We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired looking.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Greco to your Saves list
El Greco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Torrealmadena-Paseo del Cortijo s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“tired looking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at El Greco for a long weekend. Both other hotels in suma group closed. This was a cheap weekend away and you get what you pay for. Read the other reviews and were really dreading this, however, the room was very clean and the bed linen and towels changed daily. We only had bed and breakfast, the breakfast was adequate, not bad, not brilliant. Found the staff to be polite but spoke very little English.(but we are in Spain) Had a balcony overlooking the pool and gardens, which were kept in good order and pool area and drive hosed daily. Easy walk to the beach and Benalmadena is lovely with plenty of places to eat. Wouldn't rush to stay there again, but if it was cheap enough just might go again for a short break and only b&b. Wendy Devon.

Room Tip: Balcony with sea glimpses and overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    14
    9
    21
See reviews for
10
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Well! What can I say??? Lets start with the positive... the room was nice and clean and the maid service was good. Great location. As for the rest, I can honestly say I have never seen or tasted such awful food in all my life! It wasn't cooked properly, it was stone cold and after skipping luch (as we couldn't face it anymore) we were served a mouldy cheese sandwich as a snack. After complaining we didn't even get an apology, in fact we were told there was a mcrowave to heat up our food! Hardly any of the staff could speak English, either that or they pretended not to so they didn't have to serve us or answer any questions! We lived on bread, chips and pasta and ate out alot, which is annoying as we were all inclusive.I am appauled at the rudeness of the staff and the poor quality of the food, it ruined our holiday and I would never stay in this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

unfit for purpose never heard of fresh bread, one morning found packet of bread on the servery with thick black mould , offered a bottle of wine as hush money.

No entertainment, no fridge in room, no English T>V., no English spoken by waiters,,unsafe electrical swich hangin of wall. One night we were the only people in the whole hotel. Food was not cooked in the hotel but brought in by a van, unloaded before 7 p.m. for dinner between 7.30 and 10p.m consequently impossible to get a hot meal. the f ood was below inferior quality.
access to the hotel was 400 yards from the main road leaving an uphill walk for the last 100 yards.
Never again------- beware you are warned.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Where to start ............!
Hotel was allocated on arrival from co.op holidays.
We booked for torremolinos and got changed 3 days before we were due to go.
Hotel was very poor to say the least !
Three hotels in total with this Summa Los Pintores hotel range. When we stayed only this hotel was open so we were stuck with this. The only plus side was that the hotel room was clean, as was the bed. The room was tatty and the balcony was small. The bathroom was very very smelly and you could not sit properly on the loo because there was less than a foot WIDTH between the loo and the bidet. There was NO entertainment at all at this hotel while we were there. There was no bar just a cafeteria which when we went it had no-one manning it at all. I complained about entertainment and was told "do you not want to go down the road"? When I said "what to the other hotels" I was told no they are not open- they meant the town. Food was very very poor. Concrete was falling off the balconys and was roped off. There was only 11 or 12 sun beds to service the whole hotel and most of those were broken. Sun area was unkempt and shower area tiles were broken. This is one of the most worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales united kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The summa hotel group have three hotels Goya, Velazquez und Greco.s all within 50 meters of each other called Los Pintores Hotel
My wife and I stayed in this hotel Greco for one week. It looked shabby on outside very dated on inside. TOO QUIET. We are both 52 years of age. This is a hotel for low budget holidays 2 star maybe.
Breakfast -very limited did not cater for vegetarians not that we are limited choice but tasteless
Room - Comfortable. Towels changed every day. Shower very poor with lukewarm water anytime we took a shower.
Noise - Can hear every movement from your room. Not a great night’s sleep
Staff - Ok but with very little English
Pool – very small little area for sun beds only saw six maybe 8
Overall feel - No atmosphere at all. Just came back there to sleep.
Entertainment - OAP style in SPANISH
Balcony - Tiny overlooking another hotel -- no scenic view whatsoever apart from a little of the sea.
TV - Spanish. Didn’t watch it all week but no choice like other hotels in area
At least 1500 meters from sea in residential area

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

people describe this hotel as one of the worst, I was not expecting much but was pleasantly suprised upon arrival. Rooms were nice bathroom was fine we had a balcony and air conditioning. The breakfast was ok, lots of bread so you can always have toast. not far from the beach few minute walk, the hotel is on a slight hill but it is at the very foot of it so its not too bad. The bus stop is a 5 min walk away that can take you to the marina which I recommend 1.20 euro on the bus we went nearly every night. the area is nice lots of bars and restaurants to try. Overall a very good holiday

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

The summa hotel group had sent us originally to a sister hotel which was terrible. Very shabby and with many bugs in the room. Building site directly across from hotel. Very disappointing. We asked to be moved and were sent to El Grego.
My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for one week. On appearence a lovely hotel. Looked well but looked also very quiet. TOO QUIET. We are both 32 years of age. This is a hotel very much geared for OAPs and they were looking at us actually wondering what we were doing here.
Breakfast - Will just about set you up for the day - good choice but tasteless
Room - Comfortable. Towels changed every day. Shower very poor with lukewarm water anytime we took a shower.
Noise - Can hear every movement from your room. Not a great nights sleep
Staff - Ok but with very little english
Overall feel - No atmosphere at all. Just came back there to sleep.
Entertainment - OAP style in SPANISH
Balcony - Tiny overlooking another hotel -- no scenic view whatsoever apart from a little of the sea.
TV - Spanish. Didnt watch it all week - Really missed the telly as there was nothing else to do at the hotel
Internet - NONE
It is not geared at british or irish holiday makers in any way.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Address: Urb. Torrealmadena-Paseo del Cortijo s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Greco 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Greco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.