We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday Nice Company” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Save Saved
You added Las Arenas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in Benalmadena
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Holiday Nice Company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned after 11 nights to the las arenas we had a great time met some lovely people from all over england.The Hotel is very clean towel change every day lovely clean sheets. Breakfast was very nice only let down was the evening meal very nice but not much variety BUT if a cake lover WOW .BUT ALSO BE AWARE LOTS OF PICKPOCKETS ABOUT. But all in all we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    332
    83
    24
    8
See reviews for
161
534
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed the first week in June on a half board basis. We booked at last minute and were surprised at the quality of this hotel.
Reception was very helpful with anything we needed including extra pillows and directions to various places.
The food was excellent, great variety and plenty to eat.
Happy hour is always good where ever you stay.
There were plenty of sun beds and umbrellas at the pool.
While the rooms were spotless they are quite narrow so there is not much room to move around. There is also a lot of noise between the rooms, once I could actually hear a conversation going on in the next room. The water refilling tanks in the toilets is also very noisy.
the hotel is close to everything and buses run outside it frequently.

Its well worth a visit and I may well make a second visit to it in the future

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the hotel may not be as noisy as the ones with the limited sea view. but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambrigeshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely hotel spotless, clean staff friendly and helpfull, location good, shops, nice evening walks, beach across road from hotel, plenty different selection of food, you have to pay for water with your evening meal. Only fault i found was that it states gents must wear long trousers for evening meal and i spotted loads not dressing to the code of dress.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went for a week with my hubby, and loved it! Hotel has a great location right on the front, bars and restaurants right on tap, all on the flat so perfect for the less mobile. Make sure you visit the bars on the beach, they salt the sardines and bbq in front of you - just yummy. The food in the hotel is very good, we were just b n b, the breakfast is excellent! The evening meal at the hotel is excellent, tho pricey (if your on b nb) if you get a good rate on halfboard great. That being said we enjoyed trying the plentiful restaurants most nights, a great choice and dead cheap. The hotel staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble, the bar is spacious and well laid out. All in all a little gem right in the centre. One small thing, the pool, while lovely and private... its sort of a mezzanine and is accessed via flight of steps which would be impossible for some folk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great hotel, right on the main street, opposite the lovely sandy beach, Room excellent, food great,
staff great. Hotel spotlessly clean. Location was great near to all night life.Lovely outdoor terrace all light up at night where you can sit, sip a cocktail or two and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been to this hotel twice a year for the past six years however this visit 5th to 19th May was the first time since the hotel booking etc was taken over by "Thompson". Did we notice any difference, not really, apart from the Thompson rep in attendance everyday and a slight improvement in the nightly entertainment it was the same excellent hotel with friendly, attentive and helpful staff as previous.
The standard of food, rooms and cleanliness is top notch and proven by the large amount of repeat visitors we meet each time we stay. Yes the majority of guests are senior citizens but this does not mean that other age groups cannot enjoy themselves at the Las Arenas, our daughter,son in law and grandaughter 2 yrs old came with us last October and enjoyed it so much they have booked again for this October. We would recommend this hotel.
Good things about the hotel, entertainment & bar, food, cleanliness, friendly helpful staff, excellent location for walking or going by bus, lots of bars & restaurants nearby, beach across the road and the lovely Paloma Park 250mtrs at the rear of the hotel.
Not so good things, lifts are small (however there are 3 together ) rooms on the 2nd floor pool side. Drop off and pick up point using Thompson transfer is a bus stop 200 mtrs from the hotel.
Hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front overlook the sea but road noise is noticeable. Rooms on the pool side have sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from our stay in the Las Arenas, we requested a room on the 6th floor and that is what we got!! we were delighted with our room view was really lovely, sea view+mountain,+beach.We went half board but next time i think b+b would be more than enough not expensive to eat out and lots of choice.Pool area was very nice but could have done with a little snack bar...This hotel was spotless and cleaning staff were very helpful, please leave them a nice tip well deserved.... Would return to this hotel again...

Room Tip: Room 622 wonderful views, sun in the evening...nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Arenas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.