. Our concerns were completely unfounded. From arrival at our departure airport to our return journey we had no problems at all and I can honestly say its one of the best holidays ever. We would like to thank all the entertainment team who worked enthusiastically all day to keep adults and kids alike entertained. The reception staff very friendly and helpful especially Sara. First choice reps very professional and very helpful, a credit to First Choice. Yes the pools are freezing but our two kids thoroughly enjoyed the baby pool and the beach is about a kilometre down the road but this was not an issue. The room was spacious and was in need of a little updating but room service was very good. We found the food to be well presented and varied. There is a snack shack by the pool but the best food at lunch was over at the beach club. On the whole, a brilliant holiday, and we look forward to booking our next trip with First Choice.

Room Tip: Pool view and sea view rooms well worth the extra outlay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about our hotel.

It is very pleasing for us to read that you enjoyed your holiday.

We will pass on your words of praise to our staff as this helps them stay motivated and makes their efforts worthwhile.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

just returned we took a 3 year old grandaughter and must say we had a ball security was brill food was fine plenty of choice local buses regular if you want to go out to local places.granted pools were cold at the water park maybe need to be abit heated this time of year.poo incidents in the pool thats not hotels fault that iresponsible parents and they know who they are.just looking now to book for next year all i can say is make up your own mind and if you are picky dont go .one last thing the activities all day are great if you have got older children or want to do things yourself

Room Tip: large rooms go higher for less noise although it didnt bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear HappyJune12,

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your recent holiday at our hotel. This is why we are here.

Your kind words will be passed on to our team to motivate them to carry on in in the same vein the future.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope to see you gain soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#14 of 47 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 47 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#30 of 47 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#12 of 47 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Free internet...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Hotel

Address: CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#3 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Holiday Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena
Benalmadena Holiday Village
Holiday Village Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.