We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palia La Roca Hotel-Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palia La Roca Hotel-Club to your Saves list
Palia La Roca Hotel-Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de Cadiz, Km 221.5 | Playa Santa Ana, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed from 02/10/13 to 12/10/13. We had a great time. A room with a view over the hotel, out to the mountains and the sea. Remembering this is a 3 star hotel, we thought good value. The food wasn't always to my likeing ( my partner loved it) and it is aimed at the French but it was always well cooked and well presented. There were French and English people there and we found no problem at all, although i can imagine it could be abit intimidating if there were too many French. There was a member of staff, a guy, small and i cannot remember his name, i'm sure it began with S, he was great, happy, remembered your drinks and always had a smile. The pools are lovely. The rooms cleaned throughly every day. Loved the meal times, breakfast served till 10.30 and dinner till 9.30 so didn't have to get up to early and rush in the evening. Location for beach is fantastic. Over the road is a bar called 'The Bus top' It's brilliant and run by a British lady who is very nice, as is her staff. We would return to this hotel. We took the tour bus (13euro's each but for 48 hours) on our second day, this was fantastic as it gave us our bearings and where everything was that we would like to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    121
    83
    37
    38
See reviews for
97
121
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just to say we had a great first holiday to benalmadina and was very impressed with everything with our stay at the Palia la roca. The hotel was very clean as was the room we stayed in food had a very good selection and in our ten day stay we were never at a loss in what to eat ALl staff were very friendly, warm and very helpfully with a personal touch to all guests will be returning very soon thank you all especially bar staff, reception, manager best wishes from Andrew sears and Yvonne White

Room Tip: No fitness centre an didn't use room service no tip needed everyone we spoke to or had dealings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just come back from a weeks holiday, and I can honestly say in all my years of holidaying this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel was full of French people and they were so very rude and ignorant. The staff couldn't do enough for them, but when it came to us they didn't take any interest at all. The food was absolutely disgusting I would go as far as saying it was inedible, and the same desert choices all week. The drinks were served in the smallest plastic glasses ever, and again if you were French they would give you larger glasses or even proper ones.We paid nearly 2k for 4 of us and we ate out a lot of the time and even went out most evenings to a bar up in the town, as the entertainment was all in French or Spanish and nothing for us British. There were only a couple of nice members of staff and that was Victoria and Stephonlina on the reception and 1 young bar tender. A couple of members of staff made you feel awkward about asking for drinks they made you feel like they were paying for them themselves. The hotel is basic and in need of a complete modenisation. They made you pay for WIFI and even then it didn't work properly. I would encourage everybody to avoid booking for that hotel unless they like eating raw uncooked slops.

Room Tip: Dont book there avoid it.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

get a safety deposit box!! We were robbed by the cleaners! Hotel staff didnt care....worse hotel Ive ever stayed in, AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID, Food was terrible, slops for dinner and tea! the same dessert choice the whole week! Be prepard to queue for ur drinks, n small drinks they are.....I wouldnt go back to this hotel if I was getting it for free!!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.....Ask for a sea view r u will end up looking at nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there from the 8 of sept good hotel for location staff are a credit to the hotel food is good and if you can not find some thing to your fancy well dont go abroad stop at home all in all a great place to stay will be booking again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford,west yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

we have just returned from a two week stay at this hotel,we went as a family of six with ages varying from 38 to 72. we all had a fantastic time. The good points of the hotel are your room is cleaned daily,the air con is free, the position of the hotel,the food is very good and varied and you can get as many drinks as you want,you can even line them up at last orders. The animation team were good,some better than others, James and Eloise were fab and always tried to get you involved with the daily games.
The bad points now, if your struggle with hills the coach drops you on the main road and the incline up to the hotel is fairly steep. Some of the bar staff were pretty anti English and always ignored me at the bar and served the french first! Jesus is the best bar man he always had a smile for you even after working long hours,miguel seemed ok too but some of the others were pretty miserable!
The rooms could do with updating but we did have a lovely sea view from our room,.
The toilet near the bar is very dated and needs a lock putting on the door as people just walk in on you having a pee and there is only one toilet for the whole bar area which is not enough.
I think the wifi charge is a rip off too 5 euro's for a day! dont pay it the bar over the road has free wifi.
The hotel does have a lot of french but we knew this before we booked our holiday.
All in all for what we paid we had a good holiday and would go back

Room Tip: ask for a pool view when booking
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My and my boyfriend stayed here for 10 nights. Overall had a lovely holiday. We arrived late after all inclusive food had finished however they had saved us some food to have for tea. All staff are very polite and willing to help. Rooms were dated and basic but always very clean. Air conditioning very good. Location of the hotel is excellent, across the road from the beach and plenty of shops and bars. There was also a selection of food at every meal always something nice to eat. The only thing that ruined the holiday was the arrogant and ignorant French who thought that they owned the place. Always moving peoples towels off beds and moving the beds around by the pool, pushing in all the time just horrible people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palia La Roca Hotel-Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palia La Roca Hotel-Club

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, Km 221.5 | Playa Santa Ana, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palia La Roca Hotel-Club 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Palia La Roca Hotel-Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palia La Roca Hotel-Club Hotel Benalmadena
Palia La Roca Hotel-Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palia La Roca Hotel-Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.