We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best bars in Benalmadena!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mombasa

Mombasa
Calle La Fragata 29630 | Puerto Marina, Benalmadena, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 117 things to do in Benalmadena
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best bars in Benalmadena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Not sure how this place has even got bad reviews!

I'm just gutted that we didn't find this place sooner on our holiday as it was my favourite bar!

The staff were brilliant, waitress service all night long, all the sports are shown, the food is cheap as chips and gives excellent value for money.

Do not miss the shisa man. He comes out around tea-time and you can get a shisha for your table for just 15 euros.

I will definately be returning to Benalmadena, just to go here again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't know why you'd be negative about this place!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights in Benalmadena. We always ended up in this bar. I found the bar staff to be really friendly and the drinks reasonably priced. On the second night, somebody tried to put drinks on my 'tab' and credit to the barman, he came over and asked if I wanted to buy this person drinks! In fairness, he didn't he have to do this and could've just hidden the cost in my lengthy bar bill!

Really good bar with all the Sports....would definitely return.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nasty Staff and make the Prices up as they go along..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Visited this bar last week after being greeted at the door and told about the Happy Hour 2 4 1 offer.. The football was on and the bar was quite busy, we were internding to have drinks and lunch until the problems started... Drinks were basically buy 1 get 1 free so we order 2 beers to get 4 beers for the 4 men and were then told about the 2 4 1 cocktail offer so it worked out 2 cocktails for 8euros we asked for 5 cocktails and clearly checked we could have the extra one on the same deal so 5 cocktails for 20euros which he agreed to...well the mens drinks came along fine but when they brough the cocktails they were bringing out 2 per lady total 10!!!, we said this was not what we ordered and the bloke got quite funny with us so we stopped the rest of the cocktails coming as this was not what we had been told and only had 4, we just refused to accept the others.. We obviously refused to order food with fear of it being spat in!!! and drank up what we had had. When I came to pay the bill I had worked out 30.50euros but the bill was 39euros he then changed it about abit basically charged what he wanted and only after a heated discussion did we get it down to 32.50 still 2 euros over what we should of paid but he was ademant he was charging me 10euros for each cocktail (or 2) this price was not even on the menu!!.. Very nasty man and this place won't be open for long if he carries on treating people like that.... AVOID

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Awful service, tried to rip us off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Visited bar after being enticed by two for one offer on drinks..... Ordered 4 beers for 4 men & cocktails for ladies at €8 for 2 drinks. Even tho we explained we wanted 1 for each lady they delivered 2 each! Men's beers at €5 for 2 not cheap for area & definitely not bogof, but VERY rude staff. Avoid - there are much nicer places right in marina area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Love This Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Drinks Where Cheap & All The Staff Are Lovely :) Esp - Paul & Jake They Do Food Through The Day As Well

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mombasa also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Mombasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.