We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER GOOD TIME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GOOD TIME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just returned from February half term week holiday. This was our second visit to this hotel at the same time of year as last year. There have been some improvemnts since last time. The pool area has been retiled with a lovely non slip surface and the edgings of the pool have been retiled. The big outdoor pool was closed for this work but wasn't a problem as there was still plenty of sunbeds and areas to relax. The restaurant has had a makeover and is really modern, clean and bright. The menus seem to be different to last year and, although the quality and quantity of food is high, the combination of dishes was not thought out too well, one night in particular there was 3 hot pork dishes which is not good, however, on other nights there was a good choice but there was not hot chocolate fudge cake like last year and much less show cooking. Pizzas seemed to be frozen ones and were not always cooked well and were cold on several occasions. Kids corner never had burgers (like last year) and was only chicken nuggets and maybe fish in batter and chips this never altered in all the week. As for vegetarians, not sure whether there would be enough to fill up on apart from the veg. Breakfasts were still good with all the choices (apart from mushrooms) and plenty available.
The hotel is always spotless and well maintained. We never had any cause for complaint with our room and it was cleaned daily. The main public areas are immaculate and the management have great pride in this. It is all the extra things in this hotel that warrant the 4* and people are too quick to knock it down forgetting this. Shower gel in large dispenser, iron and ironing board, good quality hairdryer, air con, flat screen tvs with various channels in each room, indoor pool, sauna etc, gym, kids club, indoor and outdoor play areas. I cannot agree with people saying this is only 3*. However, on our last day some families arrived who seemed to have no respect for either themselves, their children, other guests and the hotel. They left plates of food on sunbeds, pints of lager and other drinks around sunbeds untouched (the all inclusive waste). There was swearing, drunkedness and broken glasses. This really did lower the tone for a hotel that has a good reputation and good repeat clientele. This did not go unnoticed by the staff and certain people were removed from the entertainment room. I complained on checkout and this was probably not the only complaint they would have received. All inclusive is not for this hotel as it is attracting a minority of people who have not morals.
On a really positive note, the kids club staff are lovely especially Patrice who works really hard and organised the boules which my family really enjoyed. Well done Patrice and keep up the good work!!!! It was also good to see some familiar faces from last year too and the irish couple who stay all winter, lovely people. Well done everyone at the Benalmadena Palace and thankyou for a lovely comfortable stay.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter, studios are spacious but have sloping rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    581
    192
    56
    38
See reviews for
789
351
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just back from a week at Benalmadena Palace. We were there as a family of 5, in 2 rooms, over the Feb school hols, staying on HB basis.
Hotel – well laid out, generally very clean, sometimes a bit too clean ; the cleaning products that were used seemed to be solvent based, and were pretty harsh (we have found this in other places in Spain). The well documented hill was not a problem, the distance from the main road to the car park entrance is only about 150mtrs, with a slight incline.
Rooms – they were clean on arrival and up to date, tv’s had English channels and the kitchenette was sufficient for basic cooking if required. Beds were made daily, towels changed twice within the week, but the room was never cleaned thoroughly during our week’s stay, which was unusual.
Facilities – the hotel is rated 4 star, I assume that this is because it ticks certain boxes – spa, hairdressers, indoor pool, sauna, steam room. Yes, it had all of these. But the spa was basically 2 rooms with one lady in charge (she didn’t seem very busy). Indoor pool was ok, sauna / steam were small, and not really hot enough. I never noticed the hairdressers being open.
Entertainment – evenings comprised of bingo, followed by a show. Bingo, by the very hard working and popular Patrice, was quite amusing – it was often difficult to interpret the numbers being called, which led to very regular wrong calls, or missed calls. On one night, despite playing only one game, there were 3 separate wrong calls. The shows – overall, not very good (IMHO). We saw several - magician (poor, even the kids were bored), eagle show (poor, just not very entertaining), reptile show (poor, to the point of being embarrassing), karaoke (do I even need to go there ?), parrot show (quite good, funny), Spanish dancers (quite enjoyable).
Food – Breakfasts were pretty much the same every day, but always a good choice of hot / cold, with cereals / fresh breads / meats / cheeses / fruits. Dinners ; plenty of salad choices, and always different fish / pasta / meat dishes, and always the compulsory chips and pizza for the kids. Service and cleaning in the restaurant was very good, despite the hotel being busy, there were always clean tables available and ready, and staff were very polite and helpful.
Benalmadena – our first time here, it was ok – being mid Feb, it was still waking up, less than half of the bars were open, so pretty quiet. But still plenty of choice; bottled beers were from €1.00 to about €2.00, draught from €1.50 upwards, no real entertainment anywhere other than the hotel. Weather was good, generally 15 – 20C during the day, but cooler at night. We ate out once on an evening, at Crystals, about a 5 min walk from hotel, very good, I would highly recommend if you wanted a change of scenery. There is a supermarket just round the corner, (turn right at the main road). Very cheap if you’re SC.
Generally – everything about the break was ok. But, that’s it – just ok, it’s not what I’d consider great, and I’d have to say that I expected slightly more from a 4 star hotel. We wouldn’t go back, unless it was a great deal – but on the other hand, if you’re booked to go, you’ll be fine...... just fine.......

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Room was clean and warm.
Good choice of food, but the food was never hot.
There was a microwave which we used a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

its my second time to the hotel, although i didnt enjoy it as much as the first time i still reconmend it to others, it was really good. the staff are lovely and really helpful, of a night there is a great atmosphere in the bar, the barmen are really chatty and friendly aswell. the hotel itself is a really nice place to be, especially for family holidays. im sure i'd consider going back for the third time.

Room Tip: a pool view becasue you can overlook the pool but all so a fanstastic view of the town and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

back for our annual visit, It was nice to see the hotel was being updated as it is every year , New gym and outside pool area re tiled , Great hotel nice food but could be warmer as some of the food was just warm, very clean hotel and great staff but hats off to Patrice who is very funny and great with the kids and adults alike keep up the good work Patrice.

Room Tip: pool room view for the sun also not to low down as the smoking area at night can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

well started found cheap winter break didnt expect too much @100 each . the entertainment was second to non . my 8yr old couldnt join in enough , shooting archery golf yo name it it was there happy hour good , friendly staff kids club even out of season room fantastic no complaints what so ever will def be going back sooooooooooooooooooooon

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

we where delighted with this hotel, really would recomend it, the staff where polite and profesional. and it was continually being cleaned. we couldnt falt anything.we didnt have any children with us but what a wonderfull place to take the kids, there was so much to do for children and adults alike. the indoor pool, steamroom sauna and jacussi where imaculate. the entertainment in the evenings was different each night, 1st class.. happy hour was a brilliant bonus. the supermarket via the back entrance is only a couple of min away. the only slight thing that could be a problem for some is the fact of the steep hill leading up to hotel, but not a problem for us. room was cleaned daily,WILL DEFO GO BACK and recomend to any one. oh and the food was brilliant... thankyou benalmadena palace for a wonderfull holiday..... review by.. lisa and john gilbride

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Address: Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#3 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Benalmadena Palace
Hotel Benalmadena Palace
Benalmadena Palace Hotel
Hotel Palace Benalmadena
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.