We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday from hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palia La Roca Hotel-Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palia La Roca Hotel-Club to your Saves list
Palia La Roca Hotel-Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de Cadiz, Km 221.5 | Playa Santa Ana, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“holiday from hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

For the money me and my wife paid £508 each
For a/I in this hotel
It was the worse holiday I have ever been on
For a 3star hotel to hold 350 people
It only had one gents and one ladies toilet
Bar kept running out off drink not to be replaced
Food was cold and not a very good selection it was that bad
Did not go for lunch or dinner the I not only my opinion but others we meet in
Pub down a bottom of road a well
How room was very bad standard every time you had air con on along with iron or h/dryer
It blew the fuse box
If it was not for the sun we got that week would have beenhome after 2nd day
Entertainment was over poor as well
Also got put of bus 10min further Down road from hotel and had to walk back to hotel
Please avoid 25/10/13

Room Tip: Avoid is all I can say
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    119
    81
    37
    38
See reviews for
94
117
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this amazing hotel for a week. It was NOT long enough. I wish we would have booked for two weeks. Everything about this hotel is fantastic. The staff can't do enough for you, the food is exquisite and abundant, the entertainment is excellent. The location is wonderful.
We arrived around midday and as the rooms were not ready (I must say, at this point, that my work has taken me to four and five star hotels all over the UK, and their rooms were never available until about 2 or 3pm or even later.) We were directed to the bar, and because we bought all inclusive, we were given drinks without extra charge and simply relaxed in the lovely, comfortable foyer until our rooms were ready. Our rooms were actually available before 1pm. I was very impressed.
I had, previously asked for a room with a sea view, as high up as possible and I was not disappointed. The view was breathtaking. We had views of the beautiful Mediterranean Sea, the mountains, the pool, the lovely town, everything. The beds are surprisingly very comfortable and I am a spoiled princess when it comes to beds, believe me. We had a lovely big balcony, which was a suntrap in the afternoon and the evening.
On our first day, a woman staying there told us how the food was 'terrible' and how the cleaners had 'robbed' all of her electrical appliances. We could see that she lied about the food, considering that the food was delicious, and obviously the chef was very passionate about what he did, and I doubt very much that any of the staff had stolen from her. She became very excited and animated when she talked about the money she was going to be paid out from the travel insurance company. Hmmmmm, anyway. I must point out that we left expensive cameras charging, a laptop and some expensive jewellery around and they were never touched. Nothing was stolen from us whatsoever. By the way, safety deposits are available if you would like one. We did obtain one when we first checked in but we felt so at ease with the staff that we really didn't use it that much.
I don't understand past reviews which say that this hotel only caters for the French and that the French are rude. The entertainers spoke in English, French and Spanish every time that they were on stage and the food catered for the French AND the English. Most people that we met were lovely and very polite, regardless of which country they came from. Our philosophy is to be polite to everyone we meet and we almost always get that back..I also feel that some bad reviews come from rival hotels rather than genuine holiday makers. Almost everyone we met, there, were having a fantastic time.
All the staff, there, were amazing but we would specially like to mention, and thank, Stephanie and Victoria (at reception) Jesus and Ana (at the bar), the chef at the restaurant, the cleaning ladies, Julien, Jose and sorry but I can't remember the lovely French girl's name (entertainment) for their legendary service. What fantastic, beautiful people!. They really enhanced our whole experience there.
We will definitely be going back there and next time it will be for a much longer duration. Thank you sooooo very much Palia La Roca for making our holiday such a wonderful, memorable experience.
Also I notice that some reviews mention a steep incline to the entrance to the hotel. We did not even see a hill. Very confused about that one!The walk from the transfer taxi to the entrance was perfectly flat and easy for anyone to get to.
I realise that I have praised this hotel to the hilt, but they really do deserve it. If you think that I was not a real guest and that I am working for the company, here is my facebook link. It is set on private but if you wish to add me, you will see that I am exactly who I say I am.
https://www.facebook.com/alura.ofalcyone.3
Lots of love from Chris and Maria (Room 517) xxx

Room Tip: Smile, relax, have fun and ask if you want a room with a sea view or a pool view, high up/low up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Everything was excellent at the hotel until a few days before we left when we heard that it was going to close down,for refurbishment. A problem with our patio door lock was fixed within hours,the day after we arrived.

The bar,dining room and reception staff were helpful and the entertainment was the best I had ever seen in the past 40 years that I have travelled to Spain!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in the Palia La Roca for one week and had a great time- The locati0on of the hotel is in good position, and is near all shops/bars and the beach. The hotel was very clean and the room we stayed in was spacious and cleaned every day with clean towels- The food was ok and was always something to choose from- though sometimes the food was cold- however there is a microwave you can use to hot this up- Drinks do come in plastic cups but this fine- We found most staff friendly and polite- Bojar, Miguel, Jesus and Pecko Bar/Restaurant staff. However the main animation staff didn't do much English and I have to admit was a lot of French spoken when any activities/entertainment was happening- even though there was a lot of British in the hotel- However the other 2 animation staff were polite. Just to advise you have to pay 10 euros for the all inclusive band however you get this back when you leave the hotel- The hotel should realise a lot of British use the hotel and should speak English as well. There is also plenty of sunbeds. Overall this hotel was value for money and would return to this hotel

Room Tip: Pool view as this overlooks the beach as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived at Palia La Roca on 29th Sept 2013 with another couple, and from the moment we arrived at the reception the staff could not do enough for you. Stephania the receptionist was excellent and very friendly and while she was dealing with us to check us in a french gentleman just barged in front and she politely in french told him to wait his turn as she was checking us in, which he did not like. Yes the hotel does have a lot of rude french there but that did not deter us one bit and when they jumped the drinks queue my husband in no matter of fact told them to go to the back off the queue. Food was excellent with a very good variety every day and all the staff was very friendly and therefore would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: We had an average room with pool view but at the end of the day you only sleep there so was not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Smashing location. Fixtures and fittings need upgrading. Very clean and staff throughout hotel are very nice and helpful. We had a sea view which I loved although you can hear the traffic but this didn't stop me from having a good sleep. The restaurant always provided a good selection. We stayed from 06/10/2013 to 13/10/2013. Weather was great hot and sunny. We would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed from 02/10/13 to 12/10/13. We had a great time. A room with a view over the hotel, out to the mountains and the sea. Remembering this is a 3 star hotel, we thought good value. The food wasn't always to my likeing ( my partner loved it) and it is aimed at the French but it was always well cooked and well presented. There were French and English people there and we found no problem at all, although i can imagine it could be abit intimidating if there were too many French. There was a member of staff, a guy, small and i cannot remember his name, i'm sure it began with S, he was great, happy, remembered your drinks and always had a smile. The pools are lovely. The rooms cleaned throughly every day. Loved the meal times, breakfast served till 10.30 and dinner till 9.30 so didn't have to get up to early and rush in the evening. Location for beach is fantastic. Over the road is a bar called 'The Bus top' It's brilliant and run by a British lady who is very nice, as is her staff. We would return to this hotel. We took the tour bus (13euro's each but for 48 hours) on our second day, this was fantastic as it gave us our bearings and where everything was that we would like to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palia La Roca Hotel-Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palia La Roca Hotel-Club

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, Km 221.5 | Playa Santa Ana, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palia La Roca Hotel-Club 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palia La Roca Hotel-Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palia La Roca Hotel-Club Hotel Benalmadena
Palia La Roca Hotel-Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palia La Roca Hotel-Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.