We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Villasol

Save Saved
You added MedPlaya Hotel Villasol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Antonio Machado,43, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #26 of 48 hotels in Benalmadena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

11 June 2013 arrived shattered after early flight to be given a room on the 3rd floor. I booked a double room with sea view only to open the door to nearly fall over 2 single beds and a view of the street! After much deliberating with reception I was given another room miraculously on the 7th floor but was told the lift was broken and wud only go to the 6th floor and wud hav to walk up 3steps (actually it was 17!!) room had double bed but had to walk to the end of the balcony to get sea view. Still wasn't what I booked but was better than other option. We were half board, couldn't fault breakfast although was always cold!! Coffee and juice in abundance with the breakfast, however...evening meal we found all drinks machines switched off!!! When I ordered a drink with my meal ( again, cold) was immediately asked for room number and given a bill to pay for my drink!!!! Shouldn't I hav had free drinks with being half board??!!! Pity the people on full board as u had no wristbands to wear and when I asked fellow travellers who were full board, the drink situation they told me the machines are only switched on for breakfast!! Shocking!!! Quite expensive for drinks as there wasn't even a fridge in your room!!! What's that all about??!!! Service in the dining room was pathetic, as while I was eating my last mouthful the waitress took my plate away, on more than 1 occasion, from under my nose!! I found a lot of the staff quite miserable and not very friendly towards the English although you we're okay if you we're Spanish. Towels changed if you put them on the floor, however, bed linen NOT changed at all for the duration we were there (7 nights)!! As for the pool area....we didn't bother!!! Shabby, dated and very small!!! We certainly won't be returning to this hotel and certainly wouldn't recommend it!!! Katy and chris :(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    116
    59
    25
    30
See reviews for
33
127
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

As other reviews state, the hotel is not 'posh' but very clean. The linen and towels are spotless and the towels changed daily, if requested.
We were on half board and the food was varied and there was something to suit everyone. There was a choice of fresh and tinned fruit and a choice of different bread and rolls for breakfast, as well as all the usual cereals, cheese, cold meats, full English varieties, yoghurts, etc. We have never seen so consistently perfectly cooked fried eggs every day and the breakfast sausages were lovely - not always the case when abroad. The quality of the fish and meat served at dinner was good too, which is not always the case when abroad. The food could have been hotter, but when I mentioned this to the Jet 2 rep she said that it is difficult to keep the food warm as if it was kept at a higher temperature, the food would keep cooking and therefore spoil.
We requested a change of room to a sea view as it was a bit noisy when our balcony was facing the road. We were moved after 2 nights, when a room became available.
A trip to the lovely town of Mijas is a must and the bus fares are cheap compared to the UK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Dianne A,

Thank you for choosing Medlaya hotel Villasol and for taking the time to share your holiday experience with the TripAdvisor traveler community. We are glad to hear that the hotel met your expectations. Our staff strive to provide efficient service having one goal in mind - to make your holiday as good as it can be.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel and it was a little gem, close to the sea and Marina, bus stops right outside, friendly staff who were always helpful, good food with varied menus always a good choice, we were a bit put off by some food remarks but the menu was good. It is a three star and is basic in some respects, could do with some updating bathrooms for example and carpets on bedroom corridors, we are always aware how noisy it can be late at night and are careful not to bang doors etc, but while we were there we could hear people coming back late and slamming doors and moving furniture. However we enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: All rooms get the sun at some time during the day. We always ask for a high floor. I must also menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear LancashireSunny,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Villasol and for taking the time to share your experience at the resort with fellow travellers. We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience at this hotel.
Once again, thanks for your comments regarding the location and hotel services and we hope we can welcome you again at the Villasol in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calderdale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

what a cracker,this hotel! Agree with the favourable comments made by other reviewers.Very well positioned in Benalmadena,-souvenir shops,cafes,supermarkets,restaurants,bars etc. just across the road,pedestrian crossing right outside,also bus stops;about 300 yds. or so to the Marina. Don't expect posh,'cos it aint that,but it's clean,comfortable,and all the staff were extremely pleasant-without exception,and seemed to enjoy their jobs. The food-we were half board,was very good;ample choice and well presented;the coffee mousse at dinner was to die for! came home considerably heavier!! As stated in an earlier review,the house wine is perfectly acceptable,6.40 euros for bottle of red,and will be kept for you if you don't drink it all at the one sitting. Rooms numbered ending with 7 to 14 are the full sea view ones,and we were fortunate enough to be given 407 and 414,(4th. floor,we asked for high floor,quiet rooms,and got them!) These were doubles,my sister and I had them one each for sole use,brilliant!. It has to be said that it prob.would be fairly unsuitable for some people with walking difficulties because of steps access down to the prom,and sloping access to the Hotel entrance,but Benalmadena is a hilly resort in general anyway,and to be fair,there were people in the hotel who were wheelchair users who didn't seem bothered by this. I must give a recommendation,finally,to a super little cafe we found for our lunchtime eats. If you turn left outside the hotel and cross over the road,it is called Chesters,and is just before the entrance to the Mini golf.Run by an expat couple,all the food is home-made.They do full meals if you want them,but we had their fresh from the oven fruit scones with cream and strawberry jam-you get tea or freshly ground coffee in the price.;also a choice of cakes-there is a blackboard menu of the days' specials. All we had to eat there was superb,and we were spoilt for choice every time. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday,we stayed 9th. to 23rd.May,and would def.stay at the Villasol again if we ever return to Benalmadena.Many thanks to all concerned,and a huge vote of thanks to Jet2 for a brilliant package,flights and hotel; have flown with them before,and was always happy with their service,so was pleased to find that their new package holidays are just as good. You will have our custom again,and we will recommend you to others. Looking forward to choosing next year from your brochure!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is well situated close to sea with a bus stop just outside. The staff are all friendly. reception staff all helpful and effficient. My room was clean and with a great view of the sea and the harbour. The food was fine. Could have been served warmer but there is a microwave for customer use if you want to hot it up. Good choice of meat, fish and salads. I would go back and stay again.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible as it is worth it. They also have larger sizes suites which are equipped with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Notout1,

Thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that the hotel met your expectations and we would love to have you back in our facilities for your next visit to Benalmádena Costa.

Thank you.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the villasol the last week in April and thought it was great. We were lucky to get a sea view room which was amazing ( room 309) rooms good and clean, beds made everyday. Despite previous reports about the food we found it to be fine, it wasn't cold and the choice whilst not extensive was adequate and there wasn't a night we didn't enjoy what we had. Unlike the Spanish we didn't get free wine, which they mostly left lol but it was only 6 euros a bottle anyway and if you wish they will keep it until the next night for you... Yer right lol...

absolutely brilliant location for the marina and for the beach/promenade, if you go the marina try the Wok Chinese restaurant, absolutely fantastic.

the weather wasn't brill all the time but even on not so good days we sat on the balcony watching the coming and goings at sea, with envious looks from people passing by lol..

Would definitely go to this hotel again if we went back to benalmadena

Room Tip: 7 -10 seem to be the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jill W,

Firstly thank your for choosing Medplaya Hotel Villasol as your holiday accommodation and for taking the time to write a feedback on your recent stay at this hotel. We are pleased to receive your positive comment. The Hotel Villasol is ideal for families and couples, looking for good accommodation with friendly staff, good location, easy access to public transport and good value for money.

Once again, thank you for staying here and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel is very well located and the hotel itself is clean and well presented. The staff were very friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast but the main meal was served a lot colder than we expected. Saying this - the rest of the residents (mainly Spanish) did not seem to have a problem with it! Nice hotel - would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Villasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Villasol

Address: Avda Antonio Machado,43, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Villasol 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Villasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.