We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for family with young children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel for family with young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a 1 bed apt and were on the sixth floor right at the end of the corridor - very spacious and clean room (cleaned every day with fresh towels). Staff were lovely, food was great (we were half board) for adults and kids alike. We have two noisy girls but felt happy and comfortable with them wherever we were - room, pool, dining hall etc. Indoor pool great, kids splash pool fab, mini club and playground good (we always stayed with our girls though). Would be happy to holiday here again. Not sure I'd want to go in school holidays, but was lovely in term time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    533
    183
    50
    37
See reviews for
735
328
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My friend booked this hotel for her hen party. There was a total of 17 women travelling, of various ages. We were assured by Thomas cook that this hotel accepted hen parties and as we wanted a more pleasant experience than the typical hen or stag do we thought that this 4* hotel was the best option for us. (BIG MISTAKE). We arrived at this hotel at approximately 8:30pm we got ready had a few drinks at the bar and went out. We came back to the hotel in the early hours having snacks and a chat on the balcony and went to bed. As we arrived late in the evening we did not see any of the other guests so were unaware that this hotel was a 'family hotel'. When making our way to breakfast the next morning we were met by an extremely aggressive hotel manager who asked us to go to his office! He then explained that room 212 which was one of the 6 rooms we had booked in the hotel had to leave. No warning, no explanation or second chance. He simply said "we are a family hotel, we don't want hen parties in this hotel". When I asked him why he let us book 6 rooms of women he had no answer or explanation. He said either room 212 leaves now or you all leave. For the sake of the rest of the party we packed our bags an left immediately and checked into the hotel next for a sum of €220! This completely and utterly ruined our holiday as we were separated from the rest of the party. We were devastated as we have been planning this hen party for almost 2 years. The rest of the ladies had to watch their every move for the rest of their stay as they were being watched by all hotel staff.
No one is allowed inflatables in the pool, not even children! You cannot make any noise in any part of the hotel at any time even round the pool! But the hotel heald a Spanish wedding on the second night which lasted until 5am, which meant constant noise from the hotel bar which can be heard on all floors. One of my friends called to complain about the noise and this was simply ignored. It seems its one rule for one and another for everyone else.
The hotel vistamar next door where we stayed is much better! Much more relaxed and rooms are much better although the pool is not as big.
We are not unreasonable people and were sorry that we may have been too noisy on the first night but we had no warning of the rules or the fact that there were so many families staying here, as we booked in June when children are supposed to still be at school.
It seems the hotel are happy to take a large parties money but will kick them out at the first opportunity!
Do not book this hotel if you want to enjoy your holiday in good company of friends or family. I would only recommend this hotel to families with extremely well behaved children that do not make any noise or couples who di bot talk to eachother as it is not the relaxing and fulfilled experience we had in mind. I will be contacting Thomas cook next for compensation as they have falsely advertised this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for families kids club excellent. Food terrible and expensive if ur not all inclusive. Activities all day for all ages and entertainment at nite it's perfect. Really steep hill up to hotel so if ur over 50 and not fit forget it!! The hotel does however supply a free bus up and down when ever suits you to take you near the beach and beside restaurants. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Having booked this holiday through Thomas cook, we were informed by the hotel and agent that they catered for hen parties. However upon arrival we found that in fact the hotel was more of a kids play ground! Although the rooms were clean and the food ok, we opted for self catering, but were told we could not eat any of our own food outside of our room. Further more you were unable to sit on your balcony past 10pm, and the hotel did not tolerate any noise. Kids were extremely noisy around the pool, and despite booking through early June, the hotel was over run with young families. In addition two of our party members were chucked out of the hotel on the first night for apparently being too noisy at 2am. However, no warning was given and the very next night the hotel hosted a wedding with the music blaring and heard up to the 6th floor gone 5am! In addition the staff were extremely unhelpful, miserable and the atmosphere was more like a military camp/doctors waiting room compared to that of a holiday environment. You were not allowed inflatables in the pool, the hot tub was only heated to 32c and the hotel made no effort to build a rapport with an of its guests. To top it all off the hotel decided to wake me on my final night before an early departure to tell me I'm being to noisy when in fact I was sound asleep. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are hoping for a quiet relaxing break (too many screaming kids) or if you actually want to have any kind of fun. It's honestly the unfriendliest hotel I have even stayed in, and they have the biggest rule book I've ever seen! Don't stay here if you want to crack a smile!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have just returned from 4 night break with 7 girl friends . Hotel is immaculate , service second to none ! Food first class ! Yeah there is a steep hill but whole resort is hilly !!! Large pool areas with plenty of sunbeds , hotel even supply towels for 10 euro deposit which is returned at the end of your stay . Excellent value :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Curragh, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week with our 2 and a half yr old boy and we had a great time. The hotel is clean,bright and well maintained. We stayed on the 4th floor, above reception and had free wifi all week which was an added bonus! There are two outdoor pools which were busy, however, the indoor pool was quieter and we got to use it every day and it was always comfortable. Our room was lovely with a nice view over the pools and the sea beyond. The entertainment for kids was great, Benny the tiger was a big hit with all the kids. There is a fantastic playground which has been recently added to, a playroom, soccer pitches, swings, a games room. The place is a kids paradise! The food was very good, if a little bland but grand holiday food! The staff were absolutely fantastic, they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. One girl, I think her name was Jessica, got our son extra biscuits in the kitchen when there were none left on display. Made his evening and just a little example of excellent staff prepared to go the extra mile.

There's lots to do nearby, we went to the sea side a few days, I would highly recommend a trip to Paloma park, about 15 mins walk from the hotel. It's a beautiful park with a lovely lake and lots to see and do. We also went to Selwo marina to see the dolphin and seal show. It was brilliant and well worth the admission fee. The marina is beautiful and well worth the visit, don't go near the sea life place there, it's brutal. We took the train for 4 euros around the resort, great fun if you have young kids. The cable car ride is great if you have a head for heights, every day at 1pm and 5pm they release birds of prey which adds to the spectacle. There are plenty of pubs nearby, the irish bar down the road is great for the gaa/soccer matches. There is a really good supermarket just behind Burger King and the prices are more than reasonable. All in all I would highly recommend the Benalmadena Palace, a great place to spend a holiday.

Oh yeah, that hill....just cut through the car park and it makes it a lot easier!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights self catering but booked breakfast when we got here as we read so many good reports. Have to say we were not disappointed. There was a buffet breakfast each morning with lots of choice and plenty to eat. The rooms were lovely and the cleanliness of the hotel was excellent. The only one small complaint that I would have was that in the main pool the kids were not allowed to play ball games or use the lilo's. This may have been a H&S thing - I'm not sure.

Really the hill is not that bad and you can enter via the carpark with your key card. The hotel itself is slightly out of the town bur there is a great bus service which will bring you into town for €1.50. Single trip per adult. I would recommend this to any couples looking for discos and nightclubs but if staying with kids the entertainment at the hotel should keep everyone entertained.

All in all highly recommended hotel and the staff at reception were excellent. Really helpful and kind.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Address: Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Benalmadena Palace
Hotel Benalmadena Palace
Benalmadena Palace Hotel
Hotel Palace Benalmadena
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.