We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the 'best' by far!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Benalmadena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Best Benalmadena Hotel to your Saves list
Best Benalmadena Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Sol, s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
swansea
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not the 'best' by far!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Ok, I'll tell you the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth about this Hotel.

ROOM. Excellent, large and clean.

FOOD. Same old rubbish every night - I'm sure the Manager had a deal with the local pig farmer as there was always some crap pork dish every night. I suppose the food that the guests could not eat was sent to the pigs and it came back in the pork dishes!

BAR. Dark and dingy - well I guess it had to be to stop the 'all ins' drinking the bar dry!

STAFF. Reception okay, but restaurant staff ignorant and took the plates as you were eating, (or rather, not eating) the alleged food! It was a crime if you didn't want a drink!

POOL. Very good.

GUESTS. Very odd, mostly coffin dodgers and old Totty that thought they were on their 20's.

LOCATION. Too far out of the Town.

FINALLY. A permanent bad smell all over the Hotel, like some 20 stone man had been on the Curry last night!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    186
    110
    39
    23
See reviews for
153
202
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here with 2 children, reception staff were great and we had no problems checking in, but it can get very busy. We had room 137 facing the sea, bright and spotless clean.
Food was very good always something to eat, most of the staff were excellent bar 1 or 2, but thats always the case. Drinks were flowing with no problem getting more than 2 at a time. The Manager walks around the hotel keeping an eye on things, very customer focused. The hotel its self is a long walk from the centre of town, so it might not suit everyone. Pool area is nice but in peak season I can imagine it would be very over crowed. We had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Will return !!!

Room Tip: Upper floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

friday tea time from leeds bradford for 4 night break 19/04/2013 - all inclusive £165 - fantastic value - rooms on level 3 ( reception ) clean, tidy, sea view ( sea about 75 yds away ) typical spanish fayre - enough choice to please everyone - nice pool, pool area with pool bar, very functional, friendly staff ( especialy Carlos ) about 1mile from marina but a lovely sea front walk to get there. If you're thinking of going or are going to this hotel or area, you won't be disapointed. Don't pay for expensive transfers, use the rail link from malaga airport its easy & cheap €1.95 to Benalmadena station! would defo go back in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just spent one week at the Best Benalmadena Hotel, and it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at! The room was exceptionally clean, spacious and had a fantastic view! We were floor 10 and had a view of the sea and coast line. It was very quiet (no pool/restaurant/entertainment noise). We had 2 queen sized beds, a fridge, table and chairs both inside the room and on the balcony. The bathroom again was spotless and really nice.
The food was faultless, they had a fantastic range everyday, was always piping hot and fresh. The staff were all really, really friendly and willing to help. We were all inclusive and it was definitely worth it! There were snacks available all day at the poolside bar - including hot dogs, burgers, pizza, ice cream, crisps, peanuts. There is also free Wi-Fi available all day in the reception lobby (very good connection!).
There were a good range of hotel activities happening everyday with Adrian - who was fantastic and spoke brilliant English.
The hotel is located right on the front, most evenings we walked down to the Marina which was about a half hour walk - or you could catch the bus for just 1 euro 50 each.
We also went to Fuengirola, Torremilionos and Marbella on the bus which is very cheap to do.
We will definitely return to this hotel in the near future, we couldn't fault anything!

Room Tip: High floor facing sea front or town/coastline
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Went there for 2 weeks, staff very friendly, bed was a queen size great!!, clean room, the food was not very good not what you expect from a 4 star hotel, on the 5th floor so had to use the lift which we waited for 15 mins at times. The restaurant plates were dirty, cups, had to find cutlery, napkins to put on your table, as the staff didn't seem to care about the customer didn't have any clean items for the table. I will not be going back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a short break 21-24 April 2013. Although on arrival our paperwork was not quite correct the staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms are large, clean, bright and modern with two double beds. We had the all-inclusive option. Every member of staff was friendly, smiling and pleasant. The food and drink choices were excellent. Special mention for Adrian, who organised fun activities and who was always very cheerful. The hotel is right on the beach, with very nice pool areas, jacuzzi and gardens. The bus stop is right outside and the service is regular and cheap. A trip to the Marina is just 3 euros for two people.
We took a boat trip on the catamaran from the marina. The chinese junk trip is also great fun.
We will definitely book this hotel and highly recommend it for both couples and families.
Brian and Sheila

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a short break returning of 24 April 2013. When we arrived I had forgotten to bring our voucher. The hotel booked us in and asked for us to sort it out the following day. The reception staff let us use their phone to phone onthebeach.co.uk to ask them to forward the booking voucher.
The room was enormous with 2 queen-size beds, an inside table with 2 chairs and table and chairs on the balcony. The swimming pool, although small, was adequate. The was a maid service every day, which is something not seen often nowadays.
We must point out that we went to Spain and although the staff are local we noticed the reception staff were multi-national in their languages (English, German, French, Dutch and of course Spanish).
The food was varied and covered everybody's taste.
Hotel staff were very, very friendly and could not do enough for you. This hotel is one of the best we have been to and would definitely recommend it to all families, couples and the like. It is not suited for boisterous parties which would spoil the excellent atmosphere.
We enjoyed the break so much we will be returning in May or June for a longer period.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you ask for a sea view room it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Benalmadena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Benalmadena Hotel

Address: Avenida del Sol, s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Benalmadena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly at Benalmádena Coast, facing the sea and just a few minutes walk from the golf courses around the area. Comfortable rooms with sea view balconies, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, fridge, heating, air conditioning, internet and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. Swimming pool for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, garden and gym. Day and night entertainment program. Optional services: Parking, Spa, massages,hairdresser’s beauty salon, gift shop and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Benalmadena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benalmadena Best Hotel
Best Benalmadena Hotel Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Benalmadena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.