We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the access” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Villasol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Villasol to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Antonio Machado,43, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Livingston
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the access”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel itself is lovely and the staff were exceptionally helpful. (for example, extra pillows almost instantly delivered.) The decor was fresh, everywhere was clean and the furnishings comfortable, especially the beds. We had a sea view at no extra cost, with sun on the balcony until 7pm. The food, was as good as we've had anywhere in Spain in 3* and a lot more choice than we've had in some other places. Breakfast had the usual juices, cereals, breads, cold meats etc, plus at least 8 hot options, which, granted, varied little over the course of the week, but everything was well cooked (even the fried eggs were perfect!). Dinner likewise had something to please most palates, although vegetarian option on display seemed to be pasta of one sort or another, As this hotel is mainly used by Spanish groups this may not be an issue for them. The food was rarely piping hot, but this is normal in the Spanish hotels I have visited and there was a microwave available.
My main cause for concern, however, was that not only was the access into/out of the hotel via one of two tarmac, quite awkwardly cambered, ramps (one of which was particularly slippery), the swimming pool was down a long flight of steps, and there were no toilet facilities at pool-level. Similarly, although the hotel is advertised as 50m from the promenade, this distance was almost vertical - with 70 steps to negotiate. True, there is an easier route by walking 100-150m in either direction and joining the promenade further along, but the pavements are slightly uneven marble flagstones, and some of the entrances into properties off the main road had quite awkward kerbs. For this reason I would suggest that those with walking difficulties, and certainly wheelchair users, should steer clear, not only of this hotel, but any of the hotels along this stretch of the coast. For those for whom this is not an issue, I would recommend the hotel, provided you are happy to be outnumbered about 3 or 4:1 by Spanish holidaymakers (ours consisted of around 50 young footballers in town for a tournament for one night and then a couple of coach parties of pensioners). It did mean that the public areas were taken over in the evenings, but there are local pubs nearby where the non-Spanish holidaymakers seemed to congregate.

Room Tip: For afternoon/evening sun, ask for a room facing south
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Annelivi,

Thank you for sending your feedback on yor recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol in Benalmadena Costa.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday and that you found the hotel comfortable and friendly. Our staff makes an effort to provide our customers with the best service, identify customer's specific problems, challenges and visions in order to meet the expectations.

Thanks again for your comment and we look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    126
    65
    32
    31
See reviews for
38
147
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just got back from Villasol
Positives
Hotel is clean
Towels changed everyday if you left them on the bathroom floor

Negatives
Hotel position is a nightmare, it is at the side of a busy dual carriage way, our 1st room we were given was on floor 3 roadside, after asking for a room change the only 1 the hotel could give us was same position, but higher floor, which was a little better, we wanted sea view, but none were available, so would advise, when booking this hotel, book seaview, or don't go, as the double glazing is not good, and you can hear traffic noise all night long.

Be careful crossing this busy road, even though there is traffic light's it's still horrendous to cross!!!

Bathrooms need updating

Food is 2 star rating

The hotel was dominated by elderly spanish couples, also there were young spanish boys there for a football tournamant, so everything in the hotel, was realated to them, even the nightly entertainment.

Also we had a late flight, and hotel didn't have a late room we could use to shower and change before we left.

Staff only had an hello for the spanish visitor's, also in the dining room, the waiter's segregrated, English visitor's from the Spanish, by putting us all down the side of the dining room, whilst the Spanish visitor's were all in the middle.

Room Tip: Seaview room a must, to get away from dual carriage road noise, if you want a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Juke 18,

Thank you for taking the time to send a feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol. We are sorry to hear there were some aspects of your holiday you did not entirely enjoy. Our staff strives to provide the best service to all our customers as our main priority is customer satisfaction.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

just come home from a week in the villasol, weather fantastic. The hotel is well positioned for all shops , beach and marina. plenty of bars and places to eat. the Hotel food was ok, we always found something that we liked and it was nice, if it is not hot enough there are microwaves.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull,the rooms were fine and clean. towels were changed every day if you left them on the floor for the cleaners. All the staff were brilliant but the reception staff were extra helpfull especialy the morning staff, he was really helpfull when we arrived early and he managed to get our rooms for us so we did not have to wait untill 2 0 clock.
We could not get the air conditioning to work but when we came back from the beach it was fixed. Everything you ask for is done staight away. I would stay there again and people who complain should pay for five star accomadation if thats what they want. Would have liked a small fridge it would be a bonus for cool drinks

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view but the front would be better we were 519 and 520 on the side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Villasol. This hotel is a good 3 star. As mentioned in previous reviews it is in an excellent position for reaching everything. We stayed in room 410 which had fantastic views of the sea and marina. The rooms are absolutely fine, flat screen tv showing itv and bbc channels. Plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. Bathroom has good shower and constant hot water. Staff try very hard to understand you and help as much as they can. Food is absolutely fine, if you are used to large hotels the choice will seem limited but there is always a beef, pork, chicken, fish and pasta dish on every night as well as salads, soup and cold meats. Puddings a bit disappointing though, only fresh fruit, mousse, one choice of cake and ice cream.

Recommendations for eating and drinking:-
Lunchtimes - Drunken Duck on the front, turn right when you get to the promenade. It is up some steps, doesn't look much and is a bit dated but the food is great and the owners very friendly.
Night time - walk up cardiac hill just across the zebra crossing outside hotel to Bonanza square, look to the left of the square and in the corner you will find a bar called the Local. Lewis and his wife have just nicely opened the bar and are extremely welcoming. He provides Wii games for the kids which proved really popular whilst we were there. His drinks are reasonably priced and the bar is very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had Room 410 which had a fantastic view of both the sea and the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Spent three days here with husband, mother-in-law and two kids over Jubilee weekend and have no complaints. We arrived late but a simple plate of food had been saved for us. Rooms were clean, decent size and comfy beds. I agree with previous comments that a small fridge and perhaps tea/coffee facilities would be great.
Literally 100 yards from lovely clean beaches with comfy sunbeds. Pool was very small so we didn't bother.
Food at breakfast and dinner was good quality and plentiful, plus reasonably priced quality wine.
It was our first visit to Benalmedena so we weren't sure where to go. Mad Terry at Busbys across the road advised us to avoid 'the Square' due to lots of muggings so we headed for the Marina - well worth the 15 mins stroll for the nicest views, bars and restaurants - and amazing ice cream shops!!!
We paid an extra €27 to keep one of our rooms for the entire day before we left which enabled us to make the most of our final day - well worth it. Friendly staff and an all round lovely resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Have just spent a week at the Villasol in Benalmadena with my mother in law and sister. The hotel is in an excellent location with views of the sea and/or marina from most balconies. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the air conditioning was a bonus during the second half of our holiday, the only thing missing from the room was a fridge.
The food was ok with plenty of choice for both breakfast and evening meal and we always managed to find something to suit. There was usually plenty of fresh fruit with the evening meal but the fruit with breakfast was a bit of a let down as most of it was tinned. I also missed a nice slice of madera cake after my breakfast as all they supplied here was very sweet individual sponge buns.The fruit juice was very watery with a choice of only orange or pineapple. I enjoyed the bacon and sausages and the fried or scrambled eggs were also good. The paella was good during the first couple of days but became very dry toward the end of the week. All the other evening meals I enjoyed.
Our main bugbear at this hotel was the lack of a pool bar and pool toilets. There was a bar at the far end of the pool but it was never opened during our stay, this meant to get a drink you had to use the vending machine in reception until 12 o'clock when the hotel bar opened and either way it meant you had to get dressed to enter the hotel. Likewise to use the toilets in reception you had to get dressed from the poolside.

Room Tip: All balconies are overlooked unless you want to pay 7.5 euro's per person per night for a full s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Ive just had a week here from 20th April to 1st May 2012 and it was lovely. Fabulous sea view very clean comfortable spacious room, very friendly and helpful staff who were very patient with my pigeon spanish. Food was lovely but sometimes could have been warmer. Not a huge selection but more than enough to choose from. Lots of nice places to shop and eat and a short stroll from the marina. I would recommend the bees knees just over the road for lunch have a sandwich its worth it for the side salad alone, we would have gone back if we had found it sooner, also the Chesters quiz is worth a visit, make you really welcome and we had a cheap night and lots of laughs. Would very much recommend this hotel and others in the medplaya group based on this stay.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Villasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Villasol

Address: Avda Antonio Machado,43, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Villasol 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Villasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.