We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minerva Jupiter Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Minerva Jupiter Apartments to your Saves list
Minerva Jupiter Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenida Los Gamonales, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Waterford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

Having spent a summer working in Benalmadena a few years ago I stayed in a number of accomodations. I have returned every year since to Minerva/Jupiter. These apartments are in a great location just across the road from Bonanza Square which has a host of restaurants and bars all with tasty food for great value (menu of the day) and the drink is so cheap, that its a nice lively spot to start the night before heading to the busier nightclubs of twenty four hour square or trendy but pricey Marina area which are a 15 minute walk or cheap cab fare away. There is a rank just outside the apartment if the heels are a bit high to walk! The rooms are adequate size and three fit comfortably in a studio. Rooms are clean and have a handy little kitchen with cooker,microwave,toaster,fridge and kettle. Everything you need really. You have the choice of two large supermakets right beside the apartments to stock up the fridge with food or even cheaper drink! We love to sit out on the balcony with a San Miguel in the evening. Theres a great view from either side. You can overlook the square and people watch! The apartments are also lovely and quiet too even though they are close to bars. The beach is a short walk downhill. Bit of a pain walking back up but as you'll see most apartments are on some sort of a hill, thats unavoidable Benalmadena is set on a hill going down to the sandy beach. The pool is excellent by far the biggest and loadsa sunbathing room but dont miss the beach its really nice! So if you go please check out where I used to work, El Cordero restaurant in Bonanza Square where the food is cheap and cheerful and the owner Angel is lovely! Im going back over in June again, cant wait! This really is excellent value for money. Alpharooms.com have the BEST rates!

  • Liked — Location and Value for Money
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    54
    38
    13
    29
See reviews for
66
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

I have just returned from a 10-day stay at Minerva. Location is great, very close to Bonanza Square with its bars and eateries.
I stayed in a privately rented studio apartment, booked through www.owners-direct.com. Great value but if i return i will book a one bedroom apartment. The studios are very small and i was beginning to get on my own nerves.
Some staff were great others ignorant.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Pets are allowed, bloody dogs howling at all hours.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

had a ten day stay in belmadena in october had a great time the minerva apartments are in a great position for all amienitys will be back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

We fancied a cheap holiday and the Minerva/Jupiter were recommended. I booked the flights & apartment independantly & can honestly say we have never had a better holiday. The apartment was exactly as advertised and I found the location and the pools superb. Never had much dealings wth the staff apart from the bar restaurant and the lifeguards whom I found to be on the whole quite pleasant. Bonanza square is across the road full of bars & resaurants of which were all very reasonably priced (3 course chinese for5 euros). Tivoli World the train station and cable cars are about a 5 to 10 minute walk and the marina is lovely. Looking forward to going back again next year (hopefully to same apartment)

Carol (Newcastle)

  • Liked — it was as advertised
  • Disliked — no Air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

I stayed at The Minerva Jupiter with a friend in june for one week. If you are thinking of staying here please DONT.

We had booked the apartments with not a lot expectations and the price we got was ok, however I still expected a clean apartment, not much to ask? well obviously it was.

When we arrived at 4am in the morning due to a delayed flight, we were greeted by a very unfriendly guy on reception, so we got our key and went to room on the 10th floor. The apartment was filthy, the floor tiles were covered in black muck/dried mud, the fridge was crawling with beatles as was the bathroom (which stank of sewage), The balcony was absolutely covered in pigeon droppings and the actual railing on the balcony were held to the wall by cable ties and some rope (just what you need on the 10th floor) The only thing that seemed clean was the bed linen, which was good seen as it was 4am. I went down to the reception shortly after arriving in the room to ask to be moved or for the place to be at least cleaned in the morning. Of course the guy on reception barley listened to me and just kept shouting at me to come back in the morning, at this stage I was tired and annoyed and just need to get some shut eye, so I went back to the apartment and decided I would leave it til the morning.

Very long story short. During my stay I constantly complained at the reception, was treated very rudely, was made wait ten minutes at reception to collect my key while the receptionist spoke to his mates, The cleaners didnt even try to clean the pigeon dropping and they kept just building up on the balcony.

I have wrote many reviews here and this has been my first negative one it was the worst place I have ever stayed in in my life (I travelled mainland europe as a student and stayed in some pretty dodgy places and still none as bad as this). By the second day I had bought bleach to clean the floors with as I could not stay in the filth, that still did not deter the beatles from investing the kitchen and bathroom areas though (at least they werent cockroaches!!)

I did however have a great holiday due to the fab location of the apartments (go to the blue moon bar across the road. The lady that owns it is called Mary and shes from Dublin she is an absolute lady) The area around Bonanza square is very family orientated however its only a ten minute walk downhill to the prominade which is very lively and a short taxi ride to the 24hour square which is full of bars and clubs.

All in all I would advise people to stay away from the minerva jupiter, unless they don't mind sharing their room with bugs and their balcony with an enormous amount of pigeon droppings.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The staff and the bug invested rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minerva Jupiter Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Jupiter Apartments

Address: 10 Avenida Los Gamonales, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Minerva Jupiter Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minerva Jupiter Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Jupiter Apartments Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Minerva Apartments Benalmadena
Minerva Jupiter Apartments Hotel Benalmadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minerva Jupiter Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.