We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Save Saved
You added Las Arenas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 hotels in Benalmadena
Arklow.Eire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While the staff are very nice and helpful the week we spent here at the end of October is not something I would wish to repeat. We went half board but only had dinner one evening in the restaurant. This was due to the fact that if you did not get down and queue before 6.30 you would end up waiting in a long line to be seated. The waiters meanwhile were worked to the bone and as our dinner included wine and water we had to ask twice for same, no chance of getting a second wine as they were just too busy. We ended up having a salad and a dessert and no main as the queue was just too much then noise unbelievable and all in all an uncomfortable experience. We got out as quickly as possible as the turnaround on table was unreal. We then got chatting to some people in the lobby who told us they had been moved from another hotel which had closed and they were very unhappy with the whole set up as they were quite elderly and had to stand and queue for meals. As I have said the staff were nice but under too much pressure, the rooms were spotless but just too busy and ..not my cup of tea

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    326
    82
    24
    8
See reviews for
160
527
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel was very good (unfortunately it rained the whole 5 days we were there) the rooms were excellent spotlessly clean - the staff very friendly and helpful and the food was good with a large variety. Our rooms were on the 7th floor (we said we were in the penthouse suites) Nos 703 and 705 which I would recommend as they overlooked the pool and also the sea - which would have been great if the sun had been shining. All in all the hotel is in anexcellent position across from the beach and a couple of minutes from Paloma Park which is a lovely area to visit.Recommend a visit to Mija - you can get there on the bus for 3 euro return the views from this place are amazing

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Once a hotel where you could gaurantee a relaxing stay with good food and one where we have stayed on many occasions as a quick escape from the UK weather , sadly now one we may avoid in future . Our booking for a quiet twin room turned into a noisy double on the front of the hotel , not helped by badly behaved school children staying in the room above.The hotel has relied on considerate guests in the past but as the Nautilus and Riviera seemed to be closed for a winter refurbishment then their guests seemed to choose here instead , where perhaps the sound proofing is not what they were used to before ! The meal times were a real bun-fight with many guests having to queue outside the dining room and the buffet became a melee of arms and elbows with short tempers to match.The lovely staff were working themselves into a lather to try to get everyone seated and served but it was just too,too busy and needed organising into two sittings. The quality of the hot food selection at dinner has deteriorated in our opinion and a B&B option would be your best bet if you do book . The breakfasts are quite good with a wide selection but be prepared to wait at the ancient toasters which just need replacing . The whole hotel is now starting to look a bit tired and needs some work and a re-think of entertainment and food if it wants to continue to attract the tourists . Wonderful location and staff but spend some money on it even if it means putting up the prices . This time it had the feel of a retirement home and as pensioners ourselves that is not what we are looking for .

Room Tip: High floor on the west side are quietest- subject to neighbouring guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone , N.I.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A pleasant bedroom with a reasonable side-sea view . Pillows a bit uncomfortable and a couple of cushions would have been welcome . In-room fridge was useful . Heating and shower both fine . Nice pictures and spotlessly clean throughout hotel . Staff helpful . Pleasant large lounge . Food quite good but vegetarian choice a bit limited and some of what was suitable would have needed labelling as such . Entertainment not bad , especially for November . A good location . We had some excellent pizzas a few doors away and although we don't normally like Indian food , had an excellent very mild Indian meal in a nearby place called Milan . Also we greatly enjoyed the cable car trip up the mountain .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for a week mid October, weather was fantastic which always helps. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant staff were very efficient and nothing was too much bother, they do a great job considering the numbers they have to cater for.
We stayed half board, the food was lovely from the salads to the meat which was really tender, sweets great, breakfast was good too, there was a good choice at both meals. Stayed in other hotels Costa del Sol also 4* but the food here was the best.
The hotel is spotless, rooms cleaned daily, fresh towels etc. beds were really comfortable, there is a fridge in the room which is great.
Majority of the other guests were elderly, no complaints there it was quiet at night no one coming in late and making a lot of noise. We are in our 50's so felt young.
There is a supermarket just behind the hotel which is handy.
Before booking I had read other reviews, our balcony door was open most nights and I can't say there was much road noise, or that there was any noise from other rooms.
The hotel is good value, food is great, friendly staff, lovely location what else can I say.
Hopefully will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side have the sun in the morning the other side sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

thank you hotel las arenas for the best three days ever,10 out of 10.the staff were fantastic,the food better,the hotels in perfect place for all beach lovers,and close to all entetainment.we will be going back.

Room Tip: this hotels on a main road,so remember this when booking,as we live on a main road the traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

myself and wife returned to this hotel November 2012 last time 6 years ago when it was 4star ,food ok but not as good,room smaller than we remembered but still a good hotel overall with exception of dining room ,got to dining room entrance way 6.55pm stood in queue until 8pm before getting in,after first 30 minutes we were all allocated a number which was then shouted out by the head waiter when a table became available not a very good start to evening meal.I found this unacceptable and therefore would not return and feel it now only warrents 3star.

Room Tip: high room at back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Arenas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.