We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel especially for children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel especially for children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great holiday - hotel excellent, especially if you have children. Variety of food good, facilities good and very clean, hotel staff friendly and very accommodating. Good size apartments and lots to do for children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    581
    192
    56
    38
See reviews for
789
352
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had booked this hotel for a fun week with our 13 year old football team, travelling to play different spanish teams around the area in April 2013. There were 36 of us, each child with parent and some siblings.Most parents paid a lot of money to be there, and expected more.
We were given rooms all over the hotel and on different floors. From the first evening we were hounded by the management,Hector to be exact, asking us to watch our kids, and keep them under control. Most of them were with us in the restaurant and entertainment area and were no louder than other children there of the same age. The whole week was a cat and mouse episode for our children, with security watching them every minute they were there, making it extremely difficult for all to relax. Other visiting children were in the same void, with a family group from London being asked to be quiet at the poolside,OMG, its a holiday!. I cannot fault the hotel as it was clean and well looked after, and as I work in facilities, commented on the cleanliness.Entertainment was fair, but time for late night revellers was enforced. Food was good as was leisure facilities, if we were aloud time to use them without beady eyes. There is a very steep hill to the hotel, which we nicknamed "heart attack hill", after one of our kids with asthma had an episode whilst climbing it. All employees, male, look like Ronaldo, or maybe it was the same guy with different roles. Close to many external restaurants and bars, and the beach.Good for taxi and bus.
Would go again if they sort out this issue of hounding young people on holiday.
PS. Laughed when we left, as a party of 18 stag do boys arrived from UK, god help Hector

Room Tip: Go for the top floors overlooking the pool, as the views are better, and the sun gets you in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Start with the best, the food was excellent, and evening meal worked out about five pounds each ! you can't get a burger outside for this.
Everything went like clock work,no hassle, no extra charges in sight, room serviced regular and expertly. Good sized apartments with large balcony,bathroom fine with two showers ?
Hidden gem and not really advertised is the"Towel Service" pay 10 Euros per towel and you get nice big beach towels which you can exchange every day and when you leave ,take your towels back and your money is fully refunded.
Location could be difficult for severely handicapped due to 100MT hill from main RD but there are several ways round this, including a private path directly from the large supermarket ( when you fetch your wine and beer for your fridge )
A very comfortable feel when you are here including BBC and ITV TV and free news papers ,will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Pay for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 as a last minute booking for 5 days away. The hotel is to one end of Benalmadena but its only a short stroll to the marina/restaurants etc. The communal areas and pool area are very nice with good quality sun loungers and the pool itself is very clean. The snack bar is also good and serves a nice selection of snacks for lunch and drinks round the pool.The hotel is up a very steep hill so beware if any of your party are infirm.The alternative entrance round the back of the hotel closed at 10pm so we were obliged to do the hill climb nightly !!! The staff were good and helpful although the hotel was somewhat noisy in the evenings/night. There is nightly entertainment although we didn't stay for any of the shows ( the cabaret bar seemed to have an odd smell too?). The downside to this hotel was the quality of the bedroom furnishings.The room was very clean but the fittings were old and the microwave was ancient ! the bedding was awful - very old and thin and there were holes in the blankets and the blackout blinds. There were those awful plastic mattress covers on all the beds which were uncomfortable as well as sweaty !! The pillows were cheap and very uncomfortable - really awful ! and the cushions on the bed were stained- yuk ! My son's z bed ( which was in the lounge area) was awful too - very rickety, old and hard. There was also no where for him to hang his clothes - the only wardrobe being in the bedroom which made things awkward at times. Its a shame because apart from this this is a nice hotel. They need to do up the rooms if they dont want to let themselves down as all the other parts of the hotel are fine.

Room Tip: We had 532 on the 5th floor which meant no one above you and a good view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My daughter and I have stayed at the Benalmadena Palace Hotel twice now. We love the hotel. The staff are very helpful. The hotel is lovely and clean and the cleaners are always on the go.

We have only stayed self catering and the small kitchen is adequate for small meals. However there are so many cheap places to eat within a five minute walking distance we are out at least once every day.

Both times we have been in March which was too cold to swim in the outdoor pool but the indoor pool is heated and we used it once or twice every day. There is also a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which are all free to use. The hotel rents out large towels for a ten euro returnable deposit and you can change the towels for clean ones every day. There are normal bath towels in the room for showers and baths.

The first time we went we had a one bedroom apartment which has plenty of space. The second time we got a studio room which was smaller and has a sloping roof in the bed area so you have to bend over to move around the bed.

The main entrance is up a steep hill but you can access the hotel a back way up a gradual sloping path. There are many places to visit. The marina has some lovely shops and it is fun to feed bread to the huge fish. There is also a large park near the hotel with birds, ducks, hens and rabbits running around. Take bread as the rabbits will take it out of your hands.

The reception staff are really helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

All in all, two fantastic holidays and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for a week at the end of March 2013 and it was great.
The staff are helpful and hotel is clean.
Our young 5 year old had a great time. The kids club and daily activities were great - even for all the family!
We were so relaxed and at home in the complex that we didn't really bother venturing out much further than the supermarket down the slope.
There seemed to be plenty to do and visit in the surrounding neighbourhood if needed.
The mini bus was always running and available to hitch a ride on if needed.
The food and service is good. Always something for everyone.
We upgraded to half board. Well worth it.

All in all well worth visiting, especially with kids.
We would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Fifth floor with a mountain view suited us. Very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed between 23/3/13 - 30/3/13. Don't listen to the bad reviews. Hotel is very clean. Great for family's. Hotel has an indoor pool as well as a gym, sauna & steam room which is all free. Mini club for under 12's is all day. Food is excellent. Plenty of variety for those who want a full English breakfast or just cereal.We booked self catering & upgraded to half board for the week. It only costs us approx £72. Bargain when you see the quality of food on offer. Safety deposit box was 2.80 euro per day. Hotel has a snack bar during the day which is adjacent to the pool. There is also a back exit which leads down to a supermarket & burger king. Beach is 2 minutes over the main road. Local buses are excellent, however they can get very busy. Average fare is 1.60 euro no matter how far you travel. Pint of San Miguel in the hotel bar was 3.10 euro which is not bad, however happy hour is between 9pm - 10pm. Needless to say we took advantage. Mini disco finishes approx 9pm then bingo at 9.30 then adult entertainment starts about 10.15. Bar is open from 6pm - 2am. We would recommend this hotel as all the staff are very friendly & nothing is too much trouble & the facility's are excellent. We stayed in room 711 which is at the back of the hotel but offers fantastic views of the resort. The only downside to the room was the sloping roof which if your tall would be a disadvantage

Room Tip: Get room on the 4th or 5th floor. You will avoid most of the noise & don't have a room next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Address: Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#3 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Benalmadena Palace
Hotel Benalmadena Palace
Benalmadena Palace Hotel
Hotel Palace Benalmadena
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.